We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kayak Swamp Tour with Transportation from New Orleans
28

Book in advance
from
£89.09
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Ways to Experience Canoe & Trail Adventures
from £89.09
More Info
Reviews (609)
Filter reviews
609 results
Traveller rating
595
13
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
595
13
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews flora and fauna his knowledge bayou birds louisiana guide wetlands
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
83 - 88 of 609 reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2019

We had a great time on our kayak trip with guides Kevin and Matt. Very relaxing paddle to Lake Pontchartrain, and we saw gators, birds and snakes on the way. The guides were very passionate and knowledgeable about wildlife, ecosystem- pretty much anything you'd want to know about. At the same time, they were very friendly and enthusiastic. Our group ranged from our family (kids 4 and 8) to older, retired folks. My 8 year old was able to paddle in a single kayak, which he loved. Kevin and Matt were very patient with our kids and happy to explain things! It's definitely a hike from NOLA; we rented a car, but there is a shuttle service. We ended up being out for 4 hours! Canoe & Trail was very flexible about rescheduling due to the unpredictable weather the week we were there. the guides also take great photos along the way and upload them to the cloud, so you don't have to rely on iphone photos. All in all, very chill and relaxing.

Date of experience: February 2019
2  Thank Dora C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Matt M, Guest Relations Manager at Canoe & Trail Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2019

Hi DCinDC,
We loved having your family out for a paddle with us! Getting kids out is what we pride ourselves on. Your son did amazing in the solo kayak. We hope he continues to explore the world around him! Thank you so much for taking some time out of your vacation to paddle with us and leave this awesome review! Hope to see you again one day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2019

We had a car so we drove to the put in location but another girl joined us who got a ride from C&TA from downtown New Orleans. The guides were good stewards of the place and they knew the ecosystems well. The twilight paddle was great because we saw lots of wildlife- two deer, a heron, bats (heard frogs) and we got to see the sunset over Lake Pontchartrain. Would definitely recommend this this trip.

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank Trip553491
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Matt M, Guest Relations Manager at Canoe & Trail Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2019

Thank you so much for taking some time to review your trip with us!! We are so glad you had a great sunset paddle, it is one of our favorites!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2019 via mobile

10 and 12 year olds can sometimes be hard to please, but we all loved our bayou tour yesterday with Kevin. It was a little chilly for New Orleans but we warmed up quickly once we got going. Kevin picked us up as promised and gave a great tour on the drive to the bayou, and was super knowledgeable about anything and everything. Snacks and water provided at the half way point on Lake Pontchartrain before the paddle back. We are certainly kayaking beginners and had no problem making it their and back. Great to get outdoors and learn so much about a wonderful and fragile environment.
Oh! And the surprise ice creams at the end! Awesome 😀

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank ShannonH582
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Matt M, Guest Relations Manager at Canoe & Trail Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2019

Hi Shannon,
We agree that kids are hard to please but we are glad they had a great time paddling with us! We love getting the chance to get young people in the outdoors. Thank you for this awesome review as well!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2019 via mobile

We loved Matt's guidance. Great time!! And thanks Byron for an informative van ride! Highly recommend this trip!

Date of experience: February 2019
1  Thank Jeff F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Matt M, Guest Relations Manager at Canoe & Trail Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2019

Hey Jeff,
Thank you for the kind words about us! We appreciate it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2019 via mobile

When I first booked no one else was signed up for the trip so they couldn’t have an outing for just one person but when the day came another couple booked and I was notified right away that the trip was on! I paid for the transportation to and from the launch which was a great deal saved me a lot in uber trips. They pick you up and the whole way there they tell you all this information. Only 3 of us were on this trip so it was a very private trip. We got to see some really cool things like 2 deer crossing the water right in front of us! Its such a beautiful trip and the twilight one is amazing because you get to experience such an amazing sunset once you get to the lake. Definitely happy that I got to switch it up and get away from the New Orleans party life for a relaxing trip in the bayou. Everyone I met was super friendly and had a lot of knowledge about Louisiana and nature. Would definitely do it again if I’m back in Louisiana!

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank Maggiemay411
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Matt M, Guest Relations Manager at Canoe & Trail Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2019

Maggie,

Thank you so much for being a good sport about going back and forth with the trip. We greatly appreciate the kind words about it! Also, thank you for this awesome review! We are so glad you had a great time kayaking with us! You are welcome to come back anytime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews