We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
River House
Nearby Hotels
Best Western Plus St. Christopher Hotel(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
US$264
US$233
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Monteleone(New Orleans)
US$349
US$337
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$447
US$382
Waldorf.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Crowne Plaza Hotel Astor-New Orleans(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
US$289
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Omni Riverfront Hotel(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
US$405
US$333
Omni Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$310
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Wyndham New Orleans - French Quarter(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
US$450
US$258
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Omni Royal Orleans(New Orleans)
US$301
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Maison Dupuy(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
US$231
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans(New Orleans)(Great Value!)
US$198
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (11)
Filter reviews
11 results
Traveller rating
11
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
11
0
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 11 reviews
Reviewed 10 April 2011

The huge house with only 3 spacious apartments is located in an old neighborhood just outside of the French Quarter. It can be used as a base to explore or, if you're not in a hurry, to just laze around by the pool and amongst all the great trees and smells.

Hosts, Csaba & David are fantastic. This my second stay and I will be back!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldTravelingWombat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2011

Has to be one of my favorite vacations of all time. House and Hosts were wonderful! If you like Old New Orleans this is the place to be. Very close to French Quarter but far enough away to spend quite time on the balcony.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ssamek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2011

Dates of stay: January 14-17, 2011
Travelers: Two, fifty-something married couples; second & 3rd floor apartments
Value: River House would be a bargain at twice the price.

Holy cow what a wonderful place to stay. I'll get to the extraordinary physical appearances of the River House in more detail below. But first, what sets this place apart from any other is its hosts, Csaba and David, who have spared no expense in renovating and decorating the three apartments in their home. The allure of the River House goes above and beyond its luxurious physical attributes. This place is managed by a couple who love what they have created and want to share it, and their city, with appreciative guests. The River House is not a bed&breakfast. Each apartment is private and secure and is fully self contained with separate bedroom, kitchen, bath, and living areas. Every amenity you'd find in a five star hotel is provided. In fact, our apartment came equipped with a brew-by-the-cup coffee maker and a separate espresso machine. A variety of coffees, teas, sweeteners, muffins, crackers and other snacks were in the cupboard. Our hosts stocked the refrigerators with sodas, water, milk, juice, and even cream cheese for our muffins. The interior decor of each apartment is unique and ranges from exquisite museum-grade antiques and rescued local memorabilia, to zany mid-Americana kitsch. Their labor of love places an obvious decorating emphasis on their guests' comfort, enjoyment, and even amusement. Our 2nd floor apartment was huge. The first and third floor apartments were of similar size or even larger. To top things off, Csaba and David welcome their guests to make use of the home's beautifully landscaped and lighted backyard garden, with fountains, a cabana, and an in-ground swimming pool. While my wife and I have probably experienced at least 1000 hotel nights world-wide, our stay at the River House was by far our most enjoyable.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MickeyD2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2009

I stayed here with my husband and another couple for three nights in April 2009. I seriously don't know where to begin, from the complimentary airport pick-up to the luxury linens on the beds, everything was perfect. I was a bit worried not being familiar with this section of New Orleans, since I have only stayed in the French Quarter but Csaba assured me everything was in walking distance and we were in a very safe neighborhood. Well, he was 100% right! Jackson Square is only about a 15 minute walk, but it will take you hours because it is such a lovely journey. It will take you a while to get off of Frenchman Street (if you ever want to leave)with all of it's live music and lovely restaurants, make sure to have Csaba or David show you where the local bakery is, AMAZING breakfasts! The mansion you stay in is filled with amazing antiques and personal touches like a stocked refrigerator, fluffy towels and fresh flowers. Don't plan on leaving the pool area because the comfy lounge chairs and tranquil setting are irresistible. I will NEVER stay anywhere again when I return to New Orleans. If you want to truly experience this wonderful city, stay with Csaba and David. You can go party and walk the streets of the French Quarter but then return to your "home."

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kristy k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2004

During a recent 5-night stay in New Orleans for a conference, we chose to stay at River House at 625 Marigny Street rather than the designated hotels. For the same price, (consider taxes, occupancy fees, and other hotel surcharges) we had not a room, but an entire floor of a distinctive, beautiful 1850's house outfitted with every imaginable amenity. From a full kitchen (stocked with refreshments and light breakfast supplies) to a jacuzzi tub, high-speed internet-connected computer system, complete entertainment system --CD, DVD, VCR, and 2 TV's, telephones, lots of room to lounge on comfortable furniture, a queensize bed with fine linens, made to dream in, and don't forget the laundry facilities in the huge closet off the splendid bathroom. The carefullly chosen decor, flowers, dishes and toiletries only added to the complete feeling of being at home, or rather in your dream house. The hosts, David and Csaba could not be more hospitable and will provide you with as much help and as much privacy as you wish. Why stay in a bland, noisy hotel when you can have your own home in the Faubourg Marigny neighborhood, steps away from the raucous French Quarter and a pleasant ride on the riverfront line streetcar to the convention center?

4  Thank Tellurian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews