We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Milkshakes are bleh...”
Review of Milk Bar

Milk Bar
Ranked #875 of 1,954 Restaurants in New Orleans
Neighbourhood: Garden District
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Garden District
Eastern Shore, MD
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Milkshakes are bleh...”
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

I had high hopes because of the great reviews here and other sites. We only had milkshakes, so I cannot comment on anything else. We wanted to share a snack, but they serve no sides. Milkshakes were handmade, but with generic ice cream. My daughter's chocolate shake was so underwhelming she drank half and threw it away. I would have rated the Milk Bar three stars for having an average milkshake, but they weren't even that.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank EasternShoreTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    6
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Dream of their sandwiches. ”
Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

I have now been a regular customer and have tried almost all their delicious sandwiches on home made bread. The milk bar is a staple in my diet. Both locations are excellent. There is a lollipop with each sandwich to boot!!!! Favorite sandwich is yam I am.

Helpful?
Thank cbrkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, LA
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Best and Most Unique Sandwiches in New Orleans”
Reviewed 26 February 2014

The Milk Bar in New Orleans offers great sandwiches, salads, and milkshakes. Located across from Touro Infirmary, the Milk Bar offers friendly service to those needing a quick lunch. They offer a small dining area with only about seven tables and a counter that seats six. The pink walls are decorated with various cow cartoons, drawings, and coffee posters. OK, the sandwiches - pick one, you will love it. My favorite is the Thai Chili Chicken, it is hands down the absolute best sandwich I have ever had. Full of thick chicken breast stuffed in a po-boy roll, the sweet and spicy chili sauce is soothed by the sour cream. The Christmas in July (turkey, cranberries, spinach, and brie) and The Clooney (chicken, avocado, and cilantro) are my second two favorites. The Maple Pecan & Feta Salad has the best citrus balsamic dressing. Everything there (and yes, I've tried ALL the sandwiches) will go great with the milkshakes. Real, honest to goodness milkshakes. Just pick one, any flavor - it will be the best and smoothest shakes you have ever experienced. Step up to the window, tell the friendly folks what you want, then sit back and enjoy. They also offer coffee and espresso drinks, bagels, and muffins.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Honeebee2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Garden District Find”
Reviewed 19 January 2014

This was the only restaurant I drove to my entire stay, and it was worth it. Hidden in the Garden District Milk Bar reminded me of places from home. They played nothing but great tunes, and the sandwiche portions were quite generous. Don't forget to try their milkshakes, best thing to top on your lunch/dinner.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca-Lynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Love their sandwiches!”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Great sandwiches, great service, really nice place! Love it for breakfast/lunch/and brunch, highly recommended.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amira P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Milk Bar also viewed

 
New Orleans, LA
 

Been to Milk Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing