We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tried it and not impressed...”

Estrella Steak, Lobster & Seafood House
Ranked #562 of 1,931 Restaurants in New Orleans
Price range: US$0 - US$30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: French Quarter
Description: Estrella Steak and Lobster House is located in the heart of the French Quarter at 237 Decatur Street. Featuring authentic creole dishes, our menu will have you visiting again and again. Formerly Star Steak and Lobster. 237 Decatur Street, NOLA (504) 296-3005
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Tried it and not impressed...”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Got to he Star Steak & Lobster house only to find they were outta lobster. 5 minutes after we ordered the chef walked by with a lobster?? Service was friendly but slow and a bit forgetful. Steak was grizzled filled and absolutely no taste. Loaded potatoe was tiny and cold. The bread was the best thing there. Was not worth the $75.00 for 2 people.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank SNCtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    205
    141
    49
    50
    52
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Friendswood, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Jewel of a Find !”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Due to recent knee surgery, my husband and I had to eat near the streetcar lines while on vacation in New Orleans. We often make the 300 mile trip because we love the historical aspects of the Quarter. This time our budget was meager, but our desires for a very nice dinner were high. Star Steak & Lobster House did not disappoint us. Unlike a couple of the other reviews here, we fortunately found the whole experience very pleasant. While small, it's cozy and nicely decorated with soft lighting. A gentleman host for the restaurant greeted us warmly outside the front door, and assured us the food was good. Very good bread was served to us immediately and our lobster tails arrived shortly thereafter. And, yes, lobster tails were as affordable as those in New England !! Incredible !! And they were cooked perfectly. A tall, slender, pretty blonde-haired lady was moving about constantly to ensure the restaurant personnel in the kitchen as well as in the seating areas were taking care of customers' needs. Of all the times we've vacationed in the Quarter, I don't know how it escaped me about this place. Perhaps they don't advertise much. But, on the other hand, if they did advertise, they probably would have a traffic jam trying to get inside such a small, cozy restaurant. I hope they keep the prices reasonable and the food/service as good because I'll surely want to eat here again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York, United States
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great little restaurant and good food”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We actually ate here on Fat Tuesday. We were partied out by Tuesday and we were kind of sick of some of the other Louisiana cuisine. We just wanted to have a nice dinner, be away from the party people and have a good steak. We happened upon this place after some other places were closed and I was glad. Not alot of seating but we were able to get a table right away. It was a cozy atmosphere. The bread was delicious (I think my boyfriend ate a whole loaf). It was good steak and a phenomenal loaded baked potato. We took a piece of pecan pie back to the hotel with us and it also was great. Would visit here again when in New Orleans.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kare17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Great”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

A cabbie turned us on to this place and we were not disapointed. Very friendly staff and exellent food at resonable prices. The gumbo was great, not some tourist trap slop. The BBQ shrimp was excellent. Sopped up the sauce with the fresh bread. A nice break from the chain resturants and the over priced white tablecloths. Look for it. Don't pass it up or you're missing out on a great meal!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fontenotterrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadview Heights, Ohio
Level Contributor
82 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Deal”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Great place to eat. Break from the $100 meal that's everywhere in Nawlin's. I had a excellent Strip Steak and my wife had twin Lobster tails and a drink each for $60. Star Joey was very friendly working the door. Will return when we visit Nawlin's again. Great food at great prices11

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jscott2800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Estrella Steak, Lobster & Seafood House also viewed

 
New Orleans, LA
 

Been to Estrella Steak, Lobster & Seafood House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing