We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in New Orleans”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD
Ranked #56 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Best hotel in New Orleans”
Reviewed 20 June 2011

We stayed here on vacation June 16-19. Our stay was very pleasant. Everyone in the hotel was very nice and very welcoming. King was the first doorman we encountered very helpful. Very nice and treated us as if we had been friends for a long time. The hotel was very clean and a comfortable home away from home. The rooftop pool was very nice and was very clean. We had a small incident that was taken care of right away. Everyone was very helpful with that. The restaurant was very nice even though we showed up just a lil before closing time no one seemed to be upset about it. The next night we got room service and it was the same guy. Wright I believe was his name, very nice guy. Also treated us as if we were friends. Valet was very fast. Everyone we encountered in valet was very courteous. The last doorman we encountered as we were leaving was very nice and very helpful with loading up the bags. I can't remember everyones name. But everyone we came in contact with was very friendly and very helpful. As we were leaving everyone wished me a happy fathers day and also wished us a safe trip home. We will definitely be stayin in this hotel again. Awesome hotel, awesome people, friendly service. Just great hotel all around. Great location as well. Bourbon street is just a couple blocks. The aquarium was in walking distance. Which was great because we had the kids with us. It was the kids first time in New Orleans and they enjoyed every bit of it. Even they enjoyed how friendly everyone at the hotel was.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jhargrave81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    532
    447
    179
    69
    32
See reviews for
262
428
62
264
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

I stayed here for a bachelorette party and it was great. We had drinks on the rooftop pool to start off the night and they even brought us room service up there. The rooms are spacious. My luggage was damaged while waiting to be checked in but they politely reimbursed me which I'm grateful for. Very close to Bourbon steet and near the French Quarter tourist areas. Parking is very pricey.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JWassmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2011

We stayed here for 5 nights. We chose this hotel because it had a fridge and microwave in the room, very important when travelling with a toddler. The room was quite spacious and clean and the bed quite comfortable. We had an inside room so the view out the window was almost straight into the opposite room, but that didn't bother us. We did use the pool, even though it was rather small. The elevators were fast but swiping the access cards to gain access to the room floors was very annoying since the swipe wouldn't work 1/2 the time. The location was great, just a couple of blocks from the French Quarter and felt safe walking at night. No complaints about the speed of the wifi. The breakfast was quite good with lots of variety and the wait staff at the restaurant were very friendly and attentive. The reception staff, on the other hand, were not the most friendly although all of our requests were dealt with adequately except for one: they missed our 3:30am wakeup call on our last morning when we were catching a 6am flight and when this was pointed out, not much of an apology was given. Thankfully we set our own alarm. Overall though, we enjoyed our stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ckwc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed 11 June 2011

Their complimentary High Speed Internet-No Charge service gave my personal computer a tracking virus. The complimentary HBO TV service was off-line most of the time. There was a daily charge of $3 to use the room safe. They offered front desk call down service so your valet parked car would be waiting on you, which didn't happen most of the time. And the parking attendants offered a lower rate from $26 per day to the lower rate of $17 per day for guest that had a extended stay. Which did not happen. Would not ever stay their again. Far too many other Hotels that would love to have my repeat business.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bart096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bixby, Oklahoma
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2011

The staff was not friendly at all. They weren't rude, but they didn't act as if they appreciated your business. I didn't get the room I reserved, and the room was outdated and stoic. Towels were old and thin. The breakfast was not as good as other HGI's I have stayed at, and I am on the road 100 nights a year. The location is good, and that is the best part of the hotel. I won't stay here again as it was not up to the typical standards of a Hilton Garden Inn.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank osucarson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carla_Toennissen, Front Office Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD, responded to this review, 13 June 2011
We are constantly monitoring the performance of our hotel against Hilton's high service and quality standards. Comments from our guests enable us to continually improve, exceed quality standards, and are vitally important in helping us achieve our Mission to be the first choice of the world’s travelers. Your willingness to share your comments and recommendations is greatly appreciated as well as our highest of priorities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whiting Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2011

Just got back from NOLA stayed at this hotel which was OK, location is not bad, exercise room was clean and ok but the pool that looked nice from photos was so small it was a joke, I thought I would swim daily because it is so hot but that was not an option.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amysmom50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2011

I just got back from a 4 night stay at this hotel. I was with 2 other business colleagues and we all stayed here. I stay at this hotel from time to time for work as I travel often and stick with the Hilton family hotels. I also like the doubletree downtown and either of the hampton inns in the french quarter/convention center. I enjoy this hotel bc of the central location. It is only about two blocks from canal and the french quarter. it is great for trips on bourbon street.
On this most recent stay, I had a good experience and all of my needs where met. This stay i was really impressed with the service I recieved from the hotel staff. Upon arrival, I valet'd my car but had lots of luggage due to work equipment for a convention. One of the valet's took half of my stuff to check in and then to my room with me. It was very helpful. Later on my stay, I was waiting in the lobby for a friend and sparked up a great conversation with a hotel employee named King. King overheard me speaking of a steakhouse we were going to that night. King pulled out his Iphone and showed me the best way to get there, then offered some advice on other good dining options. We also had a great conversation on some of the great chef's in the area. I very much enjoyed the conversation. He was truly knowledgable of the area and great dining. Another instance of great service was on my last night I lost my valet ticket and called the front desk for assistance as I had to leave early in the morning. It was about 2:00 am on a sat night. The hotel actually didn't have a charge for valet for me so the front desk called valet and they were able to quickly find my car and ticket number. They also arranged to have a bellman at my room to help me with my luggage in the AM. King showed up the next morning with the luggage cart. Valet had my car in minutes.
The rest of the good...
good sized rooms
great location
maid service was good/daily and didn't bother me early in the morning to clean room.
free breakfest for being a hilton diamond member

Some of the bad.
My AC made a repetitive clicking sound, I didn't call about it however.
Valet is expensive ($29 a night), parking anywhere in the area isdifficult and also comparably expensive. all the hotels are expensive in new orleans so you don't have a choice but it still sucks to pay that much.
smoking rooms, make sure you request a non smoking room!
the restaurant serves breakfest but doesn't provide room service in the AM.

bottom line. you will find the standard amenities you will need for a 3 star hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nfrasercolumbia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MMAC2010, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD, responded to this review, 19 May 2011
What a lovely recap of your visit. Thank you for sharing your experience with us. It was indeed our pleasure to serve you. On behalf of the team, we appreciate your generous and gracious comments and hope to see you back in the near future. Kind regards, Marlene Macaluso, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Aloft New Orleans Downtown
Aloft New Orleans Downtown
#31 of 163 in New Orleans
705 reviews
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel
Central Business District
Royal St Charles Hotel
Royal St Charles Hotel
#64 of 163 in New Orleans
1,367 reviews
Central Business District
Hilton New Orleans/St. Charles Avenue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD

Property: Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD
Address: 821 Gravier St, New Orleans, LA 70112-1531
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#70 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#72 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD 3.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
World-famous attractions are at your fingertips at Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD hotel in New Orleans, Louisiana. Located steps from the French Quarter, our hotel offers contemporary conveniences in the heart of historic New Orleans. Enjoy great onsite services such as a heated rooftop swimming pool and fitness room with panoramic views of downtown. Guests can also enjoy the options of meeting space with banquet facilities, onsite dining and New Orleans vacation packages. Guest room accommodations are located on floors 11 to 18 with convenient parking on floors 10 to the ground level. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/Cbd Hotel New Orleans
Hilton Garden Inn Cbd
Hilton New Orleans
New Orleans Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing