We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel With Room 205 being the best.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel
Ranked #66 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
GreenLeadersSilver level
Baytown, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Hotel With Room 205 being the best.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2011

We traveled with pets and although we both smoked, pets were not welcome above the 2nd floor which was understandable since the room was adjacent to the lobby atrium and smoking rooms were above the 2nd floor only. Great hostess, great access to the French Quarter and Harras Casino, Starbucks Coffee (in Harras), restaurants, parks for the dogs and everything a body could possibly need. We tried to stay another night but with the French Quarter Festival that proved impossible but either my partner or myself will definitely be staying at this friendly hotel on our next visit.

Room Tip: 205 has an interesting floor plan. Skylights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveDoug5916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWChristopher, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2011
Thank you for your comment regarding our staff. We work hard to please our guest and we like to know when we do.

Thank you,
Tracy Collins
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    442
    439
    178
    90
    100
See reviews for
294
445
36
183
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brookeville, Maryland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2011

Stayed at the Best Western St. Christopher for French Quarter Festival. I understand that the rates were much higher this past weekend than they usually are which is a good thing, because on an ordinary non-festival weekend this hotel would have a hard time justifying the rate that was being charged this past weekend.

Absolutely call in advance. If you book through a third party vendor (Hotels.com or Bookit.com), odds are that your reservation is incorrect. Mine was but I called a few days before arrival and had it straightened out. Was near the front desk and overheard somebody who had the same problem that we did - reserved a room for multiple people and the St. Christopher only showed a reservation for one person. They hadn't cleared up the issue in advance, there were no open rooms, and they had a room with just one queen size bed.

Arrived early before check-in and had an evening flight after check-out. Very easy to store bags. Be advised that your room will not be ready before 3pm, especially at a crowded time.

Terrific location, about a block from the outside of the French Quarter, 8 blocks to Jackson Square, 8-10 blocks to the heart of Bourbon Street, 2-3 blocks to the St. Charles Avenue streetcar line, 3 blocks from Harrah's and Riverfront Park.

Noise could be an issue but it is entirely dependent upon your luck of who shares your floor. You can easily hear the hallway from within your room. There are only about ten rooms on each floor, so if you have a bachelor party on your floor, you'll hear it. If you have a more docile crowd on your floor, you'll sleep fine. The air conditioner is a little loud, but it's not enough to wake you out of a sound sleep.

Room was small but all-in-all very comfortable. Exposed brick gave the room some very nice character. Bathroom was nice and, as somebody commented, I would like to have the showerhead and water pressure from the hotel room in my shower at home. Refrigerators in the room were nice to buy some bottles of water and keep cold. Vending machines on each level sold 20 oz bottles of Coke products (including Dasani) for $1.50 - cheaper than the surrounding stores on Canal.

Breakfast was included. Not a terrific breakfast, not a great selection, but it's free. Waffle makers were a nice touch. Rice Krispies/Cheerios/Raisin Bran, Sam's Club danishes and bagels, apples, bananas, yogurts, and granola bars. Apple juice, orange juice, and coffee (if you want strong coffee, head to the Starbucks a block up Canal). Breakfast is ended exactly at 10, so don't think you can stroll down after a long night out at 10:05.

All in all, I'd stay here again and would feel even better about the stay if it was the normal non-festival rate and not the more expensive rate that was comparable to local hotels a star or two higher in class rating.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MoCoMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWChristopher, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2011
We would like to Thank you for your comment. We look forward to seeing you come back to stay with use. However If you book through a 3rd party site like book it. They do not guarantee the type of room provided. We recommend you book directly through our website to avoid these types of issues. We are sorry for any inconvenience.

Thank you,
Tracy Collins
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2011

We booked our room here about 5 months in advance along with another family, just a couple of nights before our cruise. The front desk was advised our flight was delayed & we would be an hour late, but I think they gave our room away anyway. Hard to say because the front desk lady actually took her phone & left the room & refused to tell us why we weren't accommodated despite our paid reservation. After I called corporate customer care they tried to book us another room & paid for the cab to get there. They said we could come back the next day & still our second night, but we refused after our treatment at St. Christopher. Then at check out, St. Christopher refused to pay for the other hotel they had shunted us to. We contacted corporate customer care again, but no one from Best Western would take responsibility and pay the bill. We ended up paying over $160 for a trashy motel a half mile away just so we could get out of NOLA and enjoy our cruise. We were promised a follow-up conversation regarding the bill, which never came. I tried again today, but Best Western corporate & St. Christopher refused to take responsibility for it.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peace G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kinisha S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
I’m deeply sorry to hear that you had a bad experience at The Best Western plus St. Christopher Hotel. This is highly uncharacteristic of our staff, as we pride ourselves on being efficient and very helpful with all our guests. The experience you received is not acceptable and that’s not what we promote. However, I want to send out my deepest apology for your experience, I hope in the future if you travel to New Orleans you give us a second chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2011

My friend and I visited New Orleans in March 2011 for a girls trip from the U.K and because we chose to arrive the day after Mardi Gras there was little choice of accommodation available. We realised we were lucky to get a room so close to the French Quarter. I cannot fault the location, a short walk to the main areas of the French Quarter and Bourbon Street, there is a handy shop on the corner and a cash dispenser next door. The hotel itself is clean and the decor although in need of a refurb is fine. Some of the ladies on reception were delightful, very helpful and pleasant but on a couple of days not so. Just beware of the generator/air conditioner noise, mentioned in other reviews, very noisy even with ear plugs, can't say whether all the rooms are like this but for us the sleep quality was bad. Also don't rely on your wake up call being at the right time and check your bill, it took us 3 goes to get a correct bill as we had someone else's parking charges on it . I guess you get what you pay for and actually it was good value so I wouldn't say don't stay here because of the great location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarsy47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWChristopher, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2011
Thank you for your responce, We look forward to you comming back to stay at the Best Western St. Christopher Hotel. I am alwayes pleased to here the guest responce on the hotel.

Thank you,
Tracy Collins
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelso, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2011

Upon checking out of my room early one morning, I was presented with a bill with incorrect charges. The desk worker on duty told me she could not change my bill, highlighted the incorrect charges (aka 100% local tax for 4 of my 5 nights), and told me a corrected version would be emailed to me. Five days later after ~4 phone calls, the incorrect total is still on my credit card, and I have not received a corrected statement. Ten days later after more phone calls, I filed a complaint with Best Western Corporate and disputed the charge with my credit card company. Twelve days later, I received a corrected version of my statement via fax. Finally, fourteen days later, my credit card was credited for the incorrect amount. If you want to put up with this level of incompetence and hassle, by all means stay at this hotel while enjoying wonderful New Orleans!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank M1zz0u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2011

This hotel was in s great location; walking distance of where you want to be. The room was clean. The shower I'd always the test and this bathroom and shower exceeded my expectations. The shower head was wonderful! Taking a shower felt like I was getting a massage! The only downfall of the hotel is that there is no on-site parking. Unless you want to struggle to find your own parking, you will have to cough up $28 a day for them to valet your car. Overall I will definitely return here got the stay!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheneka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWChristopher, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2011
Thank you for your responce, We are glad to hear you enjoyesd your stay. We look forward to you comming back to stay again.

Thank you,
Tracy Collins
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2011

We stayed here for Fat Tuesday and for a few days after to see New Orleans.
The good:
Room: quality, cleanliness, frig, coffee and decor.
Responsive staff (we needed the tub fixed and towels, both times we had help within 5 minutes)
Quick check in, helpful doorman.
Continental breakfast is standard fare, fresh and adequate.
Bathroom: large and well appointed.


The bad:
Dogs??? They allow dogs? Although I only heard barking once from our room. Heard a loud barking one day near the elevator.
During check-in the staff seemed to have an attitude with us. There was no need for that, but to their credit, spring breaker types were giving them a hard time. But we are not party types so we should not have been given the 'tude, ya know?
We had to wear wrist bracelets identifying us as guests. We think this was to keep out the riff-raff during the celebrations. But we had to wear the same bracelet for a few days, kinda strange hey.

Overall this was a great place for Mardi Gras, walking distance to everything, yet off to the side so it was quiet. The hotel was in good shape with two PCs for checking email or surfing the web. The breakfast saved us time and money and is of good quality.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tomwible
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWChristopher, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2011
Thank you for your responce, We look forward to you comming back to stay with us again. we would like to apologize for the attitude of the staff. We want our guest to feel like family.
Thank you,
Tracy Collins
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
BEST WESTERN PLUS French Quarter Landmark Hotel
Central Business District
St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Central Business District
The Pelham
The Pelham
#83 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter
Central Business District
Royal St Charles Hotel
Royal St Charles Hotel
#55 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,210 reviews
Central Business District
Staybridge Suites New Orleans
Staybridge Suites New Orleans
#64 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel
Address: 114 Magazine St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2421
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic St. Christopher Hotel is located in the heart of New Orleans and just 50 steps away from the world famous French Quarter. We are within walking to distance to the New Orleans Business District and all that New Orleans has to offer. The St. Christopher is a boutique style hotel with magnificent old New Orleans architecture. Guestroom design is warm with a classic feel featuring original New Orleans artwork, brick exposed walls and newly upgraded amenities including mini refrigerators and flat screen televisions. Select guestrooms offer a Jacuzzi tub. The hotel offers a complimentary deluxe continental breakfast which includes delicious pastries, fresh fruits and cheeses, as well as hot pancakes. Hotel guests also receive free WiFi and free local phone calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western New Orleans
New Orleans Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing