We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible experience” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Upstairs at Mimi's

Upstairs at Mimi's
Ranked #740 of 1,919 Restaurants in New Orleans
Price range: US$0 - US$20
Cuisines: Spanish, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television
Neighbourhood: Faubourg Marigny & Bywater
utah
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Terrible experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

I've been visiting Mimi's for a couple of years now, and have had similar experiences before, though not to this extent. There is a surly bartender downstairs, that can make or break your experience. While getting waited on here can be a lengthly process, the rudeness is something I can't understand. While visiting with friends between shows, we stopped in for a quick bite (the food is pretty good!) The bar tender (red hair, no smile, easy to spot) Is rude, was yelling at customers, and screaming about it for an hour later. I guess she had refused to serve someone, and just couldn't let it go. I was so embarrassed that I had brought along a group of friends.
Never again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank karawebster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    22
    6
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Amazing food and atmosphere in the Marigny”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

Despite all the amazing things I have been hearing about the Faubourg Marigny, I would never have expected this fun and funky neighborhood bar to have world-class food. The bar downstairs is awesome. But then a local clued me in ... you can climb a short staircase to food heaven! The menu is essentially Spanish tapas, and it is sooooooo good. Amazingly reasonable prices, and the food was extremely fresh and flavorful. My friend and I had 2 drinks each, and shared 3 generous sized tapas dishes (it was dinner for us) and it set us back less than $50, with tip. We shared an arugula salad with some sort of artichoke confit, and potatoes brava (I'm massacring the names), and crostini with truffle oil and marinated red peppers. It was sooooooo good. And - they have dance lessons on Monday nights, how fun is that? If you are visiting New Orleans, don't miss this neighborhood gem.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank gunnermel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Bellmore, New York
Level Contributor
129 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Decent food, decent music”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

Decent tapas, good wine recommendations, good live music. Make sure to stay upstairs if you want a smoke-free environment. Glad we found Mimi's in the Marigny (it was recommended by a server at a different restaurant as a place where locals go, which is always what we want).

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jbergma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Tapa's”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2013

We stumbled upon this place and it turned out to be a favorite! A little pricey, but so worth it! So many wonderful tapas and you can tell the quality is there!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Camille816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Konstanz, Germany
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Decent food, good music”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2013

Enjoyed a salad and a beer downstairs, and then moved upstairs for some great music. It was packed, but I was still able to find a seat at the bar. Local musicians and dancers all around. A fun time!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank mamagriff79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Upstairs at Mimi's also viewed

 
New Orleans, LA
 
New Orleans, LA
 

Been to Upstairs at Mimi's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing