We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for those who want to know everything about their neighbors”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Indigo New Orleans Garden District
Ranked #79 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect for those who want to know everything about their neighbors”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Overnight stay in New Orleans on a drive with the family from Florida to Texas. Wanted an option away from the party scene, so decided to check out Hotel Indigo in the Garden District based on tripadvisor reviews. The drive through the neighborhood leading to the hotel had us a little concerned about its location, but once we turned onto St. Charles things looked better. Valet service was excellent, and car was parked in a secure lot. Check-in was a little awkward; the girl at the counter seemed hesitant about our room, and had to check with another employee before telling us we would be in an "accessible" room with two queens. Husband asked if there wasn't a non-accessible option, and they assured us the room would be the same as a regular room with two queens, but was "accessible for hearing impaired guests" (how did they know my kids & I often tell my husband he needs a hearing aid?). Elevators are tiny & had an unusual odor, as reported in other reviews. Room was a nice size & well-appointed. Bathroom was very nice with a huge shower, a long vanity & a toilet separated by an opaque glass partition. The lighted mirror over the sink was nice, but a mirror that extends the full length of the vanity would have made the space much more useable, as well as an electrical outlet at the other end of the vanity. As it is, you must stand in front of the sink to apply makeup or use a hair dryer. Had to wash off something sticky along the length of the front side of the vanity. Yuck.

Husband went down to the lobby & when he returned decided to check out the doorbell to our hearing impaired room. I was drying my hair and about jumped out of my skin at what sounded like the buzz/screech of a hotel fire alarm. Nice touch. And right there in the hallway where anyone walking by could press the button.

We were able to catch the streetcar right in front of the hotel to go to the French Quarter for dinner. After a long day of driving, we were back at the hotel & in bed by 10pm. At 12:45am we were awakened by what we thought was a loud group in the hallway; so loud, in fact, it was almost as if they were in our bathroom. Husband called the front desk & we discovered the loud group was not in the hall but in the room adjoining ours. With our lights out, we could see there is about a one-inch gap under the doors between the rooms. What the heck? If I'd wanted to put my face on the floor I guess I could have probably seen into their room. So much for privacy. At least there wasn't anything else going on in the room next door. Security brought a rolled-up towel to cover the gap, and asked the neighbors to keep their voices down, which they were kind enough to do.

Check-out was quick & easy, and the valet had our car waiting for us. Did not try food at the hotel, so cannot comment on that. Overall a nice place, but would definitely recommend a room that does not have a connecting room, if that's an option.

Room Tip: Gap under connecting room doors offers no privacy from strangers in adjoining room.
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenni_in_Dallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catie M, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo New Orleans Garden District, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay here at the Hotel Indigo New Orleans Garden District. We are glad that overall you enjoyed your stay here with us. We are apologize that you experienced some issues while you were here and we greatly appreciate your feedback about the connecting room doors and this is definitely an issue that we will be looking into and resolving. Hopefully you will be able to stay here with us again and we will be able to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    178
    58
    19
    17
See reviews for
130
191
24
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ballground, Georgia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We have stayed at other Hotel Indigos around the US and this one rates at the top! The staff could not be nicer! Everyone from reception, valet parking guys, breakfast staff, bar staff. Very clean rooms, super comfy king bed, nice toiletries, beautifully decorated. The most appreciated part of this hotel is that it has carpeted hallways which significantly buffers the nighttime noise from other guests in the halls. Not a lot of beers on tap, but pretty much everything else I the liquor department. Breakfast came with our stay and it was good. The Trolley stop is right out the door.

Room Tip: Ice machines are on the even numbered floors and are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank life-trippin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catie M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo New Orleans Garden District, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay here at the Hotel Indigo New Orleans Garden District. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed many elements of our hotel and particularly like to hear that our staff make your stay better. We hope that you will be able to stay with us again on your future visits to New Orleans and that we can continue to provide you with the excellent service that we strive for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We got this room through Priceline, so I'm not sure if that accounts for the super lackluster service we got at this hotel. First of all, the rooms are very nice--spacious, well-appointed, enormous spa bathroom, wood floors, really nicely done. There were a few shoddy parts--the toilet paper holder was loose and coming out of the wall and, on our last day, a random screw came out of the sliding door to the bathroom. But generally, really nice room.

The location is fine; it's right on St Charles Ave, so convenient to the streetcar and (if you have a car) most parts of the city in 10 minutes or so. It borders very fancy Garden District neighborhoods and much less fancy ones. The restaurants in the area are fine, but in five minutes you can have fine dining.

The real downfall for us was the level of service. (And we are veteran travelers to New Orleans, very used to the relaxed service vibe throughout the city.) The room wasn't made up for the first two days we stayed there. The first day, I was told the "do not disturb" sign was on the door (it was, until about 9:30, when I left for the whole day); the second day we were told the cleaning staff started "on the top floor" and hadn't gotten to our room on the 2d floor by the time we got back (around 4pm). It was very difficult to get items sent up to our room (for instance, a fresh water glass when the room wasn't made up--I had to go to the bar downstairs and wait while they cleaned a glass for me). We asked for a wake-up call on our last day, which never arrived. (Luckily, we set a few alarms.)

I could catalog a few other service lapses--minor things throughout our stay but that added up to just a lack of care that tipped the scales enough that we probably won't stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drewjake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catie M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo New Orleans Garden District, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Thank your for taking the time to review your stay here at the Hotel Indigo New Orleans Garden District. We are sorry to hear that you experienced service issues here during your stay and this is certainly not the standard of service that we hold ourselves to. If you would like to discuss any of the issues that experienced further please feel free to reach out to my at catie.mustacato@interstatehotels.com. We hope that you will choose to stay with us again in the future so that we can make this experience up to you and exceed your expectations as we strive to do with every guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We stayed here for a one night stay with limited time to explore New Orleans. We like newer hotels, but still wanted to feel the New Orleans flare. Hotel Indigo is located in the Garden District, just minutes away from the French Quarter and Bourbon Street. We were pleasantly surprised by the contemporary feel of the hotel within a city of deep rooted history. Staff was wonderful directing us, trolley picks you up in front of the hotel and takes you right to Canal & Bourbon. Room was clean, mattress comfortable, no smoke scent anywhere. There is no pool, but wouldn't have time to use it anyway. Bathroom floor got wet from shower, when we wiped it, was dirty. We informed the front desk upon check-out. Despite the floor, I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cal1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catie M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo New Orleans Garden District, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Thank you for staying here with us at the Hotel Indigo New Orleans Garden District. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff was able to help you navigate the area and make your travels better. We hope that we will be able to provide you with another great experience on your next trip to New Orleans and we want to thank you for taking the time to review your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jackson, nj
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

I spend a lot of time in New Orleans visiting my daughter at Tulane University. This was my first stay at Hotel Indigo and was very pleasantly surprised. The room was comfortable and the bathroom was huge. All the staff was pleasant and helpful. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lucys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
130 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We live in New Orleans and stayed here for 2 nights when work on our house required us to stay away. The room was spacious and the bathroom huge. I thought it was quiet, but the hotel was not full. Great location right on St. Charles. You can walk to restaurants or catch the streetcar to head to the French Quarter. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank friendofmitzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catie M, Front Office Manager at Hotel Indigo New Orleans Garden District, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your hotel stay here with us at the Hotel Indigo New Orleans Garden District. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us and always love when our local guests are able to come by an enjoy a getaway. We hope that you will continue to keep us in mind for any future hotel needs that you might have in the city or even just to come by and grab a drink in Babin's Bar and Bistro.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta GA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Have often stayed in NOLA but this was a first for the Hotel Indigo. We have family in the city and the location was perfect for us. The staff was absolutely terrific. Loved the decor but actually the best part of our 3 night stay was the warm ambiance of the hotel itself. Someone mentioned that the parking was expensive but really it was a deal, as parking in NOLA is at a premium and many other hotels charge more. Plus all the parking valets were great guys. Also the restaurant on site was a great place to have a quick bite, wish it was open for lunch. We will certainly stay there again when we return..

Room Tip: Higher is better as there is constant traffic on St. Charles,
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank speedhist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
The Pontchartrain Hotel
#6 of 162 in New Orleans
299 reviews
Clarion Grand Boutique Hotel
#101 of 162 in New Orleans
236 reviews
Garden District
Best Western Plus St. Charles Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Avenue Plaza Resort
#63 of 162 in New Orleans
713 reviews
Garden District
Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District
Garden District
Henry Howard Hotel
Henry Howard Hotel
#3 of 162 in New Orleans
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo New Orleans Garden District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo New Orleans Garden District

Property: Hotel Indigo New Orleans Garden District
Address: 2203 Saint Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70130-5821
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo New Orleans Garden District 3.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, IHG, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Indigo New Orleans Garden District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing