We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful stay at Marie Laveau - St. Ann” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn on St Ann

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Inn on St Ann
Ranked #34 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay at Marie Laveau - St. Ann”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

My husband and I stayed in a deluxe full room in the Marie Laveau apartments at the Inn on St. Ann, and we thought it was great. Our room was across the interior patio, on the second floor, and felt very private. We barely saw anyone else the whole time, and definitely didn't hear many noises.
Further details:
- Great location. Very quiet, even though its only a couple blocks of Bourbon st. We could walk to Tropical Isle in ~5 min, Cafe du Monde in about ~10min.
- We loved the exposed brick in the room, the hard wood floors, and real tile in the bathroom.
- Very comfortable bed. May be too soft for some people.
- The room was spotless, including the bathroom. Seriously, one of the cleanest hotel rooms I've ever been in.
- Both the room and the bathroom were small, but that wasn't a problem for us (its not like we came to NOLA to hang out in the room). The pedestal-style sink did make it hard to deal with toiletries, but we managed.
- If you're not used to AC window units, you might think its loud. If you want central air, go stay in a hotel. I grew up with window units, so I don't even notice it.
- Very good, hot coffee was available every time we went by the front desk, and my husband drinks a ton of coffee, so we'd go by multiple times a day. Skip the pastries (looked like they were from a costco), and go to one of the great cafes in the french quarter for breakfast.
- Every time we did see a hotel worker, they were very friendly, always said hi. The front desk helpfully stored our luggage on our last day and called a cab for us to get to the airport later that day.
- The free wifi was fairly reliable, but sometimes could be slow

I would definitely stay here again. Though, looking at the other reviews, I would try to get the same room we booked - its seems like other people had problems with noise, which was not the case for us.

Room Tip: I would try to get a room like we had: in the Marie Laveau area, across the patio, on the second flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mmd2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    255
    170
    46
    17
    9
See reviews for
49
271
47
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2012

The location of the hotel was great to be able to walk to the restaurants, shops and explore the French Quarter. The hotel however was not that good. It is a renovated house and it is very loud, you can hear every other guest entering and leaving their rooms and then the front door banging closed 24 hours. I know you don't go to the French Quarter to sleep but you will not get ANY sleep here! The bedding and towels were clean but the room was tiny and smelt musky. The cleaning crew were very loud and not very considerate of the guests. The location is great though!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shelleydiva1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2012

We were placed in the room next to the front door. RIGHT next to the front door. We heard the door slam loudly every time someone came in or out. Having a room right next to the front door in the first place is stupid, but not even having an anti-slamming mechanism on the door is even more moronic. We heard everything that was happening on the street in front of us. What really put the cherry on the cake was how obnoxious the staff/cleaning crew was. Firstly, there was a 30 minute wait when we arrived at the inn- there was no one manning the front desk or answering the phones. Secondly, our friends who had also made reservations had to cancel due to incorrect booking/ room mixups. The staff was not apologetic or accommodating. The BEST part of all was the obnoxious cleaning crew that arrives early in the morning...that also thinks tat sleeping guests would like to hear all their hooting n' hollering in the hallways. Asked them to politel keep it down, and that didnt work. I'm not a picky person... This hotel was just such an obnoxious experience for me. I can imagine that other customers feel very similarly about the place, from what I have observed. Horrid experience, just horrid. That cleaning crew should all be fired... All this aside, the modern decor and renovations are nice. However, I will never return here because of this horrible experience.

Room Tip: Do not get room 60 by the door, whatever you do. Try to get a room upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston-Salem, North Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

After doing a search for a decently priced hotel in New Orleans for our anniversary, we stumbled on the Inn on St. Ann. We were surprised to find such a low priced hotel in the heart of the French Quarter that actually looked decent. When we arrived, we didn't realize that the hotel doesn't have a formal entrance and you have to press a button on the side of the door to be buzzed in. We called the main office at the sister hotel on St. Peter for help, and we were able to be let in and actually got checked in early. The front desk person was very nice and upgraded our room because our original room was not ready. The room turned out to be right next to the front desk and ice machine on the first floor. We didn't complain because the hotel doesn't have an elevator and we didn't want to lug our suitcase up the staircase. Also, our room was pretty spacious with all new furniture and recently renovated bathroom. It was an interior room with no windows and no refrigerator, but it was still charming. Unfortunately, with an older building we could hear everything going on at the front desk, every time someone got ice, and whenever someone walked up the stairs or went out the front door. The next day we looked for our "continental breakfast," which we were told was going to be served between 7:30am and 11am. Around 8am a maintenance man showed up, put out a carafe of very bitter coffee, and a cake plate with about 3 muffins and a danish. After a day of walking around New Orleans, the "continental breakfast" was still set out and was left out for 2 days. That day, no front desk employee showed up until 12pm and the next day no one showed up to man the desk until 4pm. The wifi kept going in and out. One time, the attendant at the desk had unplugged the wifi to run her personal laptop, the second day my wife had to go behind the desk and reboot the router herself because no one was there. The room was cleaned daily by a very helpful and friendly cleaning lady who seemed to be the only person concerned with how our stay was going. Overall, the accommodations were charming and clean and the location of the hotel was perfect for sightseeing, but don't expect much in the way of service.

Room Tip: The lowest rooms mean you'll get "the pick of the house." Be specific about bed size w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ZacharyL821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee C, Owner at Inn on St Ann, responded to this review, 6 August 2012
Thank you so much for posting your review of the Inn on St. Ann for others on TripAdvisor. I am terribly sorry that we failed to meet your expectations for service during your stay. We have higher expectations of our service performance than that which we delivered to you during your visit with us. Your feedback has already been shared with our team and we will continue to work on ensuring that our guests don't receive the same poor experience you had with us.

While I appreciate you mentioning our perfect location, charm, and cleanliness, we understand that our service, more than our facility, is what will make us a successful hotel. Having recently opened after extensive renovations of this historic hotel, we continue to use feedback such as the feedback you have provided to develop our service routines with a goal of being a place people stay the first time because of our location and every repeat visit after that because of our service. Without candid feedback such as the feedback you have provided, we wouldn't reach our goals as quickly.

I'm proud that at least one person on our service team was able to deliver, in their actions, the importance we place on service. Please know that I'll personally champion this employee's effort, energy, and passion for being great.

While it may be too much to hope for following your experience with us, I hope that you will choose to return to stay with us at the French Quarter Guest Houses and will continue to provide the important feedback which makes us a great place to stay in the Big Easy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay at the Inn on St Ann's Marie Leveau Annex and think it has potential to be excellent.

It is close to all the wonders of the French Quarter but just enough blocks away to be quiet and feel really safe. The heritage restoration of the buildings is fantastic, the beds are comfortable, the linen clean and soft and the overall standard of cleanliness is high.

Unfortunately, the air conditioning was very noisy; there was no welcome or orientation information in the room whatsoever - apart from the number for reception on the phone; the bathroom could do with a Venetian blind for privacy rather than the heavy fabric blind that was broken; a soap dish would prevent the mess on the vanity and breakfast was disappointing as it wasn't ready on time (1.5 hours late) on days we were leaving on early tours. The reception was also inconsistent with little information available if no one was around.

We travelled a long way (from NZ) to New Orleans and have stayed in many different hotels. We really enjoyed your city and hope this feedback is helpful.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank OneTreeJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee C, Owner at Inn on St Ann, responded to this review, 6 August 2012
Thanks for choosing to stay with us during your trip to the US and even more thanks for sharing your feedback of your experience at our hotel! We agree that our hotel has the potential to be great and are appreciative of your feedback in helping us to get there.

Our service team has addressed the issues mentioned in your review regarding the bathroom. We're also in the process of reforming our service responsibilities and schedules to ensure that we are prompt in delivering on our promises for service. Additionally, we're finishing development of a guest directory which we feel will provide great information on our hotel and our city in an engaging format.

I appreciate you mentioning our outstanding location and the feeling of safety you experienced during your stay with us. Just steps from all the French Quarter has to offer yet just far enough away from the clamor we're known for, we feel our guests are in the perfect place for balancing exploration and rest. As you noted, we placed a high importance on the beds, linens, and our cleanliness and are happy you found them to meet your expectations.

Our entire staff is excited that you were able to experience and enjoy our city! We're also very grateful for your feedback and interest in our success as a new hotel and growing brand of boutique hotels. We hope you choose to stay with the French Quarter Guest Houses the next time you return to the Crescent City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

We just returned from a week long stay at the Inn on St Ann- we were in the Marie Laveau Annex, right acrossthe street from the inn. Our room was wonderful- tastefully decorated with comfortable beds and a large marble bath- recently renovated with wi-fi access that is also available in the courtyard- we had a relaxing breakfast there each morning. Staff was very helpful (yet also unobtrusive). We'd originally booked in another location (which is currently being renovated by same owners)- were somewhat wary when we received a call offering this option- are certainly glad we decided to take them up on this!!!! We would recommend highly to anyone wanting a welcoming and peaceful home away from home in New Orleans.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 46 which had 2 double beds and was lovely- all the rooms are recently renovated an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bemaldi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Inn on St Ann, responded to this review, 29 June 2012
Thanks for being the first person to formally review the new Inn on St. Ann! We are proud to have opened this 2nd property within our French Quarter Guest Houses brand following a complete renovation of this historic property which includes, as you mention, the Marie Laveau Annex.

During our renovation of the hotel, we focused on restoring the traditional finishes to these 19th century buildings while not forgetting to include the modern conveniences today's traveler expects. I appreciate you mentioning the outstanding quality you could touch and feel such as the white Carrera marble bathrooms and pillow top mattresses made with top quality linens. We have also restored the floors using reclaimed 200 year old heart of pine floors and finishing the room with traditionally styled furniture made locally here in New Orleans.

I'm most proud of the service we were able to deliver to you during your stay with us. Our service team aims to meet and exceed every guests expectations while displaying a genuine interest in your experience in our city. Where you need us, we're ready to assist, and where you wish to relax and find your own way in your exploration of the French Quarter, we're on stand by waiting to help when needed.

I appreciate you mentioning that you were originally booked at our most recent acquisition in the French Quarter. As a growing brand of boutique hotels, we have found that the package of style, service, and quality product we are presenting to travelers to our city has a value. We are very close to finishing the Inn on Ursulines, our third property within the brand and hope to have the same success in opening that hotel as we have with the Inn on St. Ann and Inn on St. Peter. We hope that you return to experience each of our historic, boutique hotel properties in the future as they each offer a unique glimpse into the history of the French Quarter.

Thanks again for the outstanding comments! It's a huge statement that you would recommend us to others and we appreciate you sharing your experience through TripAdvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Inn on St. Peter
Inn on St. Peter
#31 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
French Quarter
Inn on Ursulines
Inn on Ursulines
#32 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#16 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#39 of 162 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,190 reviews
French Quarter
Olivier House Hotel
Olivier House Hotel
#15 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Lamothe House Hotel
Lamothe House Hotel
#24 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on St Ann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on St Ann

Property: Inn on St Ann
Address: 1013 Saint Ann St, New Orleans, LA 70116-3012
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn on St Ann 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be a part of our extended French Quarter family at the Inn on St. Ann. This charming French Quarter Inn boasts a courtyard shaded by a century old oak tree and common areas appropriately decorated with antiques, chandeliers, and original local artwork.This inn in New Orleans is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. Built in 1830, the Inn on St. Ann epitomizes the iconic architecture the French Quarter is often recognized for. With its hanging plants and wrought iron balcony fronting St. Ann, you’ll immediately feel the true allure of the French Quarter..Enchanting interior spaces are accented by the exposed brick foyer and grand staircase. Each of our 16 guest rooms has been consistently restored with traditional finishes yet each showcases its own exclusive features with a collection of fireplaces and unique architectural details.The Armstrong Suite, the most admired accommodation of the French Quarter Guest Houses, features floor to ceiling windows opening on to your own private balcony. Whether you desire the grand or quaint, the Inn on St. Ann has what you’re looking for in your next visit to New Orleans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Inn on St Ann reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing