We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel de L'Eau Vive
Ranked #128 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
84 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Neat”
Reviewed 25 June 2013

The Hotel de L'eau Vive was a neat little place to stay in New Orleans. It was tucked away in the middle of a busy street. You can walk to Canal Street, Street Car, the French Quarter, WWII Museum, etc. Conveniently located, if not the most charming of streets. It had the feel of more of an apartment than a hotel. Exposed brick and high ceilings created an open, urban, lofty feel.
We shared the hotel with another little family and it was room enough for 5 or 6 easily.
The main drawbacks of the hotel were a funky bathroom that was not only oddly designed with a lavender circular tub and domed ceiling had just a bit of unappealing mildew that we could all do without. But, other than that - everything was clean. The kitchen was well stocked. The couches and carpet were not brand new - but were clean and functional.
On the downside, the wireless access code never seemed to work right, parking was an expensive nightmare, and the Fri-Sun "breakfast" was a joke of store bought croissants. Not what I'd like to eat while I'm in this culinary destination city! However, good coffee was always available in the lobby. The pool is tiny, but absolutely authentically adorable for New Orleans. I'd stay there again.

Room Tip: I wouldn't stay in room 201 because of the funky bathroom. I can't attest to the value beca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    50
    28
    19
    23
See reviews for
49
43
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Franksville, WI
Level Contributor
77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

This small, boutique hotel was just as I would have expected. Old brick comprised one wall of our two bedroom suite. The carpet was older, and could've used a stretch. The furniture was nice. The bathtub faucet leaked, but quietly, so it wasn't a nuisance. The place showed some wear - scrapes on the wall behind the dinette where the chair had rubbed a number of times, the refrigerator was dented a bit, one of the beds was a bit bouncy if you sat on one side, but overall, not a bad place to stay if you are ok with the charm of an older hotel. Do not expect high class, high priced accomodations here.

One word of caution, if you are at all claustrophobic, or afraid of elevators, make sure they do not give you room 109 or 108. There is an old manual style elevator about 4' x 4' that goes up to those rooms. Otherwise you can climb a spiral staircase up.

As I'm sure everyone mentions, the pool is more of just a dipping pool. Nice to cool off after a hot day of adventuring through NOLA, but certainly no "swimming" can be done. The pool and patio was in nice shape when we were there, albeit smelling like old cigarettes from the smokers. The roof top patio was closed for repair when we were there, so can't comment on that.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebRFranksville_WI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

The staff were good and the location absolutely perfect for touring the French Quarter and enjoying the late night festivities of Bourbon Street, but that wasn't what was so great about this place... it was the room that really stood out. There were 6 girls travelling together to celebrate a milestone birthday and this amazing 3 bedroom suite allowed us to all be together in the common areas when we wanted to be and our private rooms allowed for peace if we needed it. The room was kept perfectly clean - a real chore considering there were 6 women taking it over. Another nice feature (that if we stayed longer we would have taken advantage of) was the kitchenette. Very convenient for storing left overs from the many fabulous restaurants in the area. This is a very small boutique hotel - there weren't bathrobes or chocolate on the pillow, but if you are looking for a nice clean, spacious and perfect location to walk to the French Quarter, this is it. The price was great too. Now, the bad. The miniature sized pool was broken down (apparently the filter died and they were awaiting parts), but it looked as if there were awaiting parts for a VERY long time. The courtyard around the pool is overgrown and filthy, filthy, filthy... this is definitely something they need to work on, and our room was unfortunately beside the wall where the neighbors were adding on a building, so on the weekdays we were blessed with 7am compressors and banging, but that is just short term until the building is done. Other than those few little things, the place is great.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyONTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 May 2013

We had a great experience here. Our timeshare unit was very big, accommodated 5 adults very nicely. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Yes, the pool is small, but we were busy touring New Orleans, so no time to swim anyhow! Location is everything. We walked everywhere. We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: We stayed in 304 right off the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KimB7711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

I was pleasantly surprised to find a historic building in such a great location. We were near the French Quarter, the trolley, the fine hotels, Harrahs Casino and the Riverwalk. My accommodations were very comfortable. This was a two-bedroom apartment. Each bedroom was separated by the living room, dining area and kitchen making the bedrooms very private. The kitchen was well-equipped. There was also an ironing board and iron along with a hairdryer. This apartment included a HD TV and Wi-Fi. The building had history and character. Supposedly in its early days it had been a brothel, then a firehouse. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a quiet place in a great location while visiting New Orleans.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank santa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
College Park, Maryland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

I stayed in a 2 bed 2 bath suite. One bed/bath was recently updated, noise free and very comfortable. The other (which I stayed in) was noisy, outdated and cramped. The walls needed to be painted and the bathroom needed to be updated. I saw two cockroaches while there, but I've heard from the locals that they're impossible to get rid off. The wifi only worked half of the time and the water had to be shut off one day due to a burst pipe. Overall the maintenance could have been better.
That being said it wasn't as horrible as some reviews made it seem. The location was great, it's walking distance from the French Quarter, trolley stops, and Harrah's. The kitchen was well equipped but there were also tons of great restaurants nearby.
I probably won't return to this hotel, but if it undergoes some renovations and upgrades I would consider changing my mind.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 604 a and b. B is much nicer than A
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JerseyGrown91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New Orleans hotels

Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

After reading the negative reviews, I was hoping that at the very least the hotel would be clean. I was wonderfully surprised to walk into a beautiful, clean spacious suite. We stayed in room 301 of the main hotel. We had two nice bedrooms, bathroom, kitchen and livingroom. The beds were comfortable and the kitchen had everything we could need right down to bags of coffee and filters.

Let me just say that I've travelled many places and stayed in beautiful 5 star hotels. This is not one of those, but it was wonderful nontheless, had a great location and was clean and extremely comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful.

Great location! We were able to easily walk to the French Quarter or take tolleys everywhere. We were also a block from Harrahs casino. I would definitely not hesitate to go back and stay at the Hotel de L'Eau Vive..

While you're in New Orleans be sure to visit Drago's restaurant 2 blocks over in the Hilton for lunch from 1 - 4pm. Order the chargrilled oyster appetizer for a special treat. Lunch prices were very reasonable, Also Port O' Call on Esplanade over by Frenchman street had the best hamburgers,

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel New Orleans
Central Business District
Plaza Suite Hotel Resort
Plaza Suite Hotel Resort
#129 of 162 in New Orleans
3.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Central Business District
St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Loft 523 New Orleans
Loft 523 New Orleans
#121 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Central Business District
Staybridge Suites New Orleans
Staybridge Suites New Orleans
#70 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
Central Business District
Le Meridien New Orleans
Le Meridien New Orleans
#76 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de L'Eau Vive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de L'Eau Vive

Property: Hotel de L'Eau Vive
Address: 315 Tchoupitoulas St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2430
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de L'Eau Vive 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Hotel de L'Eau Vive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De l Eau Vive

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing