We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not nice at all”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel de L'Eau Vive
Ranked #132 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Stayed here with a friends timeshare the first thing waking in the furniture in the lobby was mix matched and dirty, you could see head prints on the furniture, had not been cleaned in years. Once in the "suite" two bedrooms one TV in the living area. The table in the living area had duck tape on it. The Jacuzzi shower head had stuff growing out of it and the couch cushion had white on it and I refused to even sit on it, glad I brought a blow up queen mattress. Don't even let me talk about the condition of the 3,000 year old building, paint and mortar could do a lot of good for this place. By the way get some ice machines so you don't have to go all way down to the front desk for ice, and lights on the elevator will also do some good. I was glad to get out of there a day early.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Deloris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 147 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel de L'Eau Vive from May 16-23, 2014. We were very disappointed. The accommodation was a 2 level, with very uncomfortable stairs. We were in the annex building with construction going on next door. We were awakened each morning a little before 7 AM. We had jacuzzi tubs in both bathrooms, but they appeared dirty. I killed a large roach in one of the bedrooms. Told them about it was told it was New Orleans-expect it. I would not stay in this establishment again nor recommend it. I will also be contacting Interval International.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dolores C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Okay, so it's a converted old building and one expects things like oddly placed switches, furniture and doors. There is, however, no excuse for a mattress that is completely broken down not being replaced. I ended up taking the mattress out of the sofa bad and sleeping on the floor, my back just couldn't take it. The linens were stained and needed to be replaced. The whirlpool tub didn't work and the towel rack was broken.

We've traded timeshares many times and in many places, this is the worse unit we've ever had.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Marsha E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

We stayed at the Hotel de L'Eau Vive for 10 days with 2 other couples. The location is wonderful for visiting the French Quarter, the WWII museum, Emeril's or the Confederate Memorial Hall. It's in the warehouse district and just a block or two from Canal Street. We were given a three room/two bath suite. There were no windows, only a sliding glass door which led to a tiny patio. The tub caulking was in disrepair, which led to a major leak in the middle bedroom causing us to move to another room. What was fun was that we were located in the rear of the building and the back of the elevator opened for access. It was a Nancy Drew experience. The staff was helpful, and there is a laundry room in the building. The .two cockroaches were off-putting but only one was alive. Again, the location is great.

Room Tip: It is quieter in the rear bottom floor, but there is no view. Upstairs provides windows, but allows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JudyStacia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

As others have written this hotel should not be able to be used to trade without Interval International issuing a warning. My husband and I decided to come to New Orleans on a resort point trade. The first room we were given #102 was on the 1st floor. Looks like part of the original hotel. When we first saw it we thought it was not so bad until we realized that we were right next door to the elevator motor and the toilet ran all night. We asked to change rooms the next day but nothing was available till the 3rd day. This room is no better down a corridor on the 4th floor behind the elevator. Seems to be in another building. The walls are so thin that you think you are in the same room as the guest in the next room since you can hear all their conversations. The refrigerator sounds like a generator and this toilets runs all night too. The only good thing I can say is that the location is the best. Close to the casino, French Quarter, and street cars. Not up to Interval standards and not a place we will come back to.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
7  Thank Joanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Stayed here after Katrina and again Nov. 2013. In Warehouse District and easy walking distance to the French Quarter. Staff was quite helpful. Experienced travelers should find L'eau Vive to be quite suitable. Would return when we can.

Room Tip: Apartments in main building is typical quaint New Orleans. Annex apartment is larger and modern.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mack G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

Last hotel room available in Nola during the week of a major medical conference. Paid $400/night. Whole hotel looks and smells unclean. Unfinished wood doors, blood stains on sheets. I checked out and walked the city till I found another option.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
8  Thank rvl76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
La Quinta Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown
Central Business District
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
#56 of 167 in New Orleans
2,701 reviews
Central Business District
Blake Hotel New Orleans, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Cambria Hotel & Suites New Orleans Downtown Warehouse District
Cambria Hotel & Suites New Orlea...
#101 of 167 in New Orleans
36 reviews
Central Business District
Omni Royal Crescent Hotel
Omni Royal Crescent Hotel
#88 of 167 in New Orleans
1,401 reviews
Central Business District
St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de L'Eau Vive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de L'Eau Vive

Address: 315 Tchoupitoulas St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2430
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #132 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range: £133 - £305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de L'Eau Vive 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel de L'Eau Vive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De l Eau Vive

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing