We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Drinks!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Old Absinthe House

Old Absinthe House
Ranked #541 of 1,932 Restaurants in New Orleans
Cuisines: Pub, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television
Neighbourhood: French Quarter
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Drinks!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

Had some really good drinks here while we waited for our group together. Love the ambiance of the bar and enjoy the bar staff who is always ready to recommend a concoction just for you.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    50
    24
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good times always here”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

Saturday afternoon - packed during the Saints game. Friendly crowd, YUMMY bloody marys, and despite the grumpy appearance of the bartender she made several crazy Absinthe shots for our group and kept us happy. Though a "dive-y" interior, it is one of the oldest bars in The Quarter.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nicole L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
183 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Great One Time Experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

It was fun going here once to experience the now-legal Absinthe at the Old Absinthe House. However, be forwarned--a glass of quality Absinthe will set you back anywhere from $25-$35! Fortunately, at more than 135 proof, you won't want more than one. The place is not very big and it can be hard to get a seat at the actual bar. Service friendliness is hit or miss--some of the bartenders seem a little jaded and not very outgoing. Anyway, we had a decent time though I think this is not a place I'd make a bee-line to on our next trip to NOLA, unless we absolutely must have an absinthe served in the proper, time-honored fashion (sugar cube, spoon, flame, water--etc). Definitely good to enjoy that first absinthe though and then be able to say you were there.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BradBrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mobile
Level Contributor
88 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Bar for Drinks, Great Jukebox”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

We always stop here for either a spicy Bloody Mary or just cocktails. The place has been around with interesting history. The jukebox plays all my favorites and sit by the fireplace with friends. A favorite for us.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aspen, Colorado
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The worst bar in the city ”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

Shocking. The oldest bar in New Orleans (not lafitte's blacksmith shop), a city famous for its bars and they fail nightly. Hands down THE WORST bartenders I've ever seen. EVER. They are usually drunker than the patrons. It's a shame to let such a historic location get run into the ground by an incompetent staff.

Helpful?
Thank MrMidrare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Old Absinthe House also viewed

 

Been to Old Absinthe House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing