We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“THE bed & breakfast to stay while in New Orleans!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Five Continents Inn
Ranked #63 of 137 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Holladay, Utah
Level Contributor
91 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“THE bed & breakfast to stay while in New Orleans!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2011

We were guests for 6 nights from New Year's Eve thru Jan. 6th in the European & Asian suites. It was our 4th stay and not our last. Jess - the owner/innkeeper - knows how to run a B & B. The rooms are all suites and gloriously appointed. High-end amenities await in the bathroom. Mornings always begin with a fruit starter and then a hot, delicious entree (different each & every day ). The home itself is in excellent condition and clean enough to eat off the floor. Jess is a fabulous host who knows how to take care of his guests. Having lived in New Orleans, his recommendations re: tours, restaurants, shopping etc. are foolproof and appreciated for the newcomer to the city. New Orleans feels like a home away from home for our family because of the "5 Continents Bed & Breakfast". As long as Jess is in charge of this incredible B & B, we will only stay with him when visiting the crescent city.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnetteUtah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    23
    5
    2
    6
See reviews for
21
105
3
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
FL
Level Contributor
51 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2011

We always stay at the 5 Continents when we go to New Orleans, and wouldn't think of going anywhere else. The location was even convenient for the conference just outside the city - it was easy to just hop on the expressway. This time we were in the European Suite. The tall doors to the balcony were wonderful, and the shutters let us enjoy the breeze while still having privacy. We loved the sitting room, and the claw foot tub is wonderful! What a beautiful restoration. The bed was very comfortable and the room was an oasis. Jess has a way of making all of his guests feel welcome, and the breakfasts are always spectacular.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hfla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Illinois
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2010

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our five night stay. Jess made us feel like we were staying in the home of a close friend, and this 125 year old home is immaculate & beautiful. In addition to all of that, Jess is truly a gourmet cook. Breakfasts were phenomenal. Jess was a wealth of information about the NOLA area and he gave us priceless advice re: everything from sites to insider secrets about parking. We really liked the safe, gated off street parking too. When we are back in NOLA, we will definitely stay there again. In fact, 5 Continents and Jess may be the biggest attraction that takes us back! / Woody & Lou Hester

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fghester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missouri
Level Contributor
187 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2010

We booked this place because of the wonderful reviews we had seen about it. I can assure you that these are true. This was a great place. This was my first time at a bed and breakfast so I wasn't sure what to expect. Jess, the innkeeper, was a great host. He had a lot of information for us that was super helpful. We followed several of his suggestions and were pleased that we did. The house is lovely. We stayed in the Asian room. It was plenty big for two people. Two comments about this room (nothing bad just FYI): 1 - it takes a few minutes for the hot water to reach hot... 2- If you need a room that is completely dark to sleep this may not be the one for you. Light from the security lights comes in from the back part of the room and you can see some of the light from the hallway as well. We blocked the back light as best we could and took to turning off the hall lights when we could at night. We had no trouble sleeping even though it wasn't pitch black. On this note - the bed is awesome- super comfy. Breakfasts were awesome. We were so full from them, we did not need to eat lunch. I was very impressed by the quiche (just wonderful- i would love the recipe). Also to note, this is about a 15 minute walk into the quarter. We felt completely comfortable walking during daylight hours to and from the quarter. We did cab it one night because we were not sure about walking at night. Cabs are fine, but we found parking to not be that big of an issue and just drove down there other nights. This place is located within easy distance to other attractions. I highly recommend this place as a place to stay while you visit NOLA.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hulagirl98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Battle Ground, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2010

We read all the great reviews before making our reservation, and they were right! Thanks to Jess for a fantastic stay. Our room was lovely, and we really enjoyed the adjacent sitting room. The breakfasts were fantastic, both in terms of the quality of food and the graciousness of the dining room setting. We enjoyed lingering over breakfast with the other guests. Jess had great suggestions for food and activities, and never steered us wrong. The home was within easy walking distance of the French Quarter--great location. Jess went so far above and beyond--even prepared us a surprise breakfast-to-go (complete with coffee for us and the cab driver) when we had to leave for the airport before the crack of dawn. Finally, we enjoyed the company of house kitties Jean Pierre and Beauregard! Definitely THE place to stay in New Orleans.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bethinbgwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cypress, Texas, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2010

This place is a total gem. It's a little off the beaten path, but a quick cab ride to all the main sites. The owner is super helpful with suggestions on restaurants and things to do, and he made the most fabulous breakfasts. He was very accommodating, and all the amenities were impeccable. Each room comes with a story!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CypressShannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2010

This is our second stay at the 5 Continents and it will not be our last. Jess, the owner operator of this charming B and B is incredibly accommodating and a wealth of information about the city. He will let you know where to get the best bloody Mary to the most scrumptious fried chicken. He's never steered us wrong. As soon as you arrive he greets you with a cold beer or glass of wine. He'll then provide you with a map of the city and notes on places to eat or of special interest. The best part is that each room has a mini fridge that is restocked each day with water, juice and soft drink of choice. Jess knows about my unhealthy addiction to Diet Coke and made sure I never ran low. It's details such as these that set the 5 Continents apart from the big chain hotels. Let's not forget about the daily gourmet breakfast served in the formal dining room. Jess prepares these amazing dishes for his guests. My personal favorite being the Shrimp Eggs Benedict with a delicious hollandaise sauce served on top of fresh croissants. Drooling just thinking of it. As for the rooms, Jess has done a fantastic job decorating and creating a luxurious environment with out the lux fees. We have stayed in the European Euroasian suites and enjoyed our stays in both rooms. The best part is that the hotel is located close enough to walk to the French Quarter without being in the middle of all the noise. It's nice place to escape to after too much of a good time and in desperate need of some rest. Do yourself a favor and stay here when visiting NOLA if you want to get a true New Orleans experience.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadith1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Treme
Degas House
Degas House
#58 of 137 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Uptown / Carrollton
Audubon Park House Bed & Breakfast
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Maison de Macarty
Maison de Macarty
#26 of 137 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Elysian Fields Inn
Elysian Fields Inn
#5 of 137 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Ashton's Bed and Breakfast
#4 of 137 in New Orleans
5.0 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Five Continents Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Five Continents Inn

Property: Five Continents Inn
Address: 1731 Esplanade Ave, New Orleans, LA 70116
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 137 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Five Continents Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Continents Guest House is a 5500 SF 1880's Greek Revival Mansion on beautiful live oak lined Esplanade Avenue 8 blocks from the historic French Quarter. It has a separate cottage in the back, off street gated parking, a balcony and front, back and side upstairs porch. Each room is themed for a different continent. Luxury on a budget. Either individual room rentals or the entire compound. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Five Continents Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Five Continents b&b
5 Continents Bed And Breakfast
Five Continents Hotel New Orleans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing