We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My least favorite in New Orleans”
Review of Mandina's

Mandina's
Ranked #69 of 1,945 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: After-hours, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Closed due to damage sustained in Hurricane Katrina.
St. James, New York, United States
Level Contributor
210 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“My least favorite in New Orleans”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

I never saw the word "FRIED" so much on virtually any other menu in the country. I'm surprised the salads weren't fried. This was a favorite place of our friends so we went with them and their recommendation. Never again. I was able to get a piece of grilled fish, which was dry and overcooked. The peas and green beans were from a can. The wait was too long as well.
I have no idea why people come here.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HarlanJF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    361
    238
    72
    24
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Biloxi
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“old school new orleans”
Reviewed 27 July 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Best kept secret from tourists although not intentionally but few guests to the city venture up Canal to sample the food at this New Orleans landmark!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paris
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Loved it”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Red Beans and rice is on Monday. The traditional diner in NO on Monday night since years. Excellent also soft shell crab, is really fresh.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank world18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katy, Tx
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Go on a Monday!”
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Red beans and rice is a Monday thing in NOLA, and Mandina's red beans & rice with veal cutlet is the BEST! You'll feel like a local and everyone is very friendly. Consistent food and good price. Can't wait to go back!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tgwin720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaumont, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Loved it”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

My husband and I just happened upon this restaurant after watching the World Cup final at a nearby pub. The ambience of the place was not exactly something to remember but who cares when the food is good. The wait staff were friendly and knowledgeble of the items on the menu. I ordered the veal parmesan which was very good....the portion of veal was huge. My husband had the Creole Eggplant and it was also very good. Both entrees included a salad and bread pudding for dessert. The bread pudding was the best I have ever had. A great meal at an excellent price. My favorite meal in New Orleans during this visit. We will definitely be back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cbrowne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mandina's also viewed

 

Been to Mandina's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing