We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Priase the Lord!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of St. Augustine Church

St. Augustine Church
Ranked #59 of 339 things to do in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Tallahassee
Level Contributor
193 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 383 helpful votes
“Priase the Lord!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

The church is very nice from top to bottom it is a great Roman Catholic Church! I love this church because of what it stands for- a house of worship! You don't need to be catholic to enter just look around and see what a magnificent church this is!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank IAGMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    33
    9
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seremban, Malaysia
Level Contributor
183 reviews
142 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Although I didn't went in, from outside it looked majestic and very impressive. There was a wedding when i was there and the bride and groom were having a photo shoot outside the church. It was wonderful.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank AisyaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
168 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Not Open on a Weekday”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

I went to St Augustine Church on a Friday afternoon to see the architecture. Unfortunately, the door was locked, so I could not view the interior. I also didn't see the gardens that another reviewer praised. The exterior has rust stains and could use fresh paint.

It seems as though this is a church whose best feature is the mass itself.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank novacamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great music great sermon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

So welcoming. All kinds of people go there. They don't mind if you come late and leave early. No judgements. So authentic.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Nainainne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

The choir was amazing and the priest did not disappoint. The tourists were a little distracting and disrespectful but quite an amazing experience.

Helpful?
2 Thank Juan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed St. Augustine Church also viewed

 

Been to St. Augustine Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing