We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and Very Convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Indigo New Orleans Garden District
Ranked #82 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Niceville, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Friendly and Very Convenient”
Reviewed 5 July 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel as part of a special package that included welcome drinks, a breakfast (for one of our two days), a food & drink voucher, and free parking for our stay.

The decor was trendy modern, the staff was friendly, and the room and bathroom were spacious and clean. Although this hotel is pet friendly and others reported seeing a lot of pets there, we did not encounter any.

The streetcar stop was directly in front of the hotel, and it ran 24 hours/day. It was very convenient. The streetcar operators were actually very helpful--obviously used to tourists who where clueless as to procedures and how to get to their destinations, very unlike the gruff demeanors exhibited by bus drivers in many large cities.

There is no pool at this hotel, but we had no plans to swim anyway. There is a small business center with internet connected computers, and there is included wifi in the guest rooms.

All-in-all, this was a perfect place--away from the noise and crowds of the French Quarter, but it is easy to get there. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twballard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    252
    180
    58
    19
    19
See reviews for
137
193
24
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Helpful friendly staff who were attentive to needs and made our stay with small children comfortable Its location on the streetcar and near to good restaurants and the zoo made our stay relaxing. The dining room was convenient for visiting with family and dinner was delish!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beachwood, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Really enjoyed our stay at the Indigo! I’ve wanted to check out this hotel – I see them opening in many cities. The concept is very well developed – very thoughtful details. Especially at this price point.

The lobby is attractive and very functional. The furnishings are somewhere between retro and art deco – but most of all… very fun and extremely functional!

This hotel has many very cozy seating areas – in and near the lobby. Small to large groups will enjoy gathering in the bar/restaurant area and/or sitting outside watching the streetcars go by.

We traveled back and forth between the hotel and Tulane several times a day – and found it to be more convenient than staying in the Quarter. I really enjoyed the relative quiet that the Garden District offers – along with the broad choice of restaurants within walking distance or a short streetcar ride. There is a nearby coffee house – called Still Perkin – that is worth the walk and you may want to tour the cemetery just across the street from the coffee house.

The room was extremely clean (the hotel opened in January 2013) and the bed was very comfortable. The sliding door for the bathroom is a chic look and makes the large bathroom feel even bigger – by eliminating the door swing space.

My 1 and only negative comment for management is this: you need MORE staff in the breakfast area! The food was very good and not overpriced. However, the dirty dishes sat on tables and kept people from being seated… so they went elsewhere.

I had NO PROBLEM finding on-street parking each of our 3 nights. The valet appeared to be attentive and was certainly friendly -- we simply did not need them but it was nice to know they were there.

On our 3rd night -- our daughter decided to bunk in with us. Staff very quickly rolled in a rollaway bed that was very decent and comfortable. Well worth the $10 per night charge.

We will definitely stay at Indigo again – we really enjoyed the place… it has a very good feel to it!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank silvertravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North America
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

I got this hotel with an online discount so wasn't sure what to expect. The hotel was very nice! Large room, comfortable bed, in room coffee, hair dryer and great large shower. Staff friendly and helpful (say hello to Zulu the fighting fish on the front desk).

Only drawback was the $22 for parking (valet only-no self parking). Otherwise great location and room!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WanderWoman0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

We like Hotel Indigos--nice design and always good quality. This one was in a great location...right across the street from the streetcar and within walking distance of some good restaurants, Magazine St, etc. The beds were great, the bathroom was huge. I wasn't impressed with the cleaning (crumbs and hair remained on our floor throughout--no vacumming done apparently) and the elevator smelled horrible (sweaty people?) Also, although there was instant coffee in the room, the restaurant didn't open to get a proper coffee til 7 which was a drag.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cxg2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Indigo for 3 nights from 13-15 June. This was the first leg of my trip to the US as I met up with my husband who is working in the gulf. We got there late on Thursday night and I was pleasantly surprised when we got to our room to find it not only spacious, modern, in good condition and clean but my request to be on a high floor away for elevators were met and exceeded. The staff are smiling constantly and couldn't be more helpful. I thought this hotel was excellent value for money.
We wanted somewhere away from the noise and hustle of Bourbon street and this hotel although a little way out is perfect- the trolley bus stops bang outside and its really cheap to get into the centre of things. The Garden district is safe and there are plenty of nearby eateries and shops. I'm so glad we didn't stay anywhere else. Keep doing what you are doing Hotel Indigo- you are a great find! thanks

Room Tip: tell the hotel what you are looking for - im sure theyre happy to oblige if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happytravelsfromuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arkansas
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

This hotel is in the Garden District, close to everything. The trolley stops directly in front, parking is $20 per day (valet, no self parking). The rooms were very spacious. Very comfy bed and nice linens. The bathroom was large with a great walk in shower. Friendly, helpful staff and weekend bartender was superb. You have to try the spiced rum mint julep at the bar. The most incredible drink ever!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MVHArkansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
The Pontchartrain Hotel
#5 of 163 in New Orleans
318 reviews
Clarion Grand Boutique Hotel
#101 of 163 in New Orleans
238 reviews
Garden District
Best Western Plus St. Charles Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Avenue Plaza Resort
#61 of 163 in New Orleans
719 reviews
Garden District
Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District
Garden District
Henry Howard Hotel
Henry Howard Hotel
#2 of 163 in New Orleans
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo New Orleans Garden District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo New Orleans Garden District

Property: Hotel Indigo New Orleans Garden District
Address: 2203 Saint Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70130-5821
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 163 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo New Orleans Garden District 3.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Indigo New Orleans Garden District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing