We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Classical Jazz Joint” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Snug Harbor Jazz Bistro

Snug Harbor Jazz Bistro
Ranked #277 of 1,919 Restaurants in New Orleans
Price range: US$20 - US$25
Cuisines: American, Bar, French, Cajun & Creole, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
Chicago
Level Contributor
138 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Classical Jazz Joint”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

First night in NOL, no draught beer, but cold Abita beers very good. Nice hostess and bartender. Shrimp cocktail was really good. Wanted to hear music, but had to attend the "show" We could hear it and see it on the tv screen in bar. Great first stop.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SOGChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    125
    56
    17
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Late nite surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Came here on a whim as my gf and i were looking for a bite to eat late nite. Came in and we were wowed by the food. The bread pudding was pretty good also. Would recommend

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank BeeVeeJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“All about the steak.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Must have the steak in this jazz bar/restaurant. Comes with jacket potato which was a first for me. Eat the food then go next door for drinks & live music. A real must when in The Big Easy.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tommyb1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
Level Contributor
424 reviews
209 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Superb Jazz Venue with top class acts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

In a city of many great jazz clubs, I was recommended by local to visit the Snug Harbor. It exceeded my expectations. Charmaine Neville and her band performed. This must be one of the best jazz performances I've listened to. She draws in the audience with ease and aplomb, and her voice is electrifying. Not to be missed

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sodesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
71 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Excellent Salmon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

First time to NOLA and Frenchmen St. and was trying to decide where to eat one Sunday evening. It was Memorial Day weekend and the area was packed with people quickly filling up restaurants. We wanted to find a place to listen to great music without sacrificing the quality of the food. Usually you end up with bar food at music venues, so I was pretty skeptical about getting a great meal on Frenchmen St. We came across Snug Harbor and decided to give it a shot. The one thing that drew me in was the separation of the live music and restaurant. The jazz band was in another room in the back separate from the dining area but you could still hear it plain as day just not so in your face and loud. I actually liked this because I did not feel like yelling my conversation over dinner all night. It was the best of both worlds in my opinion, live music plus a great meal. I enjoyed the Salmon with lemon and butter with a baked potato. The salmon was cooked to perfection and the baked potato was a perfect match. Loved every bite! Finished off dinner with bread pudding. Would highly recommend!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fancypants2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Snug Harbor Jazz Bistro also viewed

 
New Orleans, LA
New Orleans, LA
 
New Orleans, LA
 

Been to Snug Harbor Jazz Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing