We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I was overall satisfied with the service from the staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter
Ranked #42 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I was overall satisfied with the service from the staff.”
Reviewed 1 June 2013

The staff were very nice and madensure we were content. Free breakfast was very good as well as having so much varieties. One staff in particular always made my morning. He was so happy and always singing when helping with breakfast, very energetic young man. Checking in and out was fast and the pool was warm. The location is perfect since we are close enough to walk anywhere but far enough to sleep peacfully. Overall this hotel was a great choice.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vanessaheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Great review - We know exactly who you are talking about, and his energy is definitely helps get everyone going in the morning (myself included!). I am really happy to hear you had a great stay, and hope you get to come back and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,514 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,902
    1,194
    256
    96
    66
See reviews for
880
1,395
131
336
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (641)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Providence, Louisiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 June 2013

This is a very nice hotel but to me what really makes it is the hotel staff.Each person we dealt with was so friendly,helpful and totally professional.Just passing in the hall way or on the elevator they always speak.I love the location,the quietness and hospitality.the hotel is in easy walking distance from the major attractions .W have stayed here 2 times and throughly enjoyed both times.

Room Tip: There some rooms that are a little smaller than others even though they have 2 queens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ms3754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
Thanks for the review! I will be sure to share with the staff that they are getting great feedback! They definitely do a great job trying to go the extra mile, and it sounds like thats paying off with everyone really enjoying their trips to New Orleans! Hopefully you get to come stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

We are so glad that we chose to stay at the Country Inn and Suites in New Orleans. This was our first visit to New Orleans and stayed for 4 nights.

Room - They upgraded us to a king suite which was a nice touch. It was a small room with a king bed in a back room, a bathroom and then when you walk into the hotel room there was a small living room. My partner and I don't always sleep on the same schedule so it was nice that he could stay up late watching TV while I slept in quiet in the bedroom. One thing that I was afraid of was that people have posted on this site that there are rooms without windows. Our room only had a window beside the door to the hallway but the hallway had sunlight from many windows so this didn't bother me at all. The ceilings were super high and the walls were rustic plaster which I loved the look of. The first night we were there, we shared a wall with "talkers" and it really felt like they were in the room with me. The other nights were super quiet.

Breakfast and cookies - Breakfast was really good. There was a hot selection that changed, cereal, oatmeal, bread items, fresh fruit and waffles. It was busy but there was always somewhere to sit. There are about 4 tables outside in the pool area with vine covered walls that were nice to sit at as well. I over indulged a bit with the cookies at the front desk...oops! They were very good. We wanted to have a drink in the little bar onsite as it seemed very inviting, however, we were busy and by the time we got home we just wanted to relax in our room. Coffee was 24 hours as well.

Public areas - These were beautiful and extremely clean. There was a sitting room to the right when you walked in and even a small library of books to borrow.

Customer service - Everyone was extremely friendly. We never needed to use the concierge but she was always friendly to say "hello".

Location - The location of this hotel was perfect. 2 blocks over and you are in the French Quarter. We walked everywhere and found this hotel to be in a very nice quiet spot.

Overall, I highly recommend this hotel! I will DEFINATELY stay here again the next time we travel to New Orleans.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carmen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
Glad to hear you were happy with your choice! To share a point of information, all rooms have windows in them, just some do not have windows with an exterior view instead having an atrium view like yours. While some people prefer the outside view, both are popular options.

Thanks for taking the time for such a thorough review - we love hearing all the feedback! Hopefully you get to return again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

We stayed for 5 nights and enjoyed our time there. Great breakfasts and unlimited coffee helped get the day started. The hotel concierges were very helpful with tour and restaurant suggestions. Loved the pool, yes it is small, but it was a great feeling sinking into the pool after walking all day in the quarter or out on tours. Room was nice with a writing desk and side chairs. only con was room view looked into parking lot. Will stay there again.

Room Tip: ask for courtyard view.
See more room tips
Green Features: Beautiful renovations kept a lot of the structural members which are now decorative but out of landfill.
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScentOfFlowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
Glad to hear you had a great time in New Orleans! We definitely think that although the pool will not be a place you swim laps, it can still serve a very worthy purpose before/after a day running around the city. Thanks for taking the time to share, and we hope you get to come spend 5 more days exploring soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 30 May 2013

I was only there one night, but the stay was nice. The room was clean, cozy and comfortable. The entire hotel staff was friendly and helpful, and added to the local charm of this hotel. The location is only a few blocks from Bourbon Street, the casinos and the waterfront. Breakfast was pretty standard fare for continental type offerings. The pool is small, and really only suitable for dipping your feet or for small children, but it is in a very pleasant courtyard loaded with tables and chairs in the middle of the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colby W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Thanks for sharing your experience! We always appreciate hearing feedback. Hopefully the next time you are in New Orleans you get to stay with us for a few more days!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

The location was great! Very safe and close to the Aquarium of the Americas, Insectarium, river front, etc.. And a short walk to Bourbon. The hotel is very nice with old town charm. The free breakfast is great. The staff is super friendly and helpful. The rooms are decent sized, clean and the beds are comfy. The only small negative is the pool is small. The kids didn't mind though and few hotels in the area even have a pool. Definitely would recommend!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donaldmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Always great to hear about a fantastic stay! We really try to do everything we can to make sure you have a great New Orleans experience when you visit! Thanks for taking the time to share the feedback and for recommending us! Hopefully you get to come visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, VA
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Awesome property within walking distance of the French Quarter, Harrah's, and many other attractions. The property was clean and attractive. The staff checked us in quickly, upgraded our room, and checked on us during our stay. The concierge helped us make plans and see the city. The night before our departure, the valet attendant pre-arranged our taxi to the airport. I highly recommend this hotel when visiting New Orleans.

Room Tip: Some rooms do not have windows. Make sure you know which room you are booking. Also, if you are a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WhitneyCruisin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Central Business District
Q&C HotelBar New Orleans, Autograph Collection
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#18 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,290 reviews
Central Business District
St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Central Business District
The Whitney Hotel
The Whitney Hotel
#41 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter
Address: 315 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2424
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#21 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#22 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter 3.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its home-like decor and plentiful amenities, the Country Inn & Suites, New Orleans French Quarter offers comfort and convenience in the heart of downtown New Orleans. Our historic hotel is comprised of seven 19th century buildings, giving it a charming, boutique feel that artfully blends old world charm with modern comforts. Our prime location on Magazine Street near the French Quarter places our guests close to many nearby New Orleans activities and attractions, including Bourbon Street and the Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Country Inn And Suites New Orleans
Country Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing