We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter
Ranked #40 of 161 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Denton, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved our stay!”
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We stayed for 4 nights in June. The room was clean and comfortable. The hotel staff was extremely nice and accommodating and the breakfast was great every morning. The concierge was most helpful to us. She scheduled and booked all the tourist attractions for us. All we had to do was have fun! This hotel is just off the French Quarter but very easy walking distance to most everything. I definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Thank you for the endorsement and taking the time to share! I am glad to hear that everything was made easy and you could simply enjoy your vacation. I know how valuable that time can be, and its fantastic to know that you got to make the most of it.

Hopefully you get to return to New Orleans and have some more fun again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,490 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,893
    1,184
    255
    94
    64
See reviews for
877
1,388
130
332
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (638)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
norfolk
1 review
Reviewed 25 June 2013

The Country Inn and Suites was exceptional, staff extremely helpful and friendly. Breakfast was wonderful staff would take your plates once you were finished very accommodating. Check in was a breeze our room had been upgraded from a King to a King Suite (a pleasant surprise). We loved the brick walls in the room and high ceilings the room was exceptional and a lot of character. Location of the hotel was wonderful convenient to French Quarter, walking distance to Harrah's Casino and lots of local restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maudielawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
It always feels great to read a review that is 5 stars across the board. Thank you for sharing the fantastic experience. We really try to shoot for creating perfect experiences - and hope that you get to come back for another one soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

I spent 2 nights here in May and it was perfect for my needs, the small bar was handy when coming back early evening after a hard days walking and being a tourist... the rooms are comfy, be careful if you have mobility problems as some of the rooms have quite a few stairs to contend with, the break fast is rather hectic but good... wanted to stay longer but they didn't have room.

Room Tip: Watch out for rooms on the half levels (R) as have a few stairs to deal with if you havemibility pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJODubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Thanks for taking the time to share! We are thrilled to hear you had a great stay, and are sorry it couldnt last longer. I apologize if the rear elevator location wasnt communicated to you on arrival. I just want to make sure anyone reading knows that we do have elevator access across the hotel to avoid stairs - but if there are specific mobility concerns definitely let us know and we can go the extra mile to accommodate.

Hopefully your travels return you to New Orleans for a more extended trip soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in May. The hotel was perfectly located to visit The French Quarter and Garden District, being just a few blocks walk from the St Charles streetcar. A longer walk obviously over to Frenchmen St for some great music, but still easily walkable for anyone used to walking! The hotel room was spotless, large (we had a room with two double beds) and had all the facilities that we needed. The shower was great and the beds very comfortable, the curtains were also very good at blocking out daylight - handy if you need to sleep late after a big night out! Temperature control in the room was excellent. There was some noise one morning with rubbish collection in the alley beneath our room, but hey, it has to happen sometime - otherwise it was very quiet. Breakfast was buffet style, plentiful and tasty. Free filter coffee is always on hand in the lobby too and was excellent. There was an ATM at the hotel which was useful, and a concierge to provide helpful tips, information and maps. The neighbourhood felt safe and staff were friendly and happy to help. They arranged our taxi to the airport which all ran very smoothly.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBookseller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Great review! We always appreciate when people share extra feedback, and that it was all so positive is also fantastic. Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences. Hopefully your travels bring you back to New Orleans again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skegness, Lincs
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 June 2013

My husband and I stayed here at the end of March/early April this year and had a wonderful time. We loved the hotel which had a lot of character. Superb location, very close to the French Quarter and splendid facilities. Best experience though was to be found around the bar where we met so many lovely people, all willing to chat. The barman John is fondly remembered, so helpful and entertaining and the inventor of "swamp water", the eye watering cocktail that we had most nights of our stay as also did quite a few of our fellow guests, intrigued by its colour. The only slight downside was the breakfast. We were very happy to learn that the price of the room included breakfast but I have to say there is quite a bit of room for improvement there. However, overall, we were absolutely delighted with the place.

Room Tip: Our room looked out on to the street but there was no problem with that. Coming from a quiet area n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debo52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Glad to hear you had a great experience! Thanks for taking the time to share it with us, and the Tripadvisor community. If you have any specific suggestions about breakfast, definitely feel free to contact us directly. More feedback is always useful! We know its a long journey from the UK but hope that your travels bring you back to New Orleans again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 June 2013

This was a nice location, just slightly outside of the French Quarter. It was nice walking distance to many places. The valet was quite slow however. It was close to $30, and worth the price since parking was tough, but it took a long time to get the car returned. The rooms were nice, nothing extra special, but nice.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa_Bear_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Thanks for sharing your experience! We appreciate the feedback and are glad to hear that you had a good stay. Hopefully your travels bring you back to New Orleans and we can give you a 5 star experience like we always shoot for!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Situated on the edge of the French quarter this hotel was a lovely old building with high roofs and large corridors.
It was a lovely place and reasonably priced, including breakfast which was quite good.

The staff were friendly and helpful and it was situated close by places such as bourbon st but far enough away for peace and quiet if needed

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Central Business District
Q&C HotelBar New Orleans, Autograph Collection
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#14 of 161 in New Orleans
1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Central Business District
St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Central Business District
The Whitney Hotel
The Whitney Hotel
#42 of 161 in New Orleans
1,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter
Address: 315 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2424
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#21 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#22 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter 3.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its home-like decor and plentiful amenities, the Country Inn & Suites, New Orleans French Quarter offers comfort and convenience in the heart of downtown New Orleans. Our historic hotel is comprised of seven 19th century buildings, giving it a charming, boutique feel that artfully blends old world charm with modern comforts. Our prime location on Magazine Street near the French Quarter places our guests close to many nearby New Orleans activities and attractions, including Bourbon Street and the Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Country Inn And Suites New Orleans
Country Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing