We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCEPTIONAL !!”
Review of River House

River House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Orleans
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
River House
Ranked #81 of 142 New Orleans B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 August 2012

My wife and I just returned from a one week stay at this charming house with it's beautiful decor and artwork. Staying here really allowed us to experience the true spirit and culture of New Orleans ! Everytime we returned it felt like we were coming home. The location as listed is perfect - 1 block to Frenchmen St for great food and entertainment and just a short walk to the Quarter. The Garden Apartment on the first floor was very spacious and incredibly well stocked with everything you would need to enjoy your stay - and then some !! The private pool & courtyard was always clean, well maintained and very nicely lit up at night - very peaceful ! Finally what can you say about Csaba - a kind hearted and gracious host - a great Ambassador to the City of N.O.....went out of his way to ensure everything was seamless. Would definately recommend the River House to anyone looking for an authentic New Orleans vacation - we can't wait to return !!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brad P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (11)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 11 reviews

Reviewed 26 November 2011

Had to write this review as we are thinking of another trip to New Orleans and I couldn't believe River House isn't in the top three B&B's. We stayed in the ground floor apartment and from the airport pick up onwards you could not ask for a better base from which to explore New Orleans. David and Csaba were fantastic hosts and they have put a lot of care, attention to detail and love in to the property.

If you are reading this and wondering where to stay in New Orleans stop right where you are and book any of the superb apartments. You will not be disappointed.

This is a genuine review from someone who is very fussy about where they stay and the claims some venues make. The reason every one of the reviews so far has given River House 5 out of 5 is that Trip Advisor hasn't got a 6 !!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank markfairweather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

Stunning accommodation, facilities and great location to the coolest areas of the French Quarter.

Cannot recommend this highly enough. Great value, brilliant hosts.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Insightforhire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2011

I can only add my enthusiasm to that of the other reviewers. My husband and I (in our early 60s) stayed in the third floor apartment and the other couple we were traveling with stayed on the second floor. We chose the third floor because Csaba recommended it after I told him my husband was a big guy with a back problem. Indeed, the bed was large and extremely comfortable, even for Steve! The room was whimsically and ecletically decorated. The bathroom was HUGE. Our friends loved the second floor apartment, as it was elegant, beautiful and comfortable with WOW factors everywhere.
I also fell in love with the Fauberg-Marigny neighborhood, close to Frenchman's street, and a few blocks from the Quater with trendy little
eating spots that served up surprisingly delicious food.
All in all, I would totally recommend River House to those travelers who value uniqueness, good service, beauty, and convenience in a true New Orleans neighborhood.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Silvert0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2011

The huge house with only 3 spacious apartments is located in an old neighborhood just outside of the French Quarter. It can be used as a base to explore or, if you're not in a hurry, to just laze around by the pool and amongst all the great trees and smells.

Hosts, Csaba & David are fantastic. This my second stay and I will be back!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldTravelingWombat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2011

Has to be one of my favorite vacations of all time. House and Hosts were wonderful! If you like Old New Orleans this is the place to be. Very close to French Quarter but far enough away to spend quite time on the balcony.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ssamek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2011

Dates of stay: January 14-17, 2011
Travelers: Two, fifty-something married couples; second & 3rd floor apartments
Value: River House would be a bargain at twice the price.

Holy cow what a wonderful place to stay. I'll get to the extraordinary physical appearances of the River House in more detail below. But first, what sets this place apart from any other is its hosts, Csaba and David, who have spared no expense in renovating and decorating the three apartments in their home. The allure of the River House goes above and beyond its luxurious physical attributes. This place is managed by a couple who love what they have created and want to share it, and their city, with appreciative guests. The River House is not a bed&breakfast. Each apartment is private and secure and is fully self contained with separate bedroom, kitchen, bath, and living areas. Every amenity you'd find in a five star hotel is provided. In fact, our apartment came equipped with a brew-by-the-cup coffee maker and a separate espresso machine. A variety of coffees, teas, sweeteners, muffins, crackers and other snacks were in the cupboard. Our hosts stocked the refrigerators with sodas, water, milk, juice, and even cream cheese for our muffins. The interior decor of each apartment is unique and ranges from exquisite museum-grade antiques and rescued local memorabilia, to zany mid-Americana kitsch. Their labor of love places an obvious decorating emphasis on their guests' comfort, enjoyment, and even amusement. Our 2nd floor apartment was huge. The first and third floor apartments were of similar size or even larger. To top things off, Csaba and David welcome their guests to make use of the home's beautifully landscaped and lighted backyard garden, with fountains, a cabana, and an in-ground swimming pool. While my wife and I have probably experienced at least 1000 hotel nights world-wide, our stay at the River House was by far our most enjoyable.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MickeyD2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
Royal Sonesta New Orleans
#29 of 166 in New Orleans
4,318 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#8 of 166 in New Orleans
7,627 reviews
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#20 of 166 in New Orleans
4,874 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#9 of 166 in New Orleans
6,276 reviews
Central Business District
New Orleans Marriott
New Orleans Marriott
#74 of 166 in New Orleans
3,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River House

Address: 625 Marigny St, New Orleans, LA 70117-8521
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 142 B&Bs / Inns in New Orleans
Price Range: £132 - £299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you’re a couple looking for a private getaway or a family looking to spread out in your own fully equipped three-floor residence, this luxurious antebellum mansion is designed to delight your senses and meet your every need. Located on an historic, tree-lined street just three blocks from the French Quarter, River House offers luxury accommodations on par with those found in fine hotels, but in the practical and more personal setting of an ideally situated independent residence.Tastefully designed with high quality furnishings and fine antiques, each one of River House’s three floors comprises a private, generously appointed vacation accommodation in its own right, while also offering the flexibility of being combined with one or both of the other floors for larger groups and extended stays. Completing the picture are a 500-square-foot westward-facing balcony, with original cast iron and spectacular cityscape views, and lush gardens surrounding the entire “compound” with swimming pool. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing