We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Easter Brunch” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mr. B's Bistro

Mr. B's Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
Mr. B's Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #57 of 1,918 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$23 - US$50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: French Quarter
Bluffton, South Carolina
Level Contributor
116 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Easter Brunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2011

We had a fantastic brunch: the brandy milk punch and brisket with grits were awesome! Loved the jazz band circulating in dining room, such a small place but they were never obtrusive. Reservations a must, great atmosphere. I loved it all with the exception of the bathroom being downstairs.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ladadida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,528
    1,034
    360
    125
    61
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Meridian, Mississippi
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Enjoyable experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2011

Called about a reservation and all the slots were full but were told to "come on". It was around 6:00pm when we arrived and got a table with no problems. We had the tomato bisque and gumbo for starters. Both were very good. For our main course we had the tuna and crawfish and the shrimp and grits. The tuna and crawfish were cooked perfectly served on sliced tomatoes. My only comment is it was like eating two separate meals... needed some kind of sauce to pull it all together. The shrimp and grits are the best we have had anywhere. for dessert it was a chocolate pastry .... Outstanding. Service was prompt and friendly.... Is on my short list of places to eat again.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ReadytoTravel51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississippi
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Wonderful food - good value - good time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

4 of us travelled to The Big Easy for the musical Shrek and made Mr Bs our first stop. The service was excellent and the BarBQ Shrimp was worthy of all the raves. Will visit again.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MsMissislippi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, NJ
Level Contributor
96 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2011

We went here on a Saturday night..make reservations! We did and were seated promptly. The service is excellent, and I liked that its not too stuffy of an atmosphere. The food was absolutely in the top 3 of meals ever had in a lifetime. We had scallops for an appetizer which were huge and seasoned perfectly. For dinner we had the filet mignon and barbequed shrimp. The bbq shrimp is a MUST!!! I am still dreaming about the sauce they marinate it in. An absolute must when in town!

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lovecharleston612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel, NY
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food, nice ambiance, friendly bartender”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2011

Went here for dinner one night, had the barbecue shrimp and it was fantastic. The portions were large, but there were no vegetables, it was just the shrimp. Which I guess I should expect. I did not go hungry because the portions were big, but if you want veggies, make sure you order some. It seemed quite busy for a Tuesday night, so I sat at the bar because the tables were full. If you can make reservations, do so.
Bartender was friendly and helpful, bread was served hot. I would definitely come back.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank larry250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mr. B's Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Mr. B's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing