We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Odd hour, warm service, so-so food.”
Review of Cafe Roma

Cafe Roma
Ranked #1,187 of 1,954 Restaurants in New Orleans
Price range: US$0 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Italian, Pizza
Neighbourhood: Garden District
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Garden District
New Orleans
Level 6 Contributor
357 reviews
286 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Odd hour, warm service, so-so food.”
Reviewed 19 November 2012

We were headed for the Poboy Festival on Oak, dropped our daughter off, and tried to find reasonable parking. No go (~20 blocks). Dropped by Cafe Roma at around 2 PM. The place was dead-empty, but we were greeted enthusiastically. The sandwiches came quickly enough, but were uninspiring. The meatball sandwich was rather dry, in need of more (some?) sauce. The artichoke heart sandwich tasted of canned (per my other daughter). I will say that the bread was excellent, if it had had something interesting in it it would have been nice. The walnut+ salad was very nice.

All in all, not worth a visit unless you're hungry and on the corner.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rigel54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    12
    7
    2
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable experience.”
Reviewed 10 November 2012

Food is plentiful (the pasta which includes bread and salad) is a bargain. Everyone had a good time. Excellent service as well. Would go back!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AshtonNewOrleans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“An Italian Gem!”
Reviewed 16 February 2012

A little hard to find (the signage isn't great) but the food is fantastic! We ate there twice and enjoyed the food--and the Staff--immensley.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank beentheredonethat163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
memphis, tn
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“late night munchies”
Reviewed 11 January 2012

good food and fast delivery. the pizza hit the spot after a night on bourbon.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank memphisbelle_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
“marge the manager is very insultng and short with people”
Reviewed 19 November 2011

i made a call seeking employment and marge the manager answered the phone and asked me if i were crazy and not to contact them anymore...all i did was ask if they had any openings available..i promise you they lost my buisness and much more due to this incident...i tried looking for a corporate office but apparently it must be a franchise...if anyone has any info on how to report this manager for which ive never met in my life for her to be so ignorant and rude to me please contact me at brandi82906@yahoo.com and title it help with incident at cafe roma so i know its a good email..i need help in reporting this marge manager...ty

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brandi82906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Roma also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing