We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lived up to Expectations”

VooDoo BBQ & Grill - Uptown
Ranked #137 of 1,947 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$20
Cuisines: Barbecue, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Takeout
Description: Located right off the St. Charles streetcar line in the beautiful historic Garden District is the flagship location of VooDoo BBQ & Grill. Voted by locals as one of the top BBQ restaurants in Gambit's annual "Best Of..." issue and known for dishes such as their pulled pork, which is cooked for 14 hours over oak and pecan wood and served with two sides and a piece of garlic-buttered Texas toast, as well as the corn pudding, which is a cornbread souffle baked with whole sweet corn. VooDoo BBQ & Grill is the sound, the soul, the taste of BBQ, New Orleans-style. Brisket, pork, chicken, gumbo, salads and burgers all with the spice and magic of Louisiana.
Elk Grove, California
Level Contributor
157 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Lived up to Expectations”
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

We were staying at a hotel up the street and every time we'd drive by, I would say we need to try that place.

We did and we were not disappointed. The young lady working the counter was very helpful, as we were both looking at the menu with that " Holy mackerel" tourist expression, she took the time to give us the facts.

I ordered the ribs and my mate got the BBQ nachos. Both our choices were awesome and we cleaned our plastic plates, refilled our sodas and left satisfied and impressed.

Helpful?
Thank klpopp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    240
    166
    59
    20
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
101 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“BBQ!”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

The meat is always tender and juicy. The MOJO sauce is just right. The quality and quantity is a great value when compared to other places in town.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dominick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood, Colorado
Level Contributor
168 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great BBQ”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Great selection of different meats to choose from! Decent prices. Good portion size. Yummy local sauces. Close to trolley drop off on St Charles. Definitely would go back!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank CVandoloski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax
Level Contributor
124 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Tasty BBQ”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

This restaurant was right down the street from our hotel, so we ventured in one evening after a day of sightseeing. It's more of a fast food atmosphere where you order your food at the counter, but they do bring the food to your table. The staff are super friendly and very helpful. The restaurant is bigger than it looks with tables in the back. The BBQ is very good and you get four different sauces to choose from - sweet, spicy, vinegar and regular (I think that's correct). We also had the corn pudding which is good and the sweet potato casserole (had to get seconds of that). On a side note, the ladies bathroom stall is so tiny. It's the type where you hit your knees on the door. Use the larger handicapped one if it's available. Overall, we really enjoyed our meal and would recommend it!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FecFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Astoria, New York
Level Contributor
104 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“VooDoo Barbecue”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We came across the VooDoo BBQ and Grill while in our cab on our way to our hotel. The place definitely caught our attention, considering we were just got off our flight and we were ready for a decent meal. The neon BBQ sign may have influenced our decision as well.

After a checking in and a few blocks walk, we finally made it to VooDoo BBQ and Grill. The place was definitely inviting, at least for us, and the menu gave quite a few BBQ (chicken, ribs, brisket and pork) options in addition to burgers, salads, the New Orleans staple—po boy sandwiches. The server was friendly and served us quickly. It may just have something to do that there was no one else in the place but us. We ordered The Carnival, which included BBQ pork, chicken, sausage, turkey and brisket chopped and mixed with sauce, with some French Fries and Sweet Potato Souffle. The BBQ dish was just average, only because it seemed that the sauce gave all of the taste and we couldn’t really detect how good, taste-wise, the barbecue meats were. The fries were, at least, good accompaniment but the Sweet Potato Souffle was definitely better than what we expected. We also had a couple of glasses of the local beers to imbibe as we eat.

What we did not enjoy, and may just have taken out any or all of the good from our experience was all of the flies we had to swat while on our visit. It was just a bit much. The property extends towards the back where, I believe, there is a bar and extra seating. I also think that this extra space is opened to the outdoors, i.e. the fly issue. Additionally, my wife noticed that the glass which she had her beer wasn’t particularly clean. It had all the markings of being dishwashed, only it obviously didn’t get the wash it required.

The VooDoo BBQ and Grill was an overall average dining experience for us. The menu offerings were interesting but our dish somewhat disappointed. I am not sure we would even visit them again if we ever make our way back to New Orleans.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ronald R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed VooDoo BBQ & Grill - Uptown also viewed

 

Been to VooDoo BBQ & Grill - Uptown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing