We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great except for being noisy.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter
Ranked #42 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great except for being noisy.”
Reviewed 5 November 2011

Really reasonably-priced hotel in a good location (just outside of the French Quarter, easy walking distance to all the sights). Even if you can't quite bring yourself to stumble home from Bourbon Street, it's just a few dollars' cab ride. The breakfast was not bad, and the lobby is attractive and inviting. The staff was friendly and unobtrusive.

On the downside, our suite, which was at the very front of the hotel on the second floor (which is open to the lobby) was LOUD. Lots of noise drifted up to the room from the lobby (to the front/sitting room) and from the street (to the bedroom in the back). I suspect that rooms that don't overlook the lobby would be less loud.

I was in New Orleans for a wedding and shared a suite with friends, and even though I drew the short straw and got the foldout couch, I slept well (it's a very comfortable foldout, even for grownups). I did have to wear earplugs due the aforementioned noise issues, but that's standard travel procedure for me anyhow.

Next time I visit New Orleans, I will definitely consider this hotel, though I would request a less-noisy room (and still make sure I had my earplugs!). I would totally recommend it, especially if you're planning on spending a lot of your time in New Orleans out and about, not hanging around the hotel.

Room Tip: Sofa bed was surprisingly comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Kyle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa-S-Camp, Sales Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, 10 November 2011
I am glad to hear it was a great stay despite some noise issues. Though we occasionally get comments about the noise, its definitely not an everyday problem that we expect. Being so close to the party, occasionally it drifts back in our direction, but typically our location is (as you mentioned) close enough to enjoy everything, but far enough that we don't get any of the troubles.

I will also be passing along your comments about the sofa sleepers, as they are a relatively new upgrade to the property. Over the summer we invested in top of the line sleepers in 100% of our suites, and I know that the higher-ups will appreciate hearing that they are well received! On a personal level, I know it can help save some money to be able to squeeze in an extra person instead of needing a second room!

Thanks for taking the time to comment, and we hope you get to come back and visit soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,514 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,902
    1,194
    256
    96
    66
See reviews for
880
1,395
131
336
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (641)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights and got the last minute upgrade to the king mini-suite. It was nice to have the extra room even though there weren't any exterior windows. There was a window in the living area that faced the courtyard, so did still get some natural light. The room was spacious and comfortable and clean. The location is excellent, being a short walk to the french quarter and riverfront, but on a quiet street with a store and several restaurants. All the staff we talked to were really friendly, not just "customer service" friendly, but felt genuine. They were happy to provide suggestions and to call ahead to check hours, print street car schedules, etc. The breakfast was just average, but the waffles were good and there was a decent selection. Overall, this was a great choice and considering the price we paid with the AAA discount we were very happy and are looking forward to our next trip!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roadtrip411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa-S-Camp, Sales Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, 10 November 2011
I am thrilled to hear that you had a great stay! Both our front office and concierge staffs are awesome resources at the property. They really know the city inside out, and love sending people to the best spots. Coupled with the location, you touched on two of my favorite parts of the property. Whether traveling for business, or leisure - with family or as an getaway for the adults - EVERYTHING is so close by. As you mentioned, just steps to the riverwalk and quarter, but additionally the superdome, streetcar, and any of the office buildings. Its definitely a great downtown location without being right in the middle of the Bourbon Street party.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

went for the SGIA trade show and had an excellent time in New Orleans! We had booked the Country inn based on SGIA rates and Trip Advisor reviews as we had never been there before. The hotel was very nicely decorated and had a good atmoshpere. We were given a room the first night on the first floor way at the very end of the hallway and facing the alley. I was a bit concerned but the room was spacious and clean. At 2:00 am, the garbage container from the business next door was picked up making a huge racket. We spoke to the front desk, wondering if this would happen again. Heather, the desk clerk, said she wasn't sure but they would be more than happy to move us. We were given a suite on the 4th floor that was very nice and quiet!
The location to both the French Quarter and the Convention center was great, we like to walk so didn't find it far at all. It was basically right in the middle of both. We felt safe walking at night though we didn't wander too far from the beaten path.
Breakfast was fresh and hot with lots of selections. Best French toast in a long time. the staff was also very pleasant and helpful.
If I ever go back to New Orleans, I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: not the 1st floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank signgirl05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa-S-Camp, Sales Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, 31 October 2011
We are glad you decided to give us a shot! I am by no means a big time walker, but I walk everywhere downtown, including trips into the quarter and the convention center. As I am sure Heather told you, we definitely do not expect that kind of noise at 2am, but I am glad she moved you anyway! Although we are away from the noise of the French Quarter, being a downtown property you do get occasional surprises. We look forward to your next visit to New Orleans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

Charming hotel, great location in the warehouse district. Walking distance to the French Quarter, WWII museum, convention center, casino, etc. Clean and nicely appointed room. Our king, 243, was very small, but comfortable, looking out over a parking lot.Very courteous front desk staff. Good full breakfast with meat, eggs, waffles, fruit, and more. Here's the disappointment. The concierge staff are employees of the tour companies and we know, in retrospect, that we were not given the best advice on how to see the city. Without going into all the details of our troubles, here are the lessons we learned. If you want an overall tour of the city, - or - a specialized tour to a specific area, find a veteran cab driver and arrange him to drive you. This is tricky as lots of cab drivers are new to New Orleans (at least post-Katrina) and do not know their way or the history. But there are veterans who will give you a wonderful personalized tour. The bus tours can waste 1.5 hours of your day as they pick up and drop off people from other hotels. Next, Tripadvisor reviewers have it right --- Confederacy of Cruisers bike tours are super. Jeff and his staff are full of history and information and advice and humor and his tour was the highlight of our trip. Also loved Mulate's, Mother's, Acme Oysters, Preservation Hall, Cafe du Monde, Coops, Adolphos.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oakleafgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa-S-Camp, Sales Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, 25 October 2011
Glad you enjoyed the stay! As for the concierge staff, they actually are not members of the tour companies. They, along with our front desk agents, tend to stick to the more well established tour companies for recommendations as it helps to make sure that you do have a well informed and comfortable tour. As guides have to remain licensed, and the companies are well regulated, it helps to keep the quality fairly high. It seems like your tour did not meet the standard that we can normally count on from our regular partners, and for that I apologize! It seems like you got to hit a lot of great New Orleans spots, and had a fantastic bike tour though. Hopefully you get to come back soon, and we can help get you to some more great New Orleans attractions!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlote
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2011

Really enjoyed our recent stay at this hotel. The hotel is located about 2 short blocks from the southwest corner of the French Quarter. You can walk to the heart of the French Quarter in under 10 minutes. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful when needed. The hotel seems to be an old mill and has some of that historical feel (large windows, exposed brick walls). Breakfast was included and was your typical continental stuff, they do have eggs and breakfast meats. It wasn't all that great, but a little better than what I expect at a hotel like this. The room had large LCD tv's, microwave and refridgerator. My only complaint was the shower nozzle was pretty abrasive for me, but to be fair, my wife thought it was fine.

I rated this hotel a 5 more because it was a nice hotel with a great location for a very affordable price ($100). A really great value. I would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to anyone that is looking for a value hotel.

One thing to note, if you drive, there is a $25 per day valet parking charge. This seems to be a standard daily parking rate in New Orleans and parking on the street isn't easy. I wouldn't waste time seeking an alternative to valeting your car.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 239. It is at the end of the building, a longer walk and you have to use a differen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oscar2331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
108 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2011

This place is located just a couple blocks from the French Quarter, so is quieter. The room had a small safe, mini-fridge, microwave. Staff can recommend restaurants and the concierge can arrange tours. The small outdoor pool was heated a bit too much considering the weather but nonetheless was a nice feature. There were 2 computers in the lobby although you had to stand. Good AAA rate with early booking.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Chester, PA
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2011

This place was nearly perfect for our three night visit to New Orleans. The only thing detracting was the size of the room, which was so tiny the TV was mounted sideways to the bed in a small alcove of its own. This meant you either had to watch while sitting on one of the two small chairs (one a tiny dining chair, the other an office chair) or see only part of the TV from the bed. Well, we weren't in New Orleans for TV, were we?

The rest of the experience was great. The location, just a couple of blocks outside the French Quarter, meant we had a short walk to almost everything. And, we needed the exercise, to work off all the great food just within reach of the hotel. We particularly enjoyed the Bon Ton Cafe right next door, which can compete with the best in this food-crazy town.

The people at the hotel were friendly, most with the sort of wry humor you often find in NOLA. We might not have felt we were familiy, but we certainly felt they were letting us in on their jokes.

Breakfast was more than adequate, though not a match for what's available outside. A tip: walk over to Conti Street and try the Somethin' Else Cafe for breakfast at least one morning. Wow!

Also within short reach is the St Charles St. Trolley, for a trip to the Garden District. And, don't forget to get your beads from the hotel concierge.

Room Tip: Try to get one without a sideways TV.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank camerajim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa-S-Camp, Sales Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, 25 October 2011
We are glad you had a great stay here in New Orleans! The rooms can vary in size and floorplan, due to the fact that we are located in a historic building. With so much to do though, we agree it would be a shame to spend the whole time watching TV! It sounds like you got to see (and taste) a lot of the great things New Orleans has to offer. We hope you come again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Central Business District
Q&C HotelBar New Orleans, Autograph Collection
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#18 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,290 reviews
Central Business District
St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Central Business District
The Whitney Hotel
The Whitney Hotel
#41 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter
Address: 315 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2424
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#21 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#22 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter 3.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its home-like decor and plentiful amenities, the Country Inn & Suites, New Orleans French Quarter offers comfort and convenience in the heart of downtown New Orleans. Our historic hotel is comprised of seven 19th century buildings, giving it a charming, boutique feel that artfully blends old world charm with modern comforts. Our prime location on Magazine Street near the French Quarter places our guests close to many nearby New Orleans activities and attractions, including Bourbon Street and the Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Country Inn And Suites New Orleans
Country Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing