We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Italian with Opera”
Review of Cafe Giovanni

Cafe Giovanni
Ranked #350 of 1,947 Restaurants in New Orleans
Price range: US$41 - US$80
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Central Business District
Cross street: Canal St
Transit: Street Car – Canal St. and Decatur St.
montreal
Level Contributor
188 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Italian with Opera”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Nice bread basket. Hubby had a glass of Pino Grigio. I had a raspberry lemonade cocktail. Starters were fried green tomatoes and eggplant loci cero both very good. I had duck breast with shrimp; hubby had voodoo shrimp. Both dishes very good but mains arrived before appetizer dishes were finished and cleared away. Cook, waitress and manager acknowledged and apologized for mistake but did not compensate in any way. Neither of us had room for desert. After a week of Cajan/Creole food Italian (even NOLA style) was a nice change. Service was friendly but too fast. Two opera singers and a pianist were entertaining. Restaurant is pretty. If you go, tell them you're not in a hurry before you start.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mas1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    96
    57
    32
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Level Contributor
53 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Dining”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We eat at CG every time we visit NOLA. Yes, it is expensive but the quality is excellent and the portions are good. We like the Italian food with the New Orleans twist. I especially enjoy their meatballs, which are beautifully seasoned. We sat at a high top table in the Bella Baci Lounge, which has a elegant atmosphere. Chef Duke (great guy) was sitting at the bar and said hello to all of the customers as they entered. The entire wait staff takes his lead, and are friendly and professional. This is one of of our "go to" joints in New Orleans.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Readyright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville
Level Contributor
102 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Eh....”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

If you miss it you won't miss it, know what I mean? Average Italian, at best. I can't tell a difference between here and Macaroni Grill in quality of food. Service was good and it was quiet (slow night). With all the other options in NO, I just can't recommend this one.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelGirlNashville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Going back tonight.”
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Parking in NOLA is expensive. Right next to our hotel was Cafe Giovanni. Tripadvisor reviews sounded good, so we tried it. Five star all the way...ambience, service and food. With 1500+ restaurants in NOLA, we still decided to return tonight as there were so many things to try on the Menu!

Helpful?
Thank rachelatbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
90 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great Food and Opera too !”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We were in NO on the graduation weekend so all the resteraunts were busy and quite noisy. This place was a great find, the food was excellent and not over priced, drinks and wine were reasonable. A nice touch was two ladies singing light opera, they had to battle a noisy room but it added to an excellent atmosphere. Nice place thoroughly recommend it.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Giovanni also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Giovanni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing