We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter
Ranked #40 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“great location”
Reviewed 18 June 2013

hotel was clean staff were excellant perfect location to visit new orleans walking distance to all attractions nice and quiet area to relax pool a little small parking was off site but who needs a car everywhere was easy to walk thanks t the staff who were really helpful and ready to assist

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,490 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,893
    1,184
    255
    94
    64
See reviews for
877
1,388
130
332
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (638)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Starting with the positive, Great front desk ladies!!!! Great location if you don't want to be right in the Bourbon Street area but still want to walk there. The free hot breakfast is always a plus, not bad tasting either.

For some of the negatives, our room was on a floor that an elevator doesn't reach. Had to go up about 8-10 steps. We had to do that about 3 times to get all of our stuff to our room. If I knew this, I probably would have altered a few things that I brought. The room was okay, I did like the high ceilings.......made it feel not so cramped. It did have a weird smell to it though. Not bad enough to complain, just bad enough to notice it everytime you walked in. We noticed the maid doesn't come until 3 or 4:00. That was the time we kept going back to our room for a rest before dinner. Finally we decided not to put the "do not disturb" sign out so when she did come we would just leave. Wasn't a big deal, but my whole point is, it looked like there was only one maid cleaning the rooms. They might want to increase that number. Also, I wish there was a little more room to eat breakfast. It gets pretty busy. We tried to go at a different time, and it was just as busy. Not sure is there is an easier way to keep the food replenished, becase it looked like alot of people were waiting for food that kept running out. The workers didn't know things were empty unless the guests told them.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jpickles10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Thanks for taking the time to share the feedback! It sounds like there might have been some lacking communication on our end along the way, as we have a special elevator for that section of the building to help convenient access. The rest I will certainly be sure to share with the relevant department heads to consider if there are opportunities to improve the service. Hopefully you consider giving us another shot, as we would love to give you the type of "wow" experience that we pride ourselves on.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2013

The Hotel is very clean. Love the old buildings. Staff are very helpful, the young guy at breakfast not sure of his name was excellent in his job very polite as well. Hotel located in great position short walk to most places. They have free cookies and coffee in the foyer, also fruit and health bars available at the bar. Anyone wanting a clean and quite place to stay I would recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marilyn b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
Glad to hear you had a great stay. We know exactly who you are talking about and will be sure to pass along the compliment. He really is an asset to the team. Thanks for taking the time to share. Hopefully your travels bring you back to New Orleans again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

The hotel has a good, friendly feel. It's a group of old warehouses that have been renovated into a single hotel and accommodation is comfortable and homely. Well located within walking distance of most of the city's highlights. I liked the free coffee & cookies that are always available in foyer and also the laundry (not always found in hotels but a must when travelling for a lengthy period).
Pool is ok given the limited space but nothing special. Overall, would stay there again and was quite happy with the choice.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room at rear and this was relatively quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael425388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, 17 June 2013
Thanks for taking the time to share the kind words! We really appreciate the feedback. I know I often mention it, but we definitely try to do our best to make sure we think of all the little things - whether that be the laundry, cookies, or coffee. Glad to hear it made a difference.

Hopefully the when you return to New Orleans, you come visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, AL
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 June 2013

I was so pleasantly surprised how beautiful this was. The whole hotel had great New Orleans character. You could still see the remnants of the old buildings which had been combined to make the hotel. Gorgeous courtyard - only negative was the pool was too small to actually swim in. Also MUCH quieter in terms of rowdy guests than other New Orleans hotels.

Room Tip: Avoid fold out sofa bed! Hard to get in and out of without bruising yourself on the frame. Also thin...
See more room tips
Green Features: Love the fact that they renovated old buildings and kept some of old beams, doors, etc.
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, 14 June 2013
Glad to hear you had a great stay! With the weather heating up it seems pool discussion is as well. With the courtyard being a pre-existing space within the original structures, we were definitely a bit limited on size of the pool. Our thoughts in the design were that even a small one was a better choice than nothing, while still preserving the historically important buildings -- but we totally understand that someone coming to swim laps would be disappointed. We hope that it does add to the great French Quarter style courtyard though, and despite being a little tight still adds to the experience.

Thanks for the taking the time to share your feedback and we hope that you get to return again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oviedo, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

We are traveling from Florida in July and very unfamiliar with the New Orleans area. We have always wanted to visit this historic city but nervous about our safety. I have been all over the internet looking for a safe and family friendly place to stay. After reading all these reviews especially the ones that have been posted within the last week, I am definitely going to book our stay with Country Inn Suites. I am so impressed that the general manger comments on all the posts and thanks everyone for posting their reviews. It shows me he/she cares and values everyones opinion about the hotel. It has put my mind at ease for my families safety and sure you all will show us a fun time during our stay at your hotel in New Orleans. We look forward to meeting all the staff and getting to know this beautiful city.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Megtravmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
Thanks for letting us know you are looking forward to your stay! While we try to anticipate everything we can to create perfect experiences, sometimes you just need a fresh set of eyes to give you feedback on whats going great and how you can improve. We definitely appreciate everyone for taking the time to share their opinions. We read them all and share feedback with the staff regularly.

Hopefully you have a great time in New Orleans! Keep us posted if there is anything we can do to help out along the way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanoke, VA
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

This Country Inn is at a par with others where I have stayed before. The staff have all been very friendly. The hotel is within a couple of blocks to Canal Street and access to all the streetcar lines. We were very disappointed with the pool - having a child along makes the pool important. It was barely bigger than the average hot tub at other hotels, and almost as hot. Having been out in the sweltering sun all day, we really hoped to cool off there but couldn't. If a pool is important, consider other options.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Central Business District
Q&C HotelBar New Orleans, Autograph Collection
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#14 of 161 in New Orleans
1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Central Business District
St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Central Business District
The Whitney Hotel
The Whitney Hotel
#42 of 161 in New Orleans
1,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter
Address: 315 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2424
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#21 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#22 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter 3.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its home-like decor and plentiful amenities, the Country Inn & Suites, New Orleans French Quarter offers comfort and convenience in the heart of downtown New Orleans. Our historic hotel is comprised of seven 19th century buildings, giving it a charming, boutique feel that artfully blends old world charm with modern comforts. Our prime location on Magazine Street near the French Quarter places our guests close to many nearby New Orleans activities and attractions, including Bourbon Street and the Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Country Inn And Suites New Orleans
Country Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing