We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kayak Swamp Tour with Transportation from New Orleans
28

Book in advance
from
£90.00
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Ways to Experience Canoe & Trail Adventures
from £90.00
More Info
Reviews (609)
Filter reviews
609 results
Traveller rating
595
13
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
595
13
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews flora and fauna his knowledge bayou birds louisiana guide wetlands
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
81 - 86 of 609 reviews
Reviewed 11 March 2019

We took the taste of the bayou kayak tour today and it exceeded our expectations! Kevin and Matt, our guides, were personable, very knowledgeable, easy going, and fun. On the tour, we spotted alligators, various types of snakes, turtles, birds, and frogs. We also learned about the various plants and trees in the ecosystems we kayaked through. But it was the extra touches - great, professional (or at least they look professional) photos taken of the journey and provided to us for free afterward, plus the free ice cream on the way home...unexpected treats that made this great tour even that much better. Highly recommend and would definitely book again. This was a great way to spend my birthday!

Date of experience: March 2019
1  Thank J2085PFmaryc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Matt M, Guest Relations Manager at Canoe & Trail Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2019

WOW! Thank you so much Mary!! We are excited to hear you had a great paddle with Kevin and I. We are getting to the time of year where everything is coming out and we absolutely love it as well! We hope you had a great rest of your birthday!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2019 via mobile

We were lucky enough to be the only people on the bayou kayak tour and had a superb day with Matt as our guide. Kevin picked us up for our transfer from the French Quarter and both were clearly passionate and interesting people who could provide any and all information on the area and ecosystem. This was our last full day and made a pleasant change from the madness of Mardi Gras! Definitely one of the highlights of our 10 day visit and would have no hesitation in recommending to anyone. Thanks!!

Date of experience: March 2019
2  Thank davidhI7706EU
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Matt M, Guest Relations Manager at Canoe & Trail Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2019

David,
Thank you so much for taking some time to review your paddle with us. We are glad it was a nice change from the Mardi Gras hustle and bustle. It means the world to us that it was one of the highlights of your trip! Come back any time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2019

We had a great time on our kayak trip with guides Kevin and Matt. Very relaxing paddle to Lake Pontchartrain, and we saw gators, birds and snakes on the way. The guides were very passionate and knowledgeable about wildlife, ecosystem- pretty much anything you'd want to know about. At the same time, they were very friendly and enthusiastic. Our group ranged from our family (kids 4 and 8) to older, retired folks. My 8 year old was able to paddle in a single kayak, which he loved. Kevin and Matt were very patient with our kids and happy to explain things! It's definitely a hike from NOLA; we rented a car, but there is a shuttle service. We ended up being out for 4 hours! Canoe & Trail was very flexible about rescheduling due to the unpredictable weather the week we were there. the guides also take great photos along the way and upload them to the cloud, so you don't have to rely on iphone photos. All in all, very chill and relaxing.

Date of experience: February 2019
2  Thank Dora C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Matt M, Guest Relations Manager at Canoe & Trail Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2019

Hi DCinDC,
We loved having your family out for a paddle with us! Getting kids out is what we pride ourselves on. Your son did amazing in the solo kayak. We hope he continues to explore the world around him! Thank you so much for taking some time out of your vacation to paddle with us and leave this awesome review! Hope to see you again one day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2019

We had a car so we drove to the put in location but another girl joined us who got a ride from C&TA from downtown New Orleans. The guides were good stewards of the place and they knew the ecosystems well. The twilight paddle was great because we saw lots of wildlife- two deer, a heron, bats (heard frogs) and we got to see the sunset over Lake Pontchartrain. Would definitely recommend this this trip.

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank Trip553491
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Matt M, Guest Relations Manager at Canoe & Trail Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2019

Thank you so much for taking some time to review your trip with us!! We are so glad you had a great sunset paddle, it is one of our favorites!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2019 via mobile

10 and 12 year olds can sometimes be hard to please, but we all loved our bayou tour yesterday with Kevin. It was a little chilly for New Orleans but we warmed up quickly once we got going. Kevin picked us up as promised and gave a great tour on the drive to the bayou, and was super knowledgeable about anything and everything. Snacks and water provided at the half way point on Lake Pontchartrain before the paddle back. We are certainly kayaking beginners and had no problem making it their and back. Great to get outdoors and learn so much about a wonderful and fragile environment.
Oh! And the surprise ice creams at the end! Awesome 😀

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank ShannonH582
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Matt M, Guest Relations Manager at Canoe & Trail Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2019

Hi Shannon,
We agree that kids are hard to please but we are glad they had a great time paddling with us! We love getting the chance to get young people in the outdoors. Thank you for this awesome review as well!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews