We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Belle Esplanade
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
The Treme Hotel(New Orleans)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Empress Hotel(New Orleans)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Rathbone Mansions(New Orleans)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Lucky Inn Hotel(New Orleans)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel St. Pierre(New Orleans)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Inn on St Ann(New Orleans)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Inn on St. Peter(New Orleans)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (533)
Filter reviews
533 results
Traveller rating
523
10
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
523
10
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscity parkpelican suitecrawfish pieeach morningb bla france suiteles fleurslocal treatswonderful hostscare packageadopted citybed and breakfastbeautiful streetplace to stayfrench quartertreme neighborhoodother guests
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
386 - 391 of 533 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2014

My wife and I recently stayed for a short weekend getaway. La Belle proved to be a wonderful homebase for our adventures. Matthew and Melanie are gracious hosts, providing insightful tips and commentary for both sightseeing and gastronomical adventures. We basically did the touristy French Quarter by day (which La Belle is so close to, that its walking distance, yet just far enough away from the noise and ribaldry) and retreated at night to Esplanade Avenue for supper and nightcaps. We wished we had one or two more nights to explore the city, but it was only our 2nd time to New Orleans and the first one away from the kiddos.

The house is wonderfully painted and furnished with eclectic assortment of books and curios, which counterbalance how tastefully decorated and equipped the guest rooms are. Both mornings, I woke up early and drank a cup of coffee out on the balcony. As I sat and listened to the city waking up, i was reminded of childhood summer mornings back home in Rio Piedras, Puerto Rico. The sense of peace and tranquality of a bygone time.

Thank you Matthew and Melanie for a wonderful stay. Cant recommend it enough for couples!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew K, General Manager at La Belle Esplanade, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thanks. We're really glad you got to get away even for a few short days to stay with us. We're glad you enjoyed our street and the neighborhood. Like I told you, Santa Fe is always our back-up place for lunch or dinner---not just because it's close by but because it's good. We're looking forward to seeing you again. Cheers! -M&M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Can't say anything other reviews haven't said already but La Belle was one of the most fantastic places we've ever stayed. The owners were helpful, friendly, and provided us with great recommendations for food and entertainment. Breakfast was amazing and was one of the high points of the stay. The locations and accommodations were beautiful and we plan to stay at La Belle again soon!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew K, General Manager at La Belle Esplanade, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thanks. We're glad you found us. Even a short stay is better than none at all. Now that you've got a little New Orleans in you, we know you'll be back. We hope to see you when that day comes. A votre dante, -M&M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

My wife and I just returned from a three-night stay in New Orleans celebrating my 40th birthday. La Belle Esplanade was as much a part of our amazing trip as the food, music and sazeracs were. Matthew and Melanie were wonderful hosts. They immediately oriented us to the city, gave us great tips that always proved to enhance our experience (where to eat, hidden gems we wouldn't have known about, where to go and how to get there, etc.) Breakfast each morning was thoughtfully curated (yes, curated) and prepared. The house and room itself was elegant but comfortable and fun. And...though I wasn't sure from the map, it was totally convenient. A short walk from the Quarter and Frenchmen Street, but enough removed from the hub to allow you sleep quietly. It's the only place we'll stay in New Orleans from now on.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank wnathanson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew K, General Manager at La Belle Esplanade, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

It was a pleasure to wind down the busy season with you. I like the use of the word 'curated.' I'm going to use it because we do try to highlight a different aspect of the city every morning. Sometimes its a jumble of surprises, but so is New Orleans. Come back anytime. -M&M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Last week we were welcomed to the crescent city by innkeepers Matthew and Melanie. As a first-timer to the city, I was curious as to the seasoning of the city and definitely was not disappointed. To a very questioning individual, hearing the information from Matthew and Melanie was an experience in itself. Their passion for the city is evident in the overall communication via words and smiles, and the knowledge is shared with pride and gusto.
We were able to spend our time in the Pelican Suite, enjoying the furnishings and ammenities that were provided. The claw foot tub/shower was refreshing after a day spent walking in the neighborhood and enjoying the architecture and natural beauty of the area. The suite was very comfortable and quiet; the balcony over the back garden was lovely.

Melanie's breakfast buffet was the very, very best way to begin a day. Her menus were a variety to the senses and never disappointed. I learned to appeciate some new flavors for the tastebuds! Along with strengthening our bodies for the day, the fellowship of fellow travelers proved to be most interesting.

As innkeeprs, Matthew and Melanie have definitely fulfilled their calling. They have the ability to make each and everyone feel as though they are the most important guests. The warmth of the city was only outdone by the warmth of our new friends as La Belle Esplanade.

Room Tip: The Pelican Suite was quiet, it does have steps.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Glenda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew K, General Manager at La Belle Esplanade, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

You two can come back anytime you want to. Anytime. I just sent you a postcard, so I won't repeat what I wrote on it (it's private, after all). It was our privilege to satisfy your curiosity and share our city with you. Best wishes, -M&M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

My lovely wife and I stayed for just two nights for a short weekend getaway to New Orleans a few weeks ago. Our experience was nothing short of fantastic. From the moment we arrived Matthew and Melanie were incredibly friendly and welcoming. Our experience pretty much perfectly matches that of the other recent reviews - it's just an amazing place to stay with amazing hosts. Our room was the Saints suite, which has two large rooms, an antique canopy bed and a wonderful balcony with a cool vertically sliding window to get out to it. We spent most of our spare time out there watching life go by on the beautiful Esplanade avenue.

The place is in the Treme area, which is full of beautiful, very old homes. We spent quite a bit of time walking around the area checking them out. There's a cool older cemetery about 15 minutes up the street, and a little farther past that is City Park. There are some wonderful cafes and local restaurants that Matthew recommended, which were fantastic. We always felt safe, even walking around at night. The locals are super friendly, we ended up randomly talking with a few guys at the local supermarket who ended up showing us around the neighborhood and Bayou St Johns area, sharing some delicious Abitas with us.

As other folks have mentioned, breakfast is not your typical B&B fare, but the best of local breads, pastries, cheeses, fruits and other wonderful foods. One morning Melanie served us the best crab cakes I've ever had, the previous morning we enjoyed a variety of delicious, locally made sausage. There was a Vietnamese pastry that was one of the tastiest things I've ever had. The coffee with chicory had me going for a second and third cup - and I gave up coffee three years ago! We were really surprised and delighted each morning.

If you're looking to party all night in the French Quarter and stagger back to your room this is probably not the best place for you. If you're looking to experience the local culture, see some things off the beaten path and do the non-touristy things, but still be close to everything, you'll love it. The location is equal walking distance to the Quarter and some of the cool local places in the Treme area (Lil Dizzy's, Willie Mae's Scotch House). It takes about a half hour to walk to Bourboun street, and about that far to City Park. Really cool, scenic walks though, it's like walking through the historic South.

Our two days there were only enough to get a taste of the area but we'll definitely be back, and will be staying here again without question. La Belle Esplanade is first rate and has our highest recommendation!

Room Tip: Loved the balcony in the Saints suite.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kewsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew K, General Manager at La Belle Esplanade, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

That was too short a stay, but you really embedded yourself in the neighborhood and made the most of it. It's always nice to see people enjoying the view from the front balconies. Next time, stay a wee bit longer. I'm going to send you to Pal's Lounge, a real neighborhood bar. You'll fit right in. Cheers! -M&M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews