We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Inn on St Ann

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inn on St Ann
Ranked #34 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Ankara, Turkey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent vacation”
Reviewed 31 May 2013

We went to New Orleans for 4 days. We had excellent vacation, the place is very feasible for everything. You do not need a car. The place is so clean and cosy, and also the staff is.

Definitely will go again. Appreciate everything.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank erenbeskardes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianne P, Manager at Inn on St Ann, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at the Inn on St Ann! We agree that it is not necessary to have a vehicle when staying at any of our French Quarter Guest Houses properties, as our prime location puts you within walking distance of all the must-see's of the city! However, should you require parking, we do offer a private gated lot at our sister property, the Lamothe House, that all of our French Quarter Guest Houses properties guests are welcome to use. We are thrilled to hear you will be returning to the Inn on St Ann upon your next visit to New Orleans and look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    262
    174
    49
    18
    9
See reviews for
53
279
47
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hillsboro, OR
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

This is a small inn property in a preserved old building. We were in the Marie Levau property across the street. You are one block off Rampart and Louis Armstrong Park ( don't go there).
Bourbon street is up St Ann about 5 small blocks, and then another 4 blocks or so and you are on Jackson Square. It is close enough to walk everywhere, but far enough from Bourbon Street to avoid the noise..and the smell!

Room Tip: There are only small windows in the door..and there was no coffee maker
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank knightl54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianne P, Manager at Inn on St Ann, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us and others on TripAdvisor! We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our great location, as this is the number one selling feature for all of our French Quarter Guest Houses properties! We are in the process of ordering new coffee machines for all of our guest rooms and will have them in there shortly. In the mean time, we continue to offer Community Coffee (a New Orleans local favorite) in our lobby, along with fresh fruit. We appreciate your feedback and hope you think of the Inn on St Ann upon your next visit to New Orleans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We were in NoLA for the Jazz Fest and traveled with friends who stayed in the hotel and we stayed across the street in the sister property Marie Laveau's Apts. We did like the stay but there are quirks. The day time staffing is friendly and efficient, the night time shift is- there. Our friends did not have a door that locked because of the age of the building and the wonkiness of the structure. The staff did work to secure their room. Our apt was cute but the stairs are steep! When you go just remember that these buildings are historic. It is not meant to be new and shiny, but a quick (free) walk to Bourbon St and the French Quarter. Their balcony seating was great and it was fun to people watch. The neighborhood was friendly and did not treat us like tourists. (they know where their bread is buttered) The courtyard is perfect to read in! It is in the Rainbow district just fyi.

Room Tip: If you cannot climb stairs make sure that you ask for a ground room floor. Be specific when asking a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 May 2013

The staff was friendly, the location was great, things were clean. I just can't tell you how disappointed I was to have our once fancy night (we stayed in a cheaper place the previous 2 nights and splurged on 'Inn at St. Ann) in a room with no windows. It's so important to me to see the city I'm in, to have natural light, to know what time of day it is without looking at a clock.

I guess if you go, just request that you don't get the room with no windows.

Room Tip: Ask to not be placed in a room with no windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alice G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

We booked almost a year in advance for a weekend at the Jazz Festival. We expected better.
What we DID GET was a clean room, comfy bed, a big washroom.
What we DIDN'T get:
1.a WINDOW! I didn't even know this was allowed by the building code! We didn't know what kind of day it was: had to put on some clothes and venture out to the patio, No way to vent the bathroom!
2.Advertises continental breakfast: we found coffee, tea, fake creamer, apples and oranges in the common space. That's it.
3.Water pressure when everyone showers in the morning: just dribbles (no exaggeration).
4.Soundproofing: we heard everyone coming and going at all hours, especially the poor drunken sot who locked himself out and pounded on the door for an hour at 5AM!

Room Tip: Request a room with a window. There is an interior courtyard but can't say whether noise of oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ablf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

I like the idea of the smaller boutique hotels, but you never know what you are going to get. Our room is near the main entrance and there are three tables and a coffee station out there, so it is a place to gather and talk. So the fact that we can hear everything that people are saying is a little reminder that they can probably hear everything that we are saying. And on a related note, the bed squeaks.

Not exactly the romantic get-away we were looking for.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimFromMilwaukee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianne P, Manager at Inn on St Ann, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
Thank you for your candid feedback regarding your stay with us. We are sorry to hear the traffic and people gathering near the coffee area interfered with your romantic getaway! We are pleased to read that you found your guestroom to be so beautiful and would love the opportunity to make it up to you with a future "romantic getaway" at any of our French Quarter Guest Houses properties. We are 100% positive your stay would be nothing short of spectacular!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

We booked our 2 rooms here nearly a year in advance to make sure that we had a nice place to stay, at a reasonable price, for our upcoming trip to New Orleans. When we arrived it took several minutes before anybody let us into the lobby, as the outside door is kept locked an can only be opened with a room key. This may make it more secure but as you will read, it also leads to some unpleasant experiences.

One of the rooms was located outside the hotel proper, in the courtyard. Our room was located next to the front desk on the main floor. It was clean and roomy, but had no windows! Not even a false window to the courtyard. It was between the front desk and the cleaning closet, and we had the sense that it too had been a closet at some time. Not only did the room not have any windows, but the bathroom was also not vented, and had no exhaust fan. Considering that I booked nearly a year in advance, and left a significant deposit with the hotel at the time I booked, I consider the room situation to be inexcusable. I asked if they had any other rooms, and was told that none were available.

Breakfast consisted of coffee without any milk or cream, just non-dairy "creamer", and apples and oranges. No coffee maker in the room

There is no staff on hand during the night and the door cannot be opened without a room key. For some reason on our second night there someone started banging on the hotel door at about 5 AM and continued off and on for the next 90 minutes!

All in all a rather disappointing experience.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianne P, Manager at Inn on St Ann, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us, we are extremely disappointed to hear of your less than great stay. In regards to the locked entryway to the hotel, although it can seem like a hassle at times, it is there for the general safety of our guests. We completely understand the inconvenience upon arrival, and our agents do their best to as prompt as possible to buzz you in. However, once you are checked in your room key provides full access to the property, 24 hours a day.

As the Inn on St Ann is an historic property, some of the rooms are smaller than others and we find that our repeat guest find their favorite rooms and request them upon booking their next stay with us. We understand this was your first stay with us and apologize that you were unable to request a guestroom with a window, as a select few do not have one. Our agents always do their best to accommodate our guest's requests once already checked in, although sometimes it can be difficult if we are sold out.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us, we are very sorry your stay wasn't all you had hoped it would be and would love the opportunity to show you how great a future stay at any of our French Quarter Guest Houses properties could be!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Inn on St. Peter
Inn on St. Peter
#35 of 161 in New Orleans
726 reviews
French Quarter
Inn on Ursulines
Inn on Ursulines
#33 of 161 in New Orleans
399 reviews
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#16 of 161 in New Orleans
1,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Olivier House Hotel
Olivier House Hotel
#18 of 161 in New Orleans
591 reviews
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#38 of 161 in New Orleans
2,206 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel St. Pierre
Hotel St. Pierre
#64 of 161 in New Orleans
1,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on St Ann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on St Ann

Property: Inn on St Ann
Address: 1013 Saint Ann St, New Orleans, LA 70116-3012
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn on St Ann 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be a part of our extended French Quarter family at the Inn on St. Ann. This charming French Quarter Inn boasts a courtyard shaded by a century old oak tree and common areas appropriately decorated with antiques, chandeliers, and original local artwork.This inn in New Orleans is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. Built in 1830, the Inn on St. Ann epitomizes the iconic architecture the French Quarter is often recognized for. With its hanging plants and wrought iron balcony fronting St. Ann, you’ll immediately feel the true allure of the French Quarter..Enchanting interior spaces are accented by the exposed brick foyer and grand staircase. Each of our 16 guest rooms has been consistently restored with traditional finishes yet each showcases its own exclusive features with a collection of fireplaces and unique architectural details.The Armstrong Suite, the most admired accommodation of the French Quarter Guest Houses, features floor to ceiling windows opening on to your own private balcony. Whether you desire the grand or quaint, the Inn on St. Ann has what you’re looking for in your next visit to New Orleans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Inn on St Ann reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing