We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“An enriching experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Memorial Hall Confederate Civil War Museum

Memorial Hall Confederate Civil War Museum
Book In Advance
Top Rated
More Info
US$89.99*
and up
New Orleans Power Pass and Trade
Ranked #56 of 333 things to do in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“An enriching experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

As an ardent student of the Civil War I had been very much looking forward to visiting this museum and I was not disappointed. The displays are fascinating and the stories of Louisiana in the Civil War and individuals from this state are equally so.
A lot of effort has also been put into telling the story of the museum itself and the building itself. The staff are friendly and helpful and I felt I just had to buy from the gift shop just to give a liitle extra to this very worthy museum.

For anyone interested in the American Civil War this museum is a must.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank egonolsen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    117
    51
    13
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
116 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“well worth the visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

small museum but very well presented. the staff at the desk was very knowledgeable and answered all our questions. this is worth a good 2 hours to get a feel of the civil war.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank johntaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
361 reviews
185 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

a real gem and interesting shop, no photographs inside, although they did allow one general shot from the entrance door.

Most items have a known history and good to see Lee and Jackson together in the same place.

small charge $8 but worth it , watch the film at the back right, all in about an hour needed, its right next to WW2 museum

A piano which was played in a battle , seen it all !!!!

don't miss this if in nawlins and have a civil war interest.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank fozzie555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
195 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Interesting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

It was so interesting to see these old, amazing items. Looking at the uniforms, I was impressed by how small (thin) these men were. Looking even closer, I could see the hand stitching. Even some of the flags were made by handstitching ... someone painstakingly stitched on each star or each letter by hand!!! I will hem my pants by hand, but that's about it. For all these antiques to survive this long is a wonder and wonderful.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank KalihiKid65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
Level Contributor
209 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Small but interesting”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

A very small museum devoted to the Confederacy with various items from soldiers, Robert E Lee, Jefferson Davis, and so on. A short movie is also available for viewing. The building itself is of historic significance. Very close to the Ogden (right next door) and across from the National WW II museum.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank finegael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Memorial Hall Confederate Civil War Museum also viewed

 
New Orleans, LA
New Orleans, LA
 

Been to Memorial Hall Confederate Civil War Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing