We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value and Good Location!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter
Ranked #44 of 164 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Charlote
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Value and Good Location!!!”
Reviewed 20 October 2011

Really enjoyed our recent stay at this hotel. The hotel is located about 2 short blocks from the southwest corner of the French Quarter. You can walk to the heart of the French Quarter in under 10 minutes. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful when needed. The hotel seems to be an old mill and has some of that historical feel (large windows, exposed brick walls). Breakfast was included and was your typical continental stuff, they do have eggs and breakfast meats. It wasn't all that great, but a little better than what I expect at a hotel like this. The room had large LCD tv's, microwave and refridgerator. My only complaint was the shower nozzle was pretty abrasive for me, but to be fair, my wife thought it was fine.

I rated this hotel a 5 more because it was a nice hotel with a great location for a very affordable price ($100). A really great value. I would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to anyone that is looking for a value hotel.

One thing to note, if you drive, there is a $25 per day valet parking charge. This seems to be a standard daily parking rate in New Orleans and parking on the street isn't easy. I wouldn't waste time seeking an alternative to valeting your car.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 239. It is at the end of the building, a longer walk and you have to use a differen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oscar2331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,523 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,906
    1,197
    257
    96
    67
See reviews for
883
1,397
131
338
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (644)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2011

This place is located just a couple blocks from the French Quarter, so is quieter. The room had a small safe, mini-fridge, microwave. Staff can recommend restaurants and the concierge can arrange tours. The small outdoor pool was heated a bit too much considering the weather but nonetheless was a nice feature. There were 2 computers in the lobby although you had to stand. Good AAA rate with early booking.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Chester, PA
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2011

This place was nearly perfect for our three night visit to New Orleans. The only thing detracting was the size of the room, which was so tiny the TV was mounted sideways to the bed in a small alcove of its own. This meant you either had to watch while sitting on one of the two small chairs (one a tiny dining chair, the other an office chair) or see only part of the TV from the bed. Well, we weren't in New Orleans for TV, were we?

The rest of the experience was great. The location, just a couple of blocks outside the French Quarter, meant we had a short walk to almost everything. And, we needed the exercise, to work off all the great food just within reach of the hotel. We particularly enjoyed the Bon Ton Cafe right next door, which can compete with the best in this food-crazy town.

The people at the hotel were friendly, most with the sort of wry humor you often find in NOLA. We might not have felt we were familiy, but we certainly felt they were letting us in on their jokes.

Breakfast was more than adequate, though not a match for what's available outside. A tip: walk over to Conti Street and try the Somethin' Else Cafe for breakfast at least one morning. Wow!

Also within short reach is the St Charles St. Trolley, for a trip to the Garden District. And, don't forget to get your beads from the hotel concierge.

Room Tip: Try to get one without a sideways TV.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank camerajim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa-S-Camp, Sales Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, 25 October 2011
We are glad you had a great stay here in New Orleans! The rooms can vary in size and floorplan, due to the fact that we are located in a historic building. With so much to do though, we agree it would be a shame to spend the whole time watching TV! It sounds like you got to see (and taste) a lot of the great things New Orleans has to offer. We hope you come again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2011

First of all this place couldnt be filled with any nicer people than they have, everyone from housekeeping to front desk was so friendly they seemed to loved their job.This was a anniversary trip for me and my wife so I called in advance and spoke to Myra the concierge for recommendations for florist for flowers delivered to our room before arrival. They had flowers and champagne in room waiting to surprise my wife. Calvin at the front desk so extremely helpful with locating one of the best sushi places me and my wife ate at. Then Andrew recommends a place locales go to for dinner wonderful!!!
The bar tender John was so friendly and full of history it was amazing wished we could have spent more time with him. The breakfast is very good,nice area to eat and enjoy, cleaned and maintained by Bryan with another friendly and helpful employee of hotel (does a great job). Location was great two blocks from casino and river walk mall, couple of blocks in other direction to bourbon st. and close enough to French quarters area. I can't say enough about Andew,Myra,Calvin,John and Bryan that made are stay feel like home away from home we will go back and stay there every time we visit the big easy! Oh yeah I can't forget valet service was excellent also but I didn't get any names but they did a great job and was fast and friendly. I want to say thanks to the Country Inn and Suites staff for making our stay so wonderful and pleasant.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Avidreviewer3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa-S-Camp, Sales Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, 25 October 2011
It sounds like everything went great! We are thrilled to hear the positive feedback, and thank you for sharing it. We really have a first class team here, and I will be sure to let everyone know that you really appreciated them!

We look forward to you coming back to stay again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portsmouth
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2011

This hotel is in an excellent location for all the sights of New Orleans. The staff here, as in all of Country Inn and Suites hotels we had stayed in during our tour, were friendly and helpful. The Concierge was really knowledgeable and had a fab sense of humour. All of the Hotels in this chain have been excellent without exception. Their customer service is something else. Not that we were swayed by the complimentary cookies and coffee on arrival or the complimentary breakfast in the morning! This Hotel was the largest in the chain that we had stayed in, but nothing was compromised, the rooms were nicely decorated and clean with many extras. Everything was within walking distance, the French Quarter, Harrah's, the market and we felt safe walking about the City even in the evening. The Natchez boat trip down the Mississippi was well worth the expense, we went on the evening cruise and enjoyed seeing the city by night. The food on board was good and plentiful, finding a table was a bit of a rugby scrum, but all in all a good trip to take. Take good walking shoes when in the French quarter, some of the pavements are in disrepair, but a lovely place to enjoy both in the daytime and the evening. We took a bus tour of the City and saw so much including the devastation of Hurricane Katrina and of course we tried the bignets!! If I am lucky enough to return to the States I will use this hotel chain again.

Room Tip: Make sure your room is not next to the ice machine area, it can be very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pamperedagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa-S-Camp, Sales Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, 17 October 2011
On behalf of the brand, I would like to extend a thank you! Its great to hear that you had an excellent stay everywhere your trip brought you! We hope you get to come back and visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

We vacationed in NOLA for a long weekend and stayed at the Country Inn downtown. It was fantastic, great value, very friendly staff and good location. Walking distance to the French Quarter and the trolly. We enjoyed our stay very much and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frances H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa-S-Camp, Sales Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, 14 October 2011
Everything we try to shoot for! Great to hear you had such a fantastic stay. Great location, and a staff that will go the extra mile are definitely priorities for us too. We hope you come back to visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

Was in town for a wedding and they booked these rooms for us. Central to many places such as the French Quarter, Jackson Square, Convention Center, Harrah's, etc. Most within walking distance and if not, other forms of transportation are nearby. Service was great as they were attentive to our requests for extra towels, tissue boxes, etc. Valet is very helpful and very responsive as well. They ran out of baby cribs that weekend but we managed without it. Rooms have darkening shades so you can get it really dark (which lets you sleep in!) If you're in one of the rooms that faces Magazine you might get a little noise from the street during weekends but it's not too bad.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank onegaucho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa-S-Camp, Sales Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, 12 October 2011
I am glad you enjoyed your stay! The street noise in the neighborhood really does tend to be minimal, as we are just far enough out of the French Quarter to not hear all the happenings (but close enough to wherever you need to be). I am so sorry about the cribs - in my time at this property I have never seen us run out, but apparently it was a busy weekend for families with young children. It is definitely a VERY rare occurence. We hope you come back and visit soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Central Business District
Q&C HotelBar New Orleans, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Central Business District
Best Western Plus St. Christopher Hotel
Central Business District
International House Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter
Address: 315 Magazine St., New Orleans, LA 70130
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#21 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#22 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Currently closed for renovation and expansion; due to reopen in late 2017. With its home-like decor and plentiful amenities, the Country Inn & Suites, New Orleans French Quarter offers comfort and convenience in the heart of downtown New Orleans. Our historic hotel is comprised of seven 19th century buildings, giving it a charming, boutique feel that artfully blends old world charm with modern comforts. Our prime location on Magazine Street near the French Quarter places our guests close to many nearby New Orleans activities and attractions, including Bourbon Street and the Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Country Inn And Suites New Orleans
Country Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing