We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful atmosphere but slightly fussy food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bayona

Bayona
Reserve with OpenTable
Bayona is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #77 of 1,920 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighbourhood: French Quarter
Cross street: St. Louis
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Wonderful atmosphere but slightly fussy food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Our anticipation was high for this restaurant, as the chef here is the sister or Tom Spicer, who anyone who loves food in Dallas knows. I was an anomaly in our group of four, but I greatly enjoyed the food I ordered. Albeit a bit fussy at times, it was fresh and tasty. The drinks (to me) were also equally good. My wife (and the wife of my friend) was, unfortunately, disappointed and expected more from the menu. The desserts were pretty amazing, though, which can redeem a disappointing meal for most anyone. Although I would likely not go back here, I am glad to have tried it and do not regret the evening. Given the choice, though, I would likely have stuck to a famous New Orleans restaurant staple for my dinner choice.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank WShort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    764
    238
    140
    68
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Parsippany, New Jersey
Level Contributor
78 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Don't take this place for granted”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

I have been eating at Bayona, a landmark French Quarter restaurant, for almost 20 years now. Every time I am in NOLA I eat there and for almost 20 years the food and service are excellent. The menu is limited but the dishes are prepared with care, and if you're lucky in terms of timing and weather, sitting in the courtyard is a must. I am surprised Bayona is not ranked higher for French Quarter restaurants and I suspect this is due to the fact that it has endured fads and hurricanes so is perhaps a bit taken for granted. Don't overlook a meal here in favor of some new trendy place down the street that probably won't even be there the next time you visit. Instead, support those establishments like Bayona that have been here for decades, and that will hopefully endure decades more, serving excellent dishes and clever cocktails all the while.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Corey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
49 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Delicious Food, Creative Compositions, Lovely Setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

Bayona was recommended by an old friend and it was a perfect place for my colleague and I to take a few of our clients. The food compositions are creative and delicious. I had the quail appetizer and the duck and mole main dish. Both were lovely. In fact some of the dishes seem very strange, but they are always perfect.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank valstn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Romantic Resteraunt - Should Be In The Top Three”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

Great restaurant for business, group, or romantic night out. This is fine dining at its best in New Orleans.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Firebird42892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
114 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Veggie-Friendly!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

Eating vegetarian in the Big Easy isn't all that easy - and knowing this from our 12+ years of visits, we spent a lot of time before this year's vacation, researching our options & luckily we found Bayona!

Jazz Fest dinner on the docket.....you *definitely* want to get rezzies ahead of time!

Since there was no "real" veggie entree on their menu, even before we could wonder, our waiter was nice enough to make a special trip over to review their entire menu & what they would be able to offer as entrees for us veggies ( we had let them know ahead of time about our restrictions )

Started out w/ drinkys - included the Stormy Morning w/ elderflower & violet liqueur & sparkling water. Mr had the Smoking Jacket & while we both liked the whiskey & blueberry & chocolate tones, we felt this would have been a perfect after dinner drink. The elderflower was much more of a refreshing starter drinky

Split a couple of appies - 1st was the Chilled Tomato & Beet Soup. Very pungent tomato but the beets totally held their own. A few bites into this soup we were loving it but after a few more, it started to taste like ketchup - you might want to split this soup to keep on the refreshing-side of things

2nd split was the Mushroom Crouton - all kinds of awesome. Piece of toast w baked goat cheese on it & served w marsala-marinated mushrooms

My entree was Lentil Salad w/ tomatoes & creamy goat cheese dressing. Nice vinegar taste & refreshing on such a warm night

Mr chose the Asparagus Risotto w/ Smokey Mushrooms, Zucchini, Yellow Squash. This is usually a side dish served w/ their steak option but they were kind enough to leave out the meat and we didn't have to pay the meaty price!

Creamy & lightly flavored w/ the asparagus, I found myself skeptical about the mushrooms.......they tasted to me like they had been cooked in a beefy sauce - but I will also admit that smoky flavorings always trigger my meaty-paranoia, so while this may have been a truly veggie dish, I had my doubts & did not ask to confirm

Best dessert wine EVER was the '09 Muscat Alicante Casta Diva. I am so totally tracking this down!!! Sweet, fruity & a huge honey base. This was heaven in a glass & went perfectly w/ the strawberry buttermilk cake w homemade pistachio semifreddo

Thanks Bayona for kicking off our New Orleans visit in the yummiest way!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wanderlust s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bayona also viewed

 

Been to Bayona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing