We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing classic Italian dishes”
Review of Eleven 79 - CLOSED

Eleven 79
Price range: US$0 - US$40
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Garden District
Description: Closed due to damage suffered in Hurricane Katrina.
jacksonville, fl
Level Contributor
159 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Amazing classic Italian dishes”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Great classic Italian dishes. Order the meatball as an appetizer for 3 or more people. I am not joking - one of the best meatballs I have ever had. The alfredo pasta with the peas and proscuitto is another must have. Yes, it is a dark wood, old neighborhood restaurant. But it has a great history and very good service.

You don't go here for nouvelle cuisine and the architecture. You go here for the great food, good service and history.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dixiesugar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    10
    3
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
91 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Best Italian food in New Orleans”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Eleven 79 has a great atmosphere. Wonderful bar, dark woods in a comfortable setting. Excellent calamari and shrimp scampi appetizers. Veal is the speciality for the main course with seven or eight preparations (be sure to ask about "off the menu" veal dishes). If you're not a fan of veal, there are other compelling choices. The wine list is pretty extensive and fairly priced. Lots of really good Italian reds. Unlike some of the high profile Italian restaurants in the Big Easy, you do not leave here with enough garlic in your system to ward off vampires for two months.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wirepaladin08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville
Level Contributor
50 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Red gravy”
Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

Dark and dated. Food is neighborhood Italian. One size fits all wine glasses. What Americans think Italians eat. Heavy red sauce, veal without subtlety. Service was very attentive however. Overall not worth the trip.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank polamalu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forked River, NJ
Level Contributor
155 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Excellent italian during a business lunch”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Went here for a biz lunch while in NOLA, and this restaurant really impressed. Great service, ambience, food. Everything was excellent. During the day, parking was easy around this place (a really nice plus), although the restaurant was full during lunch. We had a great time here, and great food. When I return to NOLA, I will likely put this on the rounds of places to visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SurfTravelGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
64 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Veal Perfetto!”
Reviewed 20 September 2013

I took my wife to Eleven 79 for her birthday and we both loved it. Very old school mafia feel to it. Our waitress gave us a little too much information about her personal life and even sat down to tell us about it. She was very good at her job though and made excellent wine/pasta suggestions. I had the veal marsalla and my wife had the Veal Piccata. Both were very delicious and filling...well I did have a little room left for some coffee and very tasty tiramisu. Great for a special occasion.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JDS23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Eleven 79 also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing