We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK Museum”

Memorial Hall Confederate Civil War Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$89.99*
and up
New Orleans Power Pass
More Info
US$499.00*
and up
2 Nights in New Orleans: French Quarter Hotel, City Tour and Attraction Pass
Ranked #45 of 364 things to do in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
538 reviews
273 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“OK Museum”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Went here on May 8th and the admission was 8 bucks. It was an ok museum, but after going to the WWII Museum this museum just doesn't compare.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank jordansbulls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    214
    138
    60
    15
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“An enriching experience”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

As an ardent student of the Civil War I had been very much looking forward to visiting this museum and I was not disappointed. The displays are fascinating and the stories of Louisiana in the Civil War and individuals from this state are equally so.
A lot of effort has also been put into telling the story of the museum itself and the building itself. The staff are friendly and helpful and I felt I just had to buy from the gift shop just to give a liitle extra to this very worthy museum.

For anyone interested in the American Civil War this museum is a must.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank egonolsen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“well worth the visit”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

small museum but very well presented. the staff at the desk was very knowledgeable and answered all our questions. this is worth a good 2 hours to get a feel of the civil war.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank johntaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 6 Contributor
389 reviews
202 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

a real gem and interesting shop, no photographs inside, although they did allow one general shot from the entrance door.

Most items have a known history and good to see Lee and Jackson together in the same place.

small charge $8 but worth it , watch the film at the back right, all in about an hour needed, its right next to WW2 museum

A piano which was played in a battle , seen it all !!!!

don't miss this if in nawlins and have a civil war interest.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank fozzie555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henderson, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

It was so interesting to see these old, amazing items. Looking at the uniforms, I was impressed by how small (thin) these men were. Looking even closer, I could see the hand stitching. Even some of the flags were made by handstitching ... someone painstakingly stitched on each star or each letter by hand!!! I will hem my pants by hand, but that's about it. For all these antiques to survive this long is a wonder and wonderful.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank KalihiKid65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Memorial Hall Confederate Civil War Museum also viewed

 

Been to Memorial Hall Confederate Civil War Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing