We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kayak Swamp Tour with Transportation from New Orleans
28

Book in advance
from
£89.09
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Ways to Experience Canoe & Trail Adventures
from £89.09
More Info
Reviews (609)
Filter reviews
609 results
Traveller rating
595
13
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
595
13
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews flora and fauna his knowledge bayou birds louisiana guide wetlands
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
75 - 80 of 609 reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2019

We reserved the twilight paddle for a two-person canoe. Chad, our guide was communicating with us before the trip to make sure we were all set to rendezvous at the put in. The drive over from NOLA is very easy, and bonus you get to cross the causeway which is the longest bridge over water in the world. As far as the paddle goes, you travel through bayou, then swamp until arriving ultimately at Lake Pontchartrain. We nestled our boats into the reeds to watch the coming sunset. Chad handed out chips, or if you ordered one a po boy. You really should order the po boy. We got the shrimp and it was very good! The sunset was fabulous, and the full moon rising directly after was another key bonus! Along the way we sighted many birds, including a pair of nesting kestrel. We did sight a couple gators, and a few turtles. All in all, Chad was an excellent guide. He paced the trip very well, took time to explain our surroundings, and allowed plenty of time to take in the quiet sounds of this wonderful natural habitat! Definitely recommend!

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank Donald A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Matt M, Guest Relations Manager at Canoe & Trail Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2019

Donald,

This sounds like y'all had the perfect trip out with us! Watching a great sunset over the lake is always something to behold. We are so happy you had a great time paddling, come back anytime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2019

If you are interested in a true nature experience, this is the trip for you. These guys both know and love their stuff! The kayaking was easy, pleasant, leisurely and allowed us to appreciate the beauty of the area. Kevin and Matt were extremely knowledgeable and excited to show us the flora and fauna. The stop for ice cream on the way back was truly the icing on the cake! Just do it!,

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank lindabarrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Matt M, Guest Relations Manager at Canoe & Trail Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2019

linda,
Thank you so much for this awesome review! Since it is getting warmer, the ice cream stop is almost required. We are glad you had a great paddle with us! Come back anytime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2019

A relaxing, easy excursion into the bayou. Matt and Kevin were our guides and they were fantastic. They provided us with some education and storytelling while still offering a nice amount of time to just quietly paddle along in the water and enjoy the scenery. CTA really takes care of you, providing water proof cases for your phones and bottles of water. Highly recommended!

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank aubwachtel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Matt M, Guest Relations Manager at Canoe & Trail Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2019

aubwachtel,
WOW! Thank you for taking some time to tell us about your paddle! We are excited to hear that you had a great time with us! Thank you for recommending us to others, it means more than you may know.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2019

We did the Full Favor of the Bayou tour. We would HIGHLY recommend this tour and tour company. Our guides, Matt and Kevin were very knowledgeable and friendly. The tour was well organized and the equipment provided more than adequate.

Date of experience: February 2019
1  Thank Maureen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Matt M, Guest Relations Manager at Canoe & Trail Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2019

Maureen,
Thank you so much for this awesome review of your paddle with us!! We are glad you had a great time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2019

We took this trip with Kevin 2 years ago, and liked it so much we did it again this March!
We saw different creatures in different stages of their mating and nesting patterns, and saw a lot more snakes...rat snakes stealing duck eggs, and water snakes just hanging out in the grasses until Kevin plucked them out so we could see them better and pet (!) them! Both Kevin and Matt are so knowledgeable about the history of the bayou, and about the environmental stresses all along the Louisiana wetlands, it is a fascinating experience to have them as your guides! We saw gators and turtles and lizards and ospreys nesting, and butterflies and frogs...wow! Will we do it again....oh yeah! Do yourself a huge favor, and take this trip!

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank Carla R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Matt M, Guest Relations Manager at Canoe & Trail Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2019

Carla,

We are excited to have you out paddling with Kevin again! It is great that you had another great time out and glad it was different than the last time. Seeing wildlife makes the paddle that much better. Thank you again for the awesome review!! Reach out to us next time you come.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews