We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“beautiful place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Maison de Ville
Ranked #101 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Webster, Texas
1 review
“beautiful place”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

wonderful service, a beautiful courtyard, fabulous location (close to everything you wish). We stayed over the weekend in July and I didnt realise how close we were to all the fabulous places around. the rooms were well kept and the staff was excellent providing tips to best times to visit as well as the places around. I would definitely recommend this hotel and will be back sooner than I expected.

Room Tip: noise from bourbon street might bother some but dont stay in french quarter if you are worried about...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neelesh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    16
    3
    6
    1
See reviews for
14
70
3
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This is not only a gorgeous property but the location is really ideal for a proper New Orleans experience. Step off the busy streets of the French Quarter (less than a block away from Bourbon Street) into a beautifully decorated nostalgic hotel, complete with a peaceful courtyard. The staff was so friendly and welcoming and the suite was very clean. It truly provided a very romantic atmosphere, and we would highly recommend!
We will definitely stay at the Hotel Maison de Ville again soon!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas TX
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We enjoyed the time at the hotel. The staff was personable and helpful. The rooms were well appointed. Be prepared for the high bed where you need a footstool to climb in. The noise from Bourbon Street was a little distracting at night but added to the atmosphere. Location was very convenient to the attractions of the French Quarter.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmbkDallasTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Paso, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Perfect location!!! Right off Bourbon street so you can sleep if you choose. Right behind is a beautiful restaurant named The Court Of Two Sisters, the brunch is a must.

From the formal entry to the beautiful patio this is the only place to stay in N.O.
Beautiful antique furniture, privacy, the perfect honeymoon spot, or just a romantic getaway .
I've stayed in many hotels in N.O. and will never stay anywhere else!

Room Tip: upstairs, overlooking the fountain patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Paso, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Absolutely a wonderful place to stay!! My new favorite place while visiting New Orleans. Very cozy and clean. The court yard is amazing and peaceful. Couldn’t get a better location to all the activities that the French Quarters has to offer.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I had the wonderful experience of staying in the Tennessee Williams suite. The updates to the room give you the feel of authentic New Orleans. It has great charm and character! You are right in the middle of everything going on in the French Quarter and at night the rooms and the courtyard are quite. The private courtyard is great to relax in and it takes you back in time. The staff was wonderful and very helpful. You have to love the hotel mascot cat Trina. I highly recommend this place to anyone. I will defintely be returning!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We stayed here for a friend's wedding and booked a few of the rooms. The staff here was absolutely lovely and helpful, including the resident cat Katrina! We had a wonderful experience here and would highly recommend it. Very charming hotel in the perfect location.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Azy03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#4 of 161 in New Orleans
4,002 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#7 of 161 in New Orleans
2,958 reviews
French Quarter
Four Points By Sheraton French Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#11 of 161 in New Orleans
4,302 reviews
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#38 of 161 in New Orleans
2,206 reviews
French Quarter
W New Orleans - French Quarter
W New Orleans - French Quarter
#71 of 161 in New Orleans
906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maison de Ville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maison de Ville

Property: Hotel Maison de Ville
Address: 727 Toulouse St, New Orleans, LA 70130-2127
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Maison de Ville 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Maison de Ville, whose name in French means “Town House”, was just that. A two- storied dwelling rebuilt by Jean Baptista Lilie Sarpy around 1800 after the second disastrous fire.Across the picturesque courtyard with its cast-iron three-tiered fountain are two additional buildings. The historic former slave quarters are believed to have been constructed as early as 1762 and are one of the oldest structures in the State. Also off the courtyard is the old carriage house, now a charming two-story suite.An early resident of the home was Antoine Amede Peychaud, an apothecary who developed a concoction of bitters and brandy, known as the Sazerac. No doubt Peychaud’s circle of friends and patients widened as the popularity and fame of this first “cocktail” spread. In many Creole homes of the time the first floor was used for commercial purposes, as a store or office, but we know that Peychaud maintained his pharmacy on nearby Royal Street. Today, Peychaud’s bitters are still used to make the official cocktail of the State of Louisiana- the Sazerac.Before he purchased his own house in the French Quarter Tennessee Williams often stayed in room number 9, where he completed “A Streetcar Named Desire” and drank Sazeracs in the hotel courtyard. The room opens onto the patio, and much of Dick Cavett’s 1974 interview with Williams was filmed there, surrounded by the lush semi-tropical greenery and flowers the playwright enjoyed.Among the contemporary guests of note at the hotel: Elizabeth Taylor, Dan Akroyd, Robert Redford, Michael Jackson, Julia Roberts and many others.Hotel Maison de Ville is proud to be part of New Orleans’ historic past and present. Our buildings are over two and a half centuries old. Our endeavors of maintenance and upkeep are focused on keeping them in their original condition as much as ‘historically possible’. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Maison de Ville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing