We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic, Perfect B&B, Excellent Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Five Continents Inn
Ranked #66 of 142 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 February 2009

This is the best B&B I have stayed at. I chose it because of location and the TripAdvisor reviews, and was not disappointed.
The location is great, within an easy walk of the French Quarter, but without being in the middle of all the chaos. It has gated off street parking which is nice, but we just left the car and walked everywhere. There are several restaurants nearby so you don't have to go downtown if you don't want to.
The B&B is nicer than in the photos. The decorating is elegant and functional and the inn was exceptionally (sparkling) clean. Wifi internet worked well, and the extra water and juice in the room was great.
Jess is a wonderful innkeeper, and had a lot of information about the city. His recommendations on activities and places to eat were great, and he was very easygoing. His kitties - Beauregard and Jean Pierre - are very sweet and will come around if you want to see them, but were not bothering guests or in public areas while people were around. Jess was also great with arranging for flowers and his breakfasts were amazing. I would not consider staying anywhere else!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hfla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (158)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 16 December 2008

I stumbled across 5C's on Trip Advisor while looking to book a nice trip for my wife and I. While doing my research I called to ask a few questions and spoke with Jess. He was great, answered all my questions and went out of his way to provide travel tips and vacation suggestions.

Upon arriving, my wife and I were amazed at how beautiful the place is! Jess and his cats warmly greeted us at the door and brought us back to the cottage. This place was amazing. We could not believe what we were getting for the price! Jess was kind enought to get us drinks to celebrate our arrival.

The price/value was only enhanced when you experience his cooking! The breakfasts were incredible - fresh fruit, bread, entrees, etc.... In fact on our departure day we had to leave very early - we were surprised to see Jess had awoke early to make us breakfast and bagg them to go!

The location is super as well. Only a couple blocks to the French Quarter (about a 5 minute walk). The walk is pleasant and scenic. We enjoyed looking at the houses, gardens, etc on our stroll. At night we took a cab back for safety which Jess recommended.

During out short stay he gave us tips on what to do, and directed us to places where we could use his name for discounts/specials/etc.

If you're lucky enought to be visiting such a great city as New Orleans, you won't regret staying at the 5C's. It truely feels like a home away from home!

Make sure to tell Jess Mike and Alison said "hi"!

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank ELBoston2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2008

An absolutely gorgeous setting! The building is beautiful and very nicely decorated. Within walking distance to the French Quarter, although after dark a cheap taxi ride would be best (about seven dollars). We had the European suite. Beautifully decorated and very roomy. Has a balcony overlooking the street. Jess's breakfast was excellent too. Fine china, fruits, assorted jams, coffee and tea, and scrambled eggs with salmon! A very nice place.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BobTampa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2008

If you want to feel special...then the Five Continents if for you. Jess the owner is adorable. He is an outstanding host and a Wonderful COOK. His home is so inviting and makes you feel you are walking into a friends home. This was our first time in a Bed and Breakfast...and we loved it. The location is out of the noise of the city...but yet walkable to where ever you want to go. Just don't walk at night. A cab cost 12 bucks....so worth your safety. Don't misunderstand me, we did walk all over the city...but as in any busy city...night-time is not the time to do it. Just be back to your place by dark.....I promise you'll be fine. The breakfasts here are out of this world....almost like eating at a fancy little bistro. So good and so filling. Jess is knowledgable of the area restaurants..so just tell him what you are looking and He will not steer you wrong. We cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank seetheworld2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2008

We are snowbirds who in Jan. 2008 were headed to Florida. We detoured via New Orleans as it was always on our "must visit" list. When we started to check out hotel rates and then read the reviews on Trip Advisor, we started to get a little nervous. It did not seem like the quality of accomodation was justified for the price. We also had another concern, parking our small car and it's tiny luggage trailer. Most Hotels wanted us to pay parking for two vehicles onto of the room rate. I then started to check out B&B rates near the French Quarter and came upon the "Five Continents." A few e-mails back and forth to Jess (our host) and we had arranged a two night stay in the Asian Room. Our timing was good as we enjoyed two parades as part of Mardi Gras. The weather was lovely for end of Jan. It only sprinked for a short while one evening while we were in a restaurant for supper. We were very impressed with Jess and his wonderful home that he opens to visitors. His breakfast is true "gourment!" The room was lovely and the bed comfortable. There was no traffic noise and we were only a comfortable 10 minute walk to the French Quarter via a lovely tree lined residential street. We also liked the fact that we had secure off street parking for our small car and tiny luggage trailer. Jess gave us the royal tour of the house and I hope you enjoy some of the photos that I took. His rates are very modest compared to hotels in the area and in a hotel room, you will never be able to say that you spent the night in one of the finest historical homes in New Orleans! One evening we also enjoyed a lovely meal at the "Port of Call" restaurant located 5 minutes (walking) from the B&B. There is also a cornerstore nearby where you can get a nice bottle of wine. A few blocks away is a gas station, in case you need to fill up before leaving town. Very convenient location and a very warm and comfortable stay. We shall return!

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank highlandsally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2007

We have stayed in New Orleans numerous times & staying at the 5 Continents in the North American cottage was our best experience to date. Jess thinks of the small things that make a stay enjoyable: nice bath products, coffee, tea, juice and water in the room, robes, a daily paper placed on our porch each morning and terrific breakfasts. Sipping our coffee on our private porch each morning in our robes with the paper was a terrific way to start the day. Jess is a great host - there when you want him, but not intrusive.
Perfectly positioned to walk to jazz fest, you can also easily walk to the quarter and Marigny in 10-15 mins. Try Cafe Degas on Esplanade for a charming neighborhood eating experience.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank TXTravel-chick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2006

If this is what the B&B experience is all about, then I'll won't be staying at a hotel in New Orleans again. Jess is an excellent host, a terrific cook and a fastidious housekeeper and decorator. We stayed in the Eurasian suite (which was had two separate bedrooms) which was an excellent way to share costs.
The owner has gone to extraordinary efforts to restore the building after Katrina and except for some exterior upgrades the B&B is like-new (well, for a 100+ year old house !)

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mubwubba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Orleans
Central Business District
AC Hotel New Orleans Bourbon / French Quarter Area
Uptown / Carrollton
Audubon Park House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Maison de Macarty
Maison de Macarty
#25 of 142 in New Orleans
315 reviews
Treme
Degas House
Degas House
#57 of 142 in New Orleans
151 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Elysian Fields Inn
Elysian Fields Inn
#5 of 142 in New Orleans
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Five Continents Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Five Continents Inn

Address: 1731 Esplanade Ave, New Orleans, LA 70116
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 142 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range: £94 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Five Continents Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Continents Guest House is a 5500 SF 1880's Greek Revival Mansion on beautiful live oak lined Esplanade Avenue 8 blocks from the historic French Quarter. It has a separate cottage in the back, off street gated parking, a balcony and front, back and side upstairs porch. Each room is themed for a different continent. Luxury on a budget. Either individual room rentals or the entire compound. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Five Continents Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
5 Continents Bed And Breakfast
Five Continents b&b
Five Continents Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing