We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Fun hotel for girls trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel
Ranked #67 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
GreenLeadersSilver level
Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fun hotel for girls trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2011

It was hard to find a clean hotel with smoking rooms in the French Quarter so we opted to stay a block from the Quarter at the Best Western on Magazine street which was right across Canal Street into the quarter. We had no problems with the location and getting around. We valet parked for $28 a day and left the car in the garage the entire weekend. We were in close proximity of everything and walked everywhere. We always felt safe even after midnight. The hotel was elegant yet small and historic. The staff was very friendly. We were in smoking rooms on the 10th floor right next to each other in the corner of the hotel. The rooms were very clean and well furnished with safes and mini fridges. Our coffee maker was missing the pot, but we didn't care enough to call to get one. Our room 1005 had some AC issues. The room was HOT. But, our friends' room next door had a fan in it to dry an area of carpet that had been cleaned so we borrowed their fan the entire weekend since their AC was VERY cold and we were perfectly fine. We loved the room so much that we didn't want to move. It was huge!!! It was great place to stay especially on a budget. The rooms were only $107 a night for a weekend. Great deal!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gigem89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWChristopher, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2011
We at the Best Western St. Christopher Hotel would like to say Thank you on your kind responce. Please come back to stay with us again.

Thank You
Tracy Collins
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    427
    433
    174
    88
    99
See reviews for
287
430
36
181
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ridgeland, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

A great part of having a spectacular vacation is were you stay. The Best Western Plus St. Christopher Hotel was an astounding and quaint place to stay in a great location close to everything!
The room we stayed in had exposed brick walls and huge windows from the floor to the ceiling that was so cool and different! Our room was very comfortable and we enjoyed the free wireless Internet and the flat screen television.
The general manager was very nice and definitely went out her way to make sure we had everything we needed. She asked us every time we ran into her if there was anything we needed. She brought us extra pillows and was a wealth of useful information. She recommended us to the Place Cafe which was a one minute short walk from the hotel which had a special deal for locals which was not on the menu and something that we would not have not otherwise known about. She made the reservations for us and we saved more than 50% off our bill!
The front desk and staff seem really conscientious and concerned to make sure we enjoyed our stay. We truly enjoyed our stay and look forward to returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rafg8496
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWChristopher, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2011
Dear Guest
We at the Best Western St.Christopher Hotel would like to Thank you for your review
We look forward to having you stay with us again.
Thank you
Tracy Collins
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

I have never in my life had such a bad hotel experience. The hotel itself is just fine, the rooms are a little dark and dingy but reasonable if its your last option and its cheap.
Our main problem arose when we had a discrepancy in our reservation. The hotel manager, I believe her name was Maria [--] is the single most rude individual I have ever dealt with in a hotel setting. She was rude to the point of being vindictive.
If you're gonna stay in this hotel, DON'T be late for the checkout, DON'T try to check out early, and definitely DON'T do anything that would require you to have to speak to this horrific woman.
Luckily, the corporate aspect of Best Western is dependable, and we were able to resolve our problems through the corporate offices and get our money back.
Don't ever stay here!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sharona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWChristopher, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel, responded to this review, 9 September 2011
We sincerely apologize for any issues or problems any guest experiences during their stay. We strive to make your stay enjoyable and welcome your feedback through our comment cards and web site to improve your experience.

The Jazz and Heritage Festival is considered a special event and it has become perhaps the highest demand event in New Orleans. Despite the high demand we strive to insure that each guest has a wonderful and fair experience. We inform guests of any restrictions on minimum length of stay when the room is booked and again upon check-in during which the guest initials these policies and receives a special event letter. We do this to avoid "discrepancies in reservations". For example our reservation card provides:

"CHECK-IN: 3:00 PM / CHECK-OUT: 11:00 AM

Should rooms be available before 3:00PM we will be happy to check you in. Due to high occupancy demand, we cannot allow late checkouts."

Therefore if a departing guest attempts a late check which has not been pre-approved it means that an arriving guest will be delayed in checking-in to their room while it is been cleaned. This is inconsiderate to our new arriving guests and is something we try to avoid. We strive to provide great customer service to all our guests and apologize for any inconvenience that results when the check-out procedures are not followed

We work hard to put reasonable policies and procedures in place so that all guests will have an enjoyable stay.

Thanks
Tracy Collins
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2011

Booked this trip slightly last minute. Was very pleased with the hotel. Quaint and cute for a couple, not the best place for families. Great location. Everything is within walking distance. Only negative was the parking costs of $28 a night for valet, however wasn't too big of a deal.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karishma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWChristopher, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2011
I am always pleased to here feed back from our guest. I am glad that your stay her at the Best Western Plus St. Christopher Hotel was enjoyable. Please come again.


Thanks
Tracy Collins
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Starkville, Mississippi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2011

From the moment we walked into the hotel the Front Desk staff was great. The only thing for parking was valet in which that was $28 dollars. There is no off street parking. It;s a good service if you do not want a ticket. the front desk staff gave us information on where to go and what to eat because we had our kids. everything is in walking distance which was a good thing. the rooms where nice. one of our rooms did not have a window but me and my husband did not have a problem because we was not there to look out a window.

Room Tip: The room was very clean and housekeeping was wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigdocc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWChristopher, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2011
The St. Christopher Best Western is under new management and accommodates many guests each and every day and we strive to make their stay enjoyable. The principal goal of the St. Christopher is to provide dependable service to all of our guests at reasonable prices.


Front Desk Manager
Tracy Collins.
Best Western Plus St. Christopher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

We stayed in a room with an awesome view of the river. The hotel was very clean and the service was very personal. I was impressed with how willing to help the staff was.
Location is steps from the French quarter, casino, aquarium, and many world famous restaurants.

Great hotel!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Orpllc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWChristopher, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2011
The St. Christopher Best Western is under new management and accommodates many guests each and every day and we strive to make their stay enjoyable. The principal goal of the St. Christopher is to provide dependable service to all of our guests at reasonable prices.
Again, I wanted to thank you for taking the time to share your Kind thoughts with us. There is no excuse for anything less than complete guest satisfaction. That’s our goal.

We look forward to serving you again in the near future.



Front Desk Manager,
Tracy Collins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

I love, love, the location, and the exposed brick wall brings a certain charm to an otherwise bland room. The hotel's within walking distance of world-famous Bourbon Street and all of its restaurants and bars, the river, the various street cars, etc. The room was okay: there were no concerns with the linen, the bathroom was also clean. The air conditioner worked very well, but was way too loud for me to get a peaceful night's sleep. My room overlooked Magazine Street, but , having lived in New York City, street noises don't bother me. The hotel might be considered "quaint" by some, but to me it signals the need for an update in decor and furnishings.

One thing that really bugged me was the per-night charge for the in-room safe. What's the deal with that? Couldn't they just roll that add-on into the room rate? Nickel-and-diming your guests really isn't a good idea. I also didn't like that the bar wasn't available every evening. It would have been nice to be able to unwind with a cocktail or two in the relative quiet and calm of the hotel lobby. All, in all, not a bad experience.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank challeve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWChristopher, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel, responded to this review, 9 September 2011
We apologize for the issues you experienced and we want to be your first choice. We have just upgraded our TV’s to flat screen units, added refrigerators, and new beds and replaced much of the furniture in our rooms. The safe fee is optional and is acknowledgeable guest at check in. If you do not use the safe you can decline. Darning the summer months our bar is opened Thursday, Friday & Saturday From 5pm till 10pm unless there is a special event then the hours may change. We appreciate your comment and hope we will become your first choice next time.

Thank You
Tracy Collins
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
The Pelham
The Pelham
#81 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Central Business District
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter
Central Business District
St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
BEST WESTERN PLUS French Quarter Landmark Hotel
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter
Central Business District
Royal St Charles Hotel
Royal St Charles Hotel
#54 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel
Address: 114 Magazine St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2421
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic St. Christopher Hotel is located in the heart of New Orleans and just 50 steps away from the world famous French Quarter. We are within walking to distance to the New Orleans Business District and all that New Orleans has to offer. The St. Christopher is a boutique style hotel with magnificent old New Orleans architecture. Guestroom design is warm with a classic feel featuring original New Orleans artwork, brick exposed walls and newly upgraded amenities including mini refrigerators and flat screen televisions. Select guestrooms offer a Jacuzzi tub. The hotel offers a complimentary deluxe continental breakfast which includes delicious pastries, fresh fruits and cheeses, as well as hot pancakes. Hotel guests also receive free WiFi and free local phone calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS St. Christopher Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western New Orleans
New Orleans Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing