We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suited our family's needs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel de L'Eau Vive
Ranked #130 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Suited our family's needs”
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Stayed here after Katrina and again Nov. 2013. In Warehouse District and easy walking distance to the French Quarter. Staff was quite helpful. Experienced travelers should find L'eau Vive to be quite suitable. Would return when we can.

Room Tip: Apartments in main building is typical quaint New Orleans. Annex apartment is larger and modern.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mack G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    51
    28
    19
    23
See reviews for
50
43
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

Last hotel room available in Nola during the week of a major medical conference. Paid $400/night. Whole hotel looks and smells unclean. Unfinished wood doors, blood stains on sheets. I checked out and walked the city till I found another option.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
8 Thank rvl76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New Orleans hotels

Freehold, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Traded in my Marriott timeshare for a two bedroom and 1 bath suite. It is definitely not a Marriott, and shouldn't be up to Interval International's standards, but it was the only place available for us during that time period. Overall, the location was great. We were practically across the street from Harrahs, a few blocks from the French Quarter and Warehouse District. The suite was kept clean. The rooms were very cool with brick walls. One bed was very comfortable, and the other one was saggy in the middle. The carpeting looked pretty new, but the tiles were not renovated yet. There were some broken tiles in the kitchen. The worst was the tub/shower. The shower pressure was awful with very warm water in the beginning of the week, but luckily the water heater was being changed. By the end of the week, we had hot water but the water pressure was better, but not great. Overall, we had a pleasant stay, but if we had another choice of timeshare, I wouldn't choose this one. The people at the desk were wonderful, and helpful but they don't control the condition of the hotel.

Room Tip: We were in Room 301, and it was in pretty good shape except for the tub/shower. It was clean, but p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lovetennisAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Hotel was in a great location. Husband and I in our late 60's., we had a 2 bedroom but only 1 bathroom.The bathroom is not great... Step up into large round tub which takes a lot of water to fill it. If you turn lights on bright you will she mold and crackers in around the top of tub... Shower head had a constant drip. Last night there we heard dripping sound.. Water was dripping down the wall behind toilet from floor above us. Place was old but furniture clean. The manager Ray is outstanding and very friendly. He directed us to places to eat.. Music and tours.. He is for sure there greatest asset to the hotel. We have stayed at other timeshares .. This one does not meet up to those standards.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jackie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Dorado, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

This is written after staying there for 1 week beginning Sept 27, 2013. We would rate the overall experience as 1 star at most and would never stay there again. The maintenance of the 2 bedroom suite is very poor with light bulbs missing from chandelier, kitchen counter backstop separating, doors all chipped at the bottom and mirror frame in bathroom wood exposed. The dishwasher in kitchen is sticking out into the room by 5 inches and not properly installed. Kitchen tile is cracked, loose and grout coming up. The second bedroom has no heat/AC register so the door has to stay open for cooling. The bathroom heat lamp in ceiling is missing the bulb. The shower once adjusted changes from very hot to almost cold and no hot water by mid-morning.
Maid service is very very poor. Bathroom floor is not mopped, toilet is not cleaned, and sheets not changed daily. When asked about cleaning toilet was told that is not part of daily service. We noticed that there was toilet plunger in bathroom for guest to use, but no toilet brush. No maid service by 3 PM so called desk. Maid came up and took out the trash and towels. She pulled up cover on the bed but did not make the bed. Had to go back down to the desk and ask for replacement towels. Maid took the trash out and placed it in the hall outside the room door. Trash was still there the next morning.

Elevator problems.
The elevator indicator lights did not work from the first day we were there. These are the lights that tell you what floor is selected, what floor the elevator is on and what direction the elevator is moving. The elevator was inoperable from Wednesday morning until after we left on Friday. The first day there were no signs indicating the elevator was out of service on the above ground floors until I walked down to telling someone at the front desk.
The good things at this hotel were that the furniture appeared to be new and in very good condition. The Kitchen was very well equipped with dishes, pots and pans and other small appliances. The free WiFi signal was very strong in the room but had to be rebooted several times each day. The hotel is located only a couple of blocks from the French Quarter and within walking distance from many restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 1287Billk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Recently I traded my timeshare for a 2 bedroom suite at this hotel. Newstled between all the tall, extremly expensive hotels in the warehouse/arts district of New Orleans, you find this century old building that is the Hotel de L'Eau Vive. It is coviently located near Canal where if you are limited in how far you can walk, you can catch a tram up canal or along the river that will take you to most of the places you may want to go to in the French Quarter. While I agree that the hot tubs are not the most exciting things (they should glaze them instead of paint them), showering was quite spacious. The rooms were quite spacious and clean. My only complaint would be that they advertize a pool, but it is no bigger than a huge tub. Oh by the way the Hotel should upgrade its lobby, it gives a bad impression.

Room Tip: Living rooms have couches (sofas) with fold out beds. So a 2 bedroom sleeps six comfortably. There...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 928Nancyg63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

My husband and I traveled with my cousin and her husband. We had never been to New Orleans so we were hoping for the best with the hotel. We had a GREAT stay! I will say that "picky" people may not like this place but for me we were very comfortable. I can say that the rooms needed some updating but nothing bothered us. The staff was very accommodating and nice. We were within walking distance to the french quarters, bourbon st. and the art district. You are also right by Mother's which has amazing Ferdi sandwich you have to try! We would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Plaza Suite Hotel Resort
Plaza Suite Hotel Resort
#129 of 163 in New Orleans
109 reviews
Central Business District
St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Central Business District
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel New Orleans
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Loft 523 New Orleans
Loft 523 New Orleans
#120 of 163 in New Orleans
263 reviews
Central Business District
The Pelham
The Pelham
#96 of 163 in New Orleans
564 reviews
Central Business District
Bluegreen Vacations Club La Pension, Ascend Resort Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de L'Eau Vive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de L'Eau Vive

Property: Hotel de L'Eau Vive
Address: 315 Tchoupitoulas St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2430
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #130 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de L'Eau Vive 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel de L'Eau Vive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De l Eau Vive

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing