We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter
Ranked #37 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Beccles, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent Location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

Not in the mainstream but only a couple of blocks to Canal Street, Bourbon Street, Royal Street and all the other attractions. Easy access to tram lines (free!). Very welcoming at reception, excellent room and really good hot breakfast. Friendly concierge. Very good hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John_Beccles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,466 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,883
    1,174
    254
    92
    63
See reviews for
872
1,378
129
329
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (637)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rockledge, FL
Level Contributor
96 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

Country Inn is almost always my first choice for staying in and again, it was the smart choice for this trip.

This is a really cool hotel just two blocks from the bus line and five blocks from Harrah's Casino. The hotel comprises seven old buildings combined to make one very nice hotel.

We stayed on the fourth floor (423) next to stairs that went down to another level of 4th floor then UP again and it goes on and on! Lots of fun looking out the windows to try to figure out where it was-sometimes overlooking the mini-pool(not joking-very small pool) and sometimes over Magazine Street.

Breakfast was good fare but I suggest you get there early to avoid a line. No shortage of food as the staff is always refilling things-plenty of seating inside the room as well as tables in lobby.

There is a person to greet you with the New Orleans "beads" to start off your trip. Valets and Concierge are all very much in the know about their town and always share the information with a smile.

Saw lots of families staying here. Fairly quiet at night since it is a few blocks from Bourbon Street.

We found a 24 hour store on the corner for buying sodas, boas and masks (3/$10) etc.

Ate at the Chophouse across street, as well as the Red Slipper for lunch. See separate reviews on these.

I suggest you join the Carlton Club-our room was $103 for two queen beds-rooms very nice and clean.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room-they are very helpful, when possible, to get you a request
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank camelette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

Great hotel when staying in New Orleans. It is within walking distance to many of the attractions, and it is very affordable. Rooms and decor are very nice, as is the small pool area and outside seating. The staff were very helpful. The only negative was the breakfast. Lines were often very long to get food, and sometimes they would be out of food when getting there. The staff running the breakfast room were very friendly, but the space was too small for the number of guests that were trying to get breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ckfutbol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Decatur, Alabama
Level Contributor
173 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

This hotel is convenient for the French Quarter, downtown, and the WWII Museum. We had booked many weeks in advance and requested a roll away bed which was listed on our reservations. However, when we arrived they didn't have any available requiring one of my sons to sleep on the floor the 3 nights we were there. However, the room was clean and the hotel workers were otherwise kind and helpful. There is no parking on site, but this was not really a problem as we walked most places.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vernon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Glad to hear you had a good weekend in New Orleans. I apologize that we were unable to honor the rollaway request due to high demand over the dates. We definitely do our best to fulfill as many (and hopefully all) of our requests as possible. Hopefully your travels bring you back to New Orleans and we can have another opportunity at getting you the perfect stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diamond Bar, California
Level Contributor
366 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

Beautifully restored former factory buildings transformed into a hotel with a real boutique feel. Large rooms, spacious lobby (with cookies and concierge!), pretty good breakfast (go early and avoid the larger family groups), pool, and best of all--great location. Just two blocks from Canal Street, this place offers a stay within walking distance of the French Quarter without the craziness of the Ya-Ya that can be in Bourbon Street.

Room Tip: We would recommend the fifth floor, great views!
See more room tips
Green Features: Loved the recycled factory feel--very retro and industrial.
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tenighir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Thanks for sharing! You hit on a lot of my favorite parts of the Country Inn New Orleans experience. I am always excited to hear that visitors had a great time visiting! Hopefully your travels bring you back to the Big Easy soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

Walking distance to everywhere and safe. This is an old building 18xx converted in a charming hotel.
The staff is excellent and the concierge very helpfull, she suggested a restaurant on Bourbon street and it was great.

Room Tip: Parking is expensive... beware. one block away for public parking and safe
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trip_1A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Sounds like you had a great trip to New Orleans - Glad we could be a part of the experience! Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback, we definitely appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond Hill, Georgia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

We traveled to NOLA with three other couples. We liked the quaintness of this hotel & would stay there again. It was clean, staff very accommodating & friendly. Great location, within walking distance of everything.
Be sure to walk around the corner to the Commerce Restaurant for an oyster Po-boy & a bowl of red beans & rice. One of the valets recommended it & it was the best red beans we had all week.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foodmavenblog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Sounds like an all around good stay! Hopefully your travels bring you back to New Orleans and you give us a chance to make it a great stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Central Business District
Q&C HotelBar New Orleans, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental New Orleans
InterContinental New Orleans
#10 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,207 reviews
Central Business District
St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Central Business District
The Whitney Hotel
The Whitney Hotel
#40 of 162 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter
Address: 315 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130-2424
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#21 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#22 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter 3.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its home-like decor and plentiful amenities, the Country Inn & Suites, New Orleans French Quarter offers comfort and convenience in the heart of downtown New Orleans. Our historic hotel is comprised of seven 19th century buildings, giving it a charming, boutique feel that artfully blends old world charm with modern comforts. Our prime location on Magazine Street near the French Quarter places our guests close to many nearby New Orleans activities and attractions, including Bourbon Street and the Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotel.de, HRS and TravelUp so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Country Inn And Suites New Orleans
Country Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing