We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Staybridge Suites New Orleans

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Staybridge Suites New Orleans
Ranked #66 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
120 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

A bland, but clean hotel in a decent location. If you are looking for interesting places to stay - this isn't the place.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank djvh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

812 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    328
    316
    94
    35
    39
See reviews for
221
213
40
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Tx
Level Contributor
67 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

My wife and I stayed at this property after Christmas. It is walking distance to the casino, shopping, aquarium, and a short streetcar ride to the French Quarter, French Market, St. Charles district, etc. The studio suite was spacious, with a full kitchen (no oven), a nice view of the river (14th floor), an adequate breakfast, and a very nice, accomodating staff. They even have a small shop for purchasing necessities like batteries, snacks, etc. The price was very reasonable considering the location, and it being Christmas week. Obviously, this property caters to pet owners, because there were several families with their dogs heading out for a walk. I never heard one bark in the time we stayed there. Evidently, the walls are substantially soundproofed, which is a good thing. All in all, I recommend this hotel when traveling to New Orleans.

Room Tip: For free parking, park at the Harrahs garage, go to the casino, get a Total rewards card, play for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elkayandboro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
93 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

Finishing last night at the Staybridge New Orleans. Location is very nice being in the downtown area, within walking distance of Canal Street/Bourbon Street, businesses of core downtown New Orleans and Riverwalk attractions. Also near Harrah's casino as you might be interested. There are a variety of other hotels nearby which help reinforce the area as tourist or traveler friendly. A nice touch, however, is it is just enough off the main craziness of Canal/Bourbon that you can rest easy when you wish to do so.

Nothing exceptionally different about this Staybridge from others I've stayed but very comparable. Clean rooms with small kitchenette area for extended stay as needed, comfortable bathroom, modern flat-screen television. Offers the included breakfast and evening food/beverages. All in all well maintained.

Bed was a bit firm for my personal tastes but not unbearable. Internet is available wirelessly or wired (cable provided). Wireless seemed more than a bit "wonky", but wired connection has had no problems.

Parking is expensive at $30/night, but is in a secured garage and is in-and-out (though I personally just needed somewhere to leave the car as I walked everywhere I wanted to go). I know there is cheaper if you're willing to walk some, just a question if you want convenience or more dollars in your pocket.

If in the NOLA area again, I would definitely consider staying again.

Room Tip: If you need parking and want to save some dollars, consider doing an online search for NOLA parking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wouldbeworldtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2011

During our stayed in New Orleans we stay at the Staybridge Suites because we had read it was in a great location and it was equipped with a small kitchen. We were not disappointed at all, we got what we needed and more. We moved around the area without having to look for parking (we paid 30$ in the hotel). The service was great (thanks emika for the hospitality) and the breakfast was hot and included most of what our family of five might like to eat. Overall, I would recommend this hotel and would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank threemarlenas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, IL
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2011

I stayed here for a couple of days on business. First, the location was only a couple of blocks from Canal and Bourbon Street, very close to the action in the quarter. It was also very close to the convention center, as well as the riverfront. I was able to walk to anything nearby. Additionally, I was able to get a room on a high floor on the end, looking directly out to the river - a wonderful view.

The room was arranged a bit strangely, and it wasn't easy to work at the desk or sit on the couch to watch TV. However, that could just be the way the rooms on the end were arranged, and sacrifice that for the view. There was a small tear in the comforter, which was a bit of a turn off, but I've learned not to trust them, making it the first thing I usually tear off the bed and set aside. The wifi and wired internet connections were a bit tricky (they do change the access code every day), but I was eventually able to get logged on.

The room rate was very reasonable, around $100/night, great for the location. However, the parking fee was nearly a third of the room rate, at $30/night.

The breakfast in the morning wasn't too bad - fruits, a couple of warmers with the typical dehydrated hotel eggs, bacon or sausage.

Overall, the hotel was clean, and my limited interactions with the staff were friendly. However, the location is what makes this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on high floors facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kkoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2011

I travel a LOT for business and stay in other hotels and StayBridges all over. First, I have to say that the location is fantastic. We could walk to everything: Bourbon St, touristy stuff, and the Convention Center. Second, the overall rooms are quite nice. Clean, large, not too out of date.
Unfortunately, there are a couple of things that really put us off:
1) The internet, both wired and wireless, was not usable. The wireless couldn't get a connection with 2 laptops, 1 tablet, or an Android phone. The wired was so slow it was useless.
2) One room in our group was longer than a week, so the housekeeping was the "light touch", as expected. I did not expect this to mean so light that they didn't take out the garbage or replenish the toilet paper. Even when we called down to the front desk, nothing was done. We had to take the overflowing garbage down to the front desk and pickup the toilet paper. Not good.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Christopher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberlin, LA
Level Contributor
94 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2011

Staybridge Suites for me was a good place to stay. It was a reasonable price($131) with a light breakfast and a social hour in the evening. I attended a conference at a larger motel nearby. The Staybridge has a small kitchen that makes it a good place to stay for extended periods. Parking at downtown New Orleans motels is expensive($30/day).

Room Tip: Ask for a upper floor room with a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank campinggolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Arts District / Warehouse District
Residence Inn New Orleans Downtown
Central Business District
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Whitney Hotel
The Whitney Hotel
#40 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,096 reviews
Central Business District
BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel
Central Business District
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
Old No. 77 Hotel & Chandlery
#48 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staybridge Suites New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staybridge Suites New Orleans

Property: Staybridge Suites New Orleans
Address: 501 Tchoupitoulas St., at Poydras, New Orleans, LA 70130-3209
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#65 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#65 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Staybridge Suites New Orleans 3*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear Valued Guest, Welcome to the New Orleans Staybridge Suites, where we're more than just your typical New Orleans Hotel! The goal of our team is to make you feel like you're staying with family while in New Orleans. Whether you're here for business or pleasure, your comfort is our top priority. So, get comfortable in one of our spacious studio, one or two bedroom suites! Then, come and join our family for our complimentary, full American breakfast buffet, featuring both hot and cold items. We also invite you to take advantage of our laundry facilities, fitness center, wifi internet access and 24 hour business center, all offered at no additional cost. At the end of your day, join our family for our famous Sundowner Reception. Our reception, which is offered to all our guests Tuesday through Thursday on a complimentary basis, includes beer, wine, soft drinks and a light meal. Due to our perfect location, the New Orleans Staybridge Suites is considered to be both a French Quarter Hotel as well as a Downtown New Orleans Hotel. No need to rent a car while here because our upscale, all suites hotel is located across the street from Harrah's Casino, blocks from the French Quarter and within walking distance to many restaurants and attractions, including Riverwalk, Convention Center and the Superdome, home to the New Orleans Saints. So sit back, relax and enjoy all the comforts of home!Sincerely,Your New Orleans Staybridge Suites Family ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, IHG and Hotels.com so you can book your Staybridge Suites New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
New Orleans Staybridge Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing