We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I hate this hotel and I have never stayed here!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus St. Christopher Hotel
Ranked #65 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
GreenLeadersSilver level
Gulfport
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“I hate this hotel and I have never stayed here!”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Please note: I had to put a trip type and a travel date on here for the review to post, but I HAVE NEVER STAYED HERE. I made reservations in July 2013 for the 2014 Essence Music Festival. Although there was no mention of a deposit being required at any time, I was charged two deposits (I had three reservations - one for myself and two for family members). I called the hotel to get the issue resolved quickly; it took no less than 5 calls to speak with a manager (ended up being Kinisha Stuart/Stewart). She was less than friendly and would not fax an authorization to my bank to get the funds released although the error was the hotel's fault. Mind you, I gave my permission to Of course, I cancelled all three reservations and I sent a letter to the general manager, Maria; if my life depended on her contacting me, I'd be dead. It took 2 WEEKS to get almost $300 credited back to my bank account. Now, here's the killer part: I have a charge on my debit card from the hotel TODAY. Mind you, I HAVE NEVER STAYED THERE! AND, I have no pending reservations with them. "Fortunately," I got Kinisha again; she was pleasant this time and referred me to contact their accounting department around 9 AM. Based on my last experience, it will take 14 days for me to get my money back. And, that's more wonderful this time because I'm a Federal employee who is currently not receiving any pay. When I tell you that I will NEVER stay at this propety in my life and will NEVER refer anyone to stay there, I am not exaggerating.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Storm1908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kinisha S, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus St. Christopher Hotel, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
On behalf he front office management team at the Best West Western St. Christopher Hotel, please accept our apology for your unpleasant stay at the hotel. We strive to ensure our guest experience the best visits possible during their travels and we fell short of our goal this time. We would like to extend our deepest apology. Please feel free to contact us if you would like to discuss these issues personally. I look forward to speaking with you and I hope that in the future you would be willing o give us a second chance. Thanks in advance!

C. Brie Stradford & Kinisha Stewart
Front Office Supervisors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    463
    463
    184
    92
    101
See reviews for
306
471
38
187
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hell, Norway
Level Contributor
107 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 324 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

If you don't mind spending your New Orleans downtime in a dungeon with paper-thin walls, this is the place for you.

Everyone else would be well advised to look elsewhere, albeit in the same general area as the location is quite good.

If you are still a sucker for punishment, be advised that most of the rooms on each floor are in a central cluster. This means you get a fake window, not a real one. When you wake up at a reasonable time, it still feels like 3 am. Noise reverberates around the corridors, and conversation from neighboring rooms is crystal clear through the walls.

In short, this is the worst Best Western I have stayed in. It should be Best Western MINUS, not Plus. Breakfast was average, front-desk staff nice at check-in, but comletely unsympahetic if you want to change rooms.

Please avoid this awful hotel.

Room Tip: Get a window room, or look elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank dgdevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kinisha S, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus St. Christopher Hotel, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
On behalf he front office management team at the Best West Western St. Christopher Hotel, please accept our apology for your unpleasant stay at the hotel. We strive to ensure our guest experience the best visits possible during their travels and we fell short of our goal this time. We would like to extend our deepest apology. Please feel free to contact us if you would like to discuss these issues personally. I look forward to speaking with you and I hope that in the future you would be willing o give us a second chance. Thanks in advance!

C. Brie Stradford & Kinisha Stewart
Front Office Supervisors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

We have been to NOLA a couple of other times & stayed other places but enjoyed the St Christopher because of its close proximity to the Frencch Quarter. The rooms were clean, the staff was friendly & it was a great value. I highly recommend the St Christopher for your next stay!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timbo091402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kinisha S, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus St. Christopher Hotel, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Thank you so much for choosing to stay at our hotel. We pride ourselves in comfort, great staff and the perfect location that is close to everything. We hope that you travel to our area again sometime in the future and get the opportunity to experience some of our great hospitality again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, United States
1 review
Reviewed 24 September 2013

The price and location make this hotel a must for a trip to New Orleans. All of the staff was professional, courteous and friendly. The rooms are charming and comfortable. We will have the St. Christopher at the top of our list for our next visit to NOLA. Great stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Jesse B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kinisha S, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus St. Christopher Hotel, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
Thank you so much for choosing to stay at our hotel. We pride ourselves in comfort, great staff and the perfect location that is close to everything. We hope that you travel to our area again sometime in the future and get the opportunity to experience some of our great hospitality again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherwood, Arkansas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Arrived early but was able to check in, Brie was extremely helpful and friendly. We change our reservation to the 3 day Audubon package after Brie carefully explain to me everything that was included. Great package, well worth it. We had a minor glitch one day and getting our car but Johnny stay late to make sure we were taken care of before he went home. We were meeting another couple, Brie went the extra mile to try to get us on the same floor and was able to. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Mitchell R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kinisha S, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus St. Christopher Hotel, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
Thank you so much for your review on our property. We do feel as though ALL of our guest are royalty and we are pleased that we could make your stay a great one. If you find yourself in the downtown New Orleans area again, please come over and visit as we would love to shower you with our southern hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Charles, Louisiana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

This hotel is over rated!!! There was mold on the ice tray,everything was dusty and the rooms are tiny. We reserved our rooms month in advance and requested that they were next to each other and they were not. Then we were missing half a tank of gas while are car was valet!!!!!!!! Do not stay here!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lrd0317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kinisha S, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus St. Christopher Hotel, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
On behalf he front office management team at the Best West Western St. Christopher Hotel, please accept our apology for your unpleasant stay at the hotel. We strive to ensure our guest experience the best visits possible during their travels and we fell short of our goal this time. We would like to extend our deepest apology. Please feel free to contact us if you would like to discuss these issues personally. I look forward to speaking with you and I hope that in the future you would be willing o give us a second chance. Thanks in advance!

C. Brie Stradford & Kinisha Stewart
Front Office Supervisors
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, TN, United States
1 review
Reviewed 12 September 2013

This hotel was wonderful. The room was quiet - great after a night of partying. The bed was EXTREMELY COMFORTABLE. And the staff was very friendly. It's about a 7 block walk to the heart of Bourbon street. Since it was still daylight, we skipped the cab and it took about 15 minutes to get there, not bad. We definitely took a cab back to the hotel for about a charge of $10. Not bad.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kinisha S, Front Office Manager at Best Western Plus St. Christopher Hotel, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Thank you so much for choosing to stay at our hotel. We pride ourselves in comfort, great staff and the perfect location that is close to everything. We hope that you travel to our area again sometime in the future and get the opportunity to experience some of our great hospitality again.

Thanks For Staying
C. Brie Stradford & Kinisha Stewart
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Central Business District
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter
Central Business District
Royal St Charles Hotel
Royal St Charles Hotel
#61 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Pelham
The Pelham
#85 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Central Business District
La Quinta Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown
Central Business District
Staybridge Suites New Orleans
Staybridge Suites New Orleans
#71 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus St. Christopher Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus St. Christopher Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus St. Christopher Hotel
Address: 114 Magazine St, New Orleans, LA 70130
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus St. Christopher Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic St. Christopher Hotel is located in the heart of New Orleans and just 50 steps away from the world famous French Quarter. We are within walking to distance to the New Orleans Business District and all that New Orleans has to offer. The St. Christopher is a boutique style hotel with magnificent old New Orleans architecture. Guestroom design is warm with a classic feel featuring original New Orleans artwork, brick exposed walls and newly upgraded amenities including mini refrigerators and flat screen televisions. Select guestrooms offer a Jacuzzi tub. The hotel offers a complimentary deluxe continental breakfast which includes delicious pastries, fresh fruits and cheeses, as well as hot pancakes. Hotel guests also receive free WiFi and free local phone calls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus St. Christopher Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western New Orleans
New Orleans Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing