We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location in town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD
Ranked #60 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The hotel is in a business district, but within easy walk to the French Quarter. Recently renovated, very good breakfast served. Unless you need a car for business, it is not worth having a car in central NOLA, parking is very expensive. A cab to/from the airport has a fixed rate of $33 USD, and once in town, you can walk everywhere. Reception personnel really friendly and helpful, as well as the servers in the breakfast room.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrhmesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,293)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

792 - 798 of 1,293 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

Hilton Garden Inn saved our bacon 06/03/14-06/05/14 when we were already booked through Priceline.com for another hotel that was having problems with their air conditioning. It took the other hotel 2 1/2 hrs. to get us set up for the Hilton the 2nd day of our stay. When the A/C was still not on the next day, it only took the Hilton 30 min. to get the rest of our stay moved to the Hilton. Room 1707 was fabulously cool and noticeably cleaner and newer than the other hotel. Although, the other hotel did not really look dirty and our room there would have been nice, had they had A/C. Room 1707 is a King sleep number bed suite that was very comfortable. There is a small fridge, microwave and Keurig type coffemaker. It is at the end of the hallway and away from the elevators and ice machine. There are laundry facilities on the floor. There is only 1 window that only has a view of the windows of the other surrounding tower rooms, but it does let in lots of light. Staff was fabulous, friendly, helpful and instantly ready to meet our needs. When we called the front desk for minor maintenance and housekeeping needs, their response was immediate and friendly. In house restaurant on 11th floor with very good selection for breakfast from cold cereal, fresh fruit & juices, to custom made omelets. Kevin in Valet Parking is on top of his game, keeping everything and everybody running smoothly and efficiently. Location is a little off the French Quarter path that we had originally negotiated with Priceline, but just a couple of extra blocks away.

Room Tip: room 1707 great
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bcsonnier56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

This could be a nice hotel but between the musty smell where the hotel tries to cover up the heavy cigarette smoke smell and the cigar smokers sitting by the pool, my overall experience was not a good one. I had a non smoking room but even my room smelled like a smoker had been living there. Staff was nice - good breakfast - but unless they ban smoking from hotel, I would not stay here on future visits. Nice outside pool ...kids swimming... and smokers all around them. Sigh!

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank Ontheroadagain411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristi T, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Thanks for sharing your comments. I am so sorry that you were affected by the smoke from others. This is typically not an issue at the pool area as there is enough space for smokers to use areas where they don't affect the folks that are enjoying the pool deck. Taking the hotel to a completely non-smoking status is currently under consideration and we'll be sure to post any updates on our website.

Safe Travels,
Kristi Taglauer, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a couple of days the first of June ... walking distance to about everything we wanted to do ...

Room was clean and the price was right ... The staff was really helpful ... parking at the hotel was too expensive for me so we used a parking garage a few blocks away, we didn't need the car so we saved some money there

I will definitely be back to the hotel next time I'm in New Orleans

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank sinbad5520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristi T, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Great! Thanks for letting us know how much you enjoyed your visit and our very convenient location.

See you soon,
Kristi Taglauer, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

Traveled here to see Chelsea Handler live. The hotel is conveniently located near New Orleans' main attractions. Front desk staff was pleasant and the valet guys were exceptionally nice. The room was spacious and clean. It would have been 5 star worthy had it not been for the ridiculously hard bed. Even with the knob on "soft" it is like sleeping on concrete.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank bullzeye82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristi T, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

I am so sorry that you did not enjoy our Garden Sleep System. The individual settings were designed to allow the user to set it at their personal comfort level and I apologize that this did not work for you. Thanks for staying with us and we hope you give us another opportunity.

Warm Regards,
Kristi Taglauer, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

My husband and I spent 6 nights at the HGI at the end of May to celebrate our wedding anniversary. It was our first time in New Orleans and we picked this hotel because we often stay at this chain (because we love having a microwave and refrigerator in the room), we thought the rate was reasonable, and it allowed us to be close enough to the French Quarter without being in it.

We were very happy with our stay. Check-in was quick and painless. We got a great room with beautiful views of the city and Superdome. The location was perfect for what we wanted to do. Even the bed was comfortable, and I almost never find that with hotels. I used the gym, which had the equipment I wanted, and the pool and deck. The pool is much smaller than the pictures online make it look, but it was perfect for a quick dip while taking in the gorgeous skyline views.

All of our interactions with staff members were positive. We actually checked in right after a previous reviewer, who had a problem with getting a roll-away bed for the room. The woman who checked us in after that group was nothing but pleasant to us. You would have never known she'd just had to deal with an unhappy customer. Every member of the housekeeping staff was also pleasant and helpful. I asked about the procedure for getting a taxi to the airport on our last day, and one phone call from my room was immediately answered, transferred, and handled nicely by the bellhop. Kudos to your staff for being so great.

Our only negative: the water pressure in our room (1508) was TERRIBLE. We didn't complain about it because I didn't want to risk losing our beautiful view if we switched rooms. I have no idea if that problem affects the whole hotel or just where we were, but it was a real pain. Hopefully maintenance can look into it because otherwise, this was a great hotel property!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IceGurlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristi T, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Happy Anniversary and we are so glad you enjoyed your vacation with us! Thanks for the heads up on the water pressure issue and we'll get that addressed.

Here's to another year of married bliss!
Kristi Taglauer, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

The location here was amazing. It was 1 or 2 blocks from Bourbon Street, Canal Street and Decatur Street. We were able to walk everywhere we wanted to go. It was close to the streetcar station as well. The best part was the friendliness of the staff. Concierge was awesome. You really felt welcomed and that they wanted you to truly enjoy their beautiful city. IT WORKED. The trip was AMAZING. King was there most of the days and he was great. This hotel is HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristi T, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

We really want to thank you for taking a moment to share your wonderful experience. I will be sure to share your great comments with King. We are so glad you enjoyed New Orleans!
Kristi Taglauer, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Aloft New Orleans Downtown
Aloft New Orleans Downtown
#31 of 166 in New Orleans
749 reviews
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown Near the French Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Renaissance New Orleans Pere Marquette French Quarter Area Hotel
Central Business District
Hilton New Orleans/St. Charles Avenue
Central Business District
Royal St Charles Hotel
Royal St Charles Hotel
#65 of 166 in New Orleans
1,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD

Address: 821 Gravier St, New Orleans, LA 70112-1531
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#70 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#72 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £95 - £306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD 3.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
World-famous attractions are at your fingertips at Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD hotel in New Orleans, Louisiana. Located steps from the French Quarter, our hotel offers contemporary conveniences in the heart of historic New Orleans. Enjoy great onsite services such as a heated rooftop swimming pool and fitness room with panoramic views of downtown. Guests can also enjoy the options of meeting space with banquet facilities, onsite dining and New Orleans vacation packages. Guest room accommodations are located on floors 11 to 18 with convenient parking on floors 10 to the ground level. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/CBD reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn New Orleans French Quarter/Cbd Hotel New Orleans
Hilton Garden Inn Cbd
Hilton New Orleans
New Orleans Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing