We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Location and Friendly Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Indigo New Orleans Garden District
Ranked #81 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
NJ
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice Location and Friendly Staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Upon arriving I was greeted by a very friendly staff. The hotel is a very nice boutique hotel that has a warm and welcoming touch. I wasn't sold on the hard wood floors in the room but they made for a nice touch. It looks like pets are allowed for all of you pet lovers. They even provide treats. THe room was spacious and I had a great view. The bar was nice and the folks there were friendly. I didn't like my breakfast. It seemed like the kitchen was a little sloppy with the presentation. My food was also burnt. That's never good to me. The neighborhood was awesome with nice restaurants, calm and safe neighborhood. You can jump on the trolly right outside of the hotel and head straight to the French Quarters. For all of you toiletries lovers... they have Aveda products in the rooms... love it! Well I hope you can stop in and enjoy this hotel and their wonderful staff. Oh the beds are to die for!!! :)

P.S. i wish they had a pool :(

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TAVMO2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    173
    58
    19
    17
See reviews for
129
186
23
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

I am picky. I like clean, contemporary hotels with artistic flare. I like comfort. I like friendly, helpful service. Hotel Indigo New Orleans satisfies all of these needs. I had stayed at Loews and Staybridge Suites prior to Indigo, and this was by far the best of the three. The closest comparison I can make to this hotel would be to the W Miami Beach--but without the pretension and ridiculous prices (okay, the beach was missing, too)! It was cool, calm and collected, and I would stay here again and again. The streetcar runs right out the front door, so access to anything is simple. I also had the best fried shrimp po boy in the store adjacent to the hotel, thanks to the recommendation of the front desk.

Room Tip: Higher floors will offer a better view of the Garden District.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank irispiral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

I can't write a rave enough review for Hotel Indigo in New Orleans. Its Garden District location is ideal, the street car stops directly in front of the hotel (just make sure you go the right direction!) and there are so many great neighborhood restaurants and bars that make you feel like you live there, not a tourist. Now about the hotel itself, beautiful describes it well. The lobby, the room, the attitude and service received by the front desk and the entire staff, the value. It's expensive, but not compared with most other hotels in the area (some of which are not nearly as nice). To expand on the beautiful room for a moment, it was very clean, very stylish, the bed and pillows were extremely comfortable, the city view was amazing (make sure you ask for the best view possible) and the shower makes you never want to leave. I would absolutely stay here again. Thank you for a great stay!!!

Room Tip: Ask for the best view possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

I rate this hotel with the highest regards. Front desk agent, Nicholette, was amazing: helpful, friendly and caring. Attendant, Chad was amazing: informative, friendly and very welcoming. The overall experience was that of an upscale intimate hotel also offering clean hotel rooms with the most charming decorations and design. This will forever be our first choice for hotel stay in the New Orleans Garden District.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vfitz86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heathrow, Florida
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

We visited the Hotel Indigo for a birthday celebration weekend. I think we had 7 rooms total at this hotel, and other guest scattered throughout the city. We got a 3 day street car pass ($12) and rode the St. Charles street car to the French quarter each day. The hotel was beautiful, very clean and quiet. There is a Walgreens and another market very close, also nice restaurants. This location was perfect for us. Thank you for a great stay!

Room Tip: Great location. Take the street car to the French Quarter and restaurants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lajane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catie M, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo New Orleans Garden District, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us at the Hotel Indigo New Orleans Garden District. We are glad to hear that you and your group enjoyed the hotel and the City. It is great that you were able to purchase the multi-day streetcar pass to explore the area throughout your whole stay. Thank you again and we hope to see you on your next visit to New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, AL
Level Contributor
111 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

Although this property is away from the hustle, bustle and noise of the French Quarter, it is but a short trolley car ride away. My wife and I stayed here recently, as opposed to staying in the "Quarter" ,as we have in the past. The Hotel Indigo was a pleasant surprise! The rooms were spacious, clean, well appointed and very comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful. The cost was much less expensive than like accommodations on Canal Street or in the French Quarter. The hotel offered valet parking at a nominal fee, so we chose that and used the trolley and cabs to get to restaurants and other sights. The trolley runs right in front of the hotel and costs $1.25 per passenger. It takes you to the corner of Canal and Bourbon Streets in about 10 minutes. We chose cabs to bring us back at a cost of about $10.00. There is a bar and restaurant in the hotel, although we did not take advantage of either. There is a very good breakfast place 2 blocks away called the "Trollet Stop"---good food, reasonable prices.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pilotpaul70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catie M, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo New Orleans Garden District, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Hotel Indigo New Orleans Garden District. We love to hear about the experiences of our guests and it seems that you made good use of our location to explore the city and our neighborhood. Thank you again for your kind words about our hotel and we hope to see you again on your next visit to New Orleans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

This hotel is a good walk away from downtown, but with a trolley pass, you are in the heart of New Orleans in a wink! This hotel is luxury... without the luxury price. The rooms are huge, the bathroom is even bigger... a perfect home base after exploring the city. The rooms are spotless, the staff is helpful... it was a perfect romantic getaway! Definitely will come back!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank n4bsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catie M, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Indigo New Orleans Garden District, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay here at the Hotel Indigo New Orleans Garden District. We are glad that you enjoyed our large rooms and spa-like bathrooms. We hope to see you again on your next visit to the City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Clarion Grand Boutique Hotel
#103 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
The Pontchartrain Hotel
#10 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Avenue Plaza Resort
#66 of 161 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Garden District
Best Western Plus St. Charles Inn
Garden District
Hampton Inn New Orleans - St Charles Ave / Garden District
Garden District
Henry Howard Hotel
Henry Howard Hotel
#2 of 161 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo New Orleans Garden District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo New Orleans Garden District

Property: Hotel Indigo New Orleans Garden District
Address: 2203 Saint Charles Ave, New Orleans, LA 70130-5821
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo New Orleans Garden District 3.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, IHG, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Indigo New Orleans Garden District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing