We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect mignon” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Irene's Cuisine

Irene's Cuisine
Ranked #22 of 1,920 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: French Quarter
1 review
“Perfect mignon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

I went with my wife to celebrate my birthday tired of too many fried cajun food, and all the food was excellent as well as the service. The oyster soup was superb and the mignon were cooked and seasoned to perfection. Medium for me and medium well for her. Desert was very good too.

Helpful?
Thank Ruben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,746 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,225
    329
    106
    53
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St Ives
Level Contributor
77 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Always good food and value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Our first night in New Orleans we always make for Irene's and whilst we normally have to wait 20 minutes to be seated we went straight to a table this time.

Nancy our server was very friendly and brought us our drinks whilst we pondered over the menu.

We chose oysters Irene and crabmeat gratin for appetisers and ordered crevette and chicken Rosemarino which turned out to be an excellent choice as they were all tasty and well cooked.

The food was great value for money and we would recommend this restaurant. You may not appreciate the old fashioned décor but you will appreciate the dining experience

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank terry2ts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
85 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great place, only the locals know!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

This place came highly recommended by the local people. The place is cozy and quaint and the service is great as well. I got the fish (Almondine?) and the prosciutto is really really good.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank hillary210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
50 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Italian With N'awlins Flair!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

I love Irene's. I love spicy food and Italian food is one of my favorites. The lines maybe a bit long sometimes, but the food at Irene's is incredible. I have been three times already in my travels to N.O.L.A. it is so worth it. Great steaks too! Very impressive, you gotta try it!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank travelcricket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans area
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Been hearing about this restaurant for years and tried to get in unsuccessfully BEFORE they started taking reservations. Finally was able to make it on a recent visit. We ordered the mussels as an appetizer. They were really cooked and seasoned well with lots of garlic. Wife ordered the lasagna and liked it but not outstandingly so. I tasted. It was OK. I got fish and it was just OK. Limited menu. I would normally think that cannelloni would be on the menu of an Italian restaurant Service was excellent. The dining area atmosphere is really cool with the exposed brick. Overall 3.5 out of 5.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gabbefu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Irene's Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Irene's Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing