We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious breakfast!”

Betsy's Pancake House
Ranked #345 of 1,946 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Mid-City
Description: Closed due to damage suffered in Hurricane Katrina.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
254 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Delicious breakfast!”
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Wanted a more local place for breakfast and found it here! They have tables and a counter, so we opted for the counter. The pancakes were light and fluffy and the original hash towns were really something. Everyone working the counter was extremely friendly and made sure we were well taken care of.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kseis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    24
    9
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pancakes with Personality”
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Was recommended by motel ... Great busy breakfast spot ... Betsy even had her infant grandson watching the cash register. Clientele was a mix of locals, tourists and included the New Orleans police. Food was great, generous and coffee mug was bottomless.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MaynyT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
163 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“My kind of place!”
Reviewed 12 March 2013

Went this morning - homey place for breakfast, going to try lunch there if possible. Only open till 2 pm. Down the street from my daughter's apt, so an easy walk. Had the pancakes with bacon - large cakes, light, good chewy bacon. Log Cabin syrup actually worked (real maple syrup is my favorite, but this is the south!). Service was fast, continual fill ups on the hot coffee, lots of staff happy chatter. Definitely a mix of local and tourist trade, with a parking lot and easy on street parking. Will go back tomorrow for eggs and grits!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Judith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
92 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Was a bad recommendation”
Reviewed 29 October 2012 via mobile

At least they provide parking.
No waiting area but no hostess to direct traffic. Our waitress kept forgetting our table. Coffee waz warm from the pot (not hot). Only thing "good" was the smoked sausage. Food was mediocre. I saw bugs crawling on the walls (hope that was just a random occurance - didn't look exactly like a roach but I was in the middle of the room so not sure). Pretty bold for one to show itself considering how full the place was.

Go to Mother's on Poydras - better pancakes.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank musicbecca2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aiken, South Carolina
Level Contributor
69 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect Location”
Reviewed 18 September 2012

I had the opportunity to dine at Betsy's Pancake House several times while working hurricane Isaac relief. Becky's is located about half a block from where I checked in to work every day but after my first meal there I would have driven several miles if I had to just to dine there again. Betsy's has nearby parking, a trolley stop only about 200 yards away, and the best breakfast in New Orleans! Only once did I have to wait in line for a table and that was the Saturday of the season opener for the Saints. It was crowded but Betsy made extra space and still managed to give very good service.

Betsy's does seem to focus mainly on breakfast but there is also a daily special menu for the lunchtime groups. Each meal is prepared to order, every meal I had over the course of my two week stay was grade A homestyle cooking. And as for the prices, they were so low that it seemed like Betsy was pricing herself out of business. If I ever get back to New Orleans you can bet I know where the first meal will be!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jerry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Betsy's Pancake House also viewed

 

Been to Betsy's Pancake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing