We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter
Ranked #43 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 October 2013

This hotel has separate parts that can only be accessed by Elevators 1, 2, and 3. It is quite confusing which elevator services which rooms. Also, the elevators are so small that the valet luggage cart barely fits and is quite difficult to get out of the elevator because of lack of space and because the elevator opens one direction to go up and the other direction to get off. There is very little room to "park" a car to check-in and out. It costs $28.00 per night to park. The room was very large but in dire need of painting.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the lower levels to avoid the elevator nightmare that services the 4R floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dpjp88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

I apologize for any inconvenience with the elevator. With historic buildings, there is one section that would, without the extra elevator, require a short staircase to reach. We definitely try to make it as convenient as possible and have the elevator stop on both the top or bottom side of the stairs so if anyone has accessibility issues, or lots of baggage they do not have to deal with any steps at all. I know its a little bit out of the ordinary, but hopefully it made sense and ran smoothly as your stay progressed. If not, we would appreciate hearing more from you and maybe you could let us know if there is anything we could do to better explain it. We would hate for something added for convenience to be inconvenient!

Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback - we really appreciate the review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,525)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,980 - 1,986 of 3,525 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2013

My husband and I have been going to New Orleans for many years. We have found a place that is in the perfect location, excellent staff and quiet!! We were on the third floor-never heard any of our neighbors or street noise!! Easy walking distance to quarter BUT not in the quarter plus very easy to get public transportation to other areas of New Orleans. Great restaurants, again within walking distance.
I recommend this hotel with no reservations and will most certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the upper floors and away from elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SBrand-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

Came here for 4 nights and was pleasantly surprised on how close it is to everything (french quarter, canal st, bourbon st) without being right in the centre, the hotel lobby was stunning - exposed beams, large comfy chairs (looked a bit like a turn of the century palour room - really lovely! Check in was fast. There was free fresh baked cookies on the desk that you just helped yourself to every time you passed!!! Fantastic idea!! Our room was cosy and beds very comfy. Slight gripe was noise travels from the lobby up (it's like a mezzanine up to the roof - very striking and beautiful but a touch annoying when people are sitting having either a late night drink or early brekky!!!)
Every single person I encountered was friendly and willing to help, the brekky staff excellent. The complimentary brekky was good - perhaps rather than a fruit salad with pretty much melon (which I personally hate) maybe some whole pieces - ie a banana or apple? I ended up buying my own banana and having with the yoghurt and granola (yummy) tea and coffee were available all day - another little perk!!
My only real annoyance was I pre booked a taxi for the airport ride with the guys out the front, it either never arrived or it was given to a family that were outside just before us, and the guy didn't have the booking sheet??!! so we had to wait for another one - which although didn't take too long was annoying and a bit stressful for me (I'm a worrier when I need to be places at a certain time) ...
Otherwise a great stay - concierge Dennis and batman John great guys!!! Will recommend this place and if ever back this way would stay again!!!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank chrispy75-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Three blocks from Bourbon St two Blocks from Mothers,trams a block away? what more do you need? excellent hotel rooms clean, staff helpful and imfomative.had a great stay and wouls stay there again,loved New Orleans and the Southern Mospitality,this hotel showed all this and more

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rodger W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Awesome - Thanks for the great review. We really appreciate the feedback. I see it was quite a long trip, but hopefully you get to return again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stay here for a weekend getaway from Baton Rouge, la the hotel was nice staff was great the only bad thing was the room smelled like smoke and a refrigerator was dirty but beside that our stay was great I would recommend Country Inn to all my friends and my family

Stayed: October 2013
Thank Norris1213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

My family and I stay at this location when ever we are in New Orleans. It is not fancy but clean and safe. It is centrally located close to casino and all transportation as well as an easy walk to all the local attractions.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
Thank Ellen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I loved New Orleans. Thought it was an amazing city with so much to do, wonderful food and music. My room was clean and comfortable and the location excellent, just a walk to most places. However, I was very disappointed with my experience there. We arrived early and our rooms were not ready, so we were told to leave our luggage with the valet. This we did. I had purchased some lovely artwork in Memphis for my son. My friend had also purchased some. I attached the artwork, which was in a large plastic bag, to my suitcase. When we returned to collect our bags, the artwork was gone. The hotel did not take responsibility, said it was the valet. The valet did not take responsibility, said it was the sub-contractor. Nobody was at all concerned at the loss and, each day of my stay there, I questioned the people concerned and received negative responses. They could care less. We flew home to Australia minus the artwork and with no compensation and no apologies. A sad case of neglect.

Room Tip: Do not leave anything with the valet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anjomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

I sincerely apologize for the troubles that you ran into during the stay. We are definitely concerned to hear that anything happened, and even more that it wasnt handled in a way that was satisfactory. I know that our Front Office Manager has been reaching out, trying to help sort out the issues and hopefully we can find an appropriate resolution! I am glad to hear that the city and trip otherwise went well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans French Quarter/Iberville
Arts District / Warehouse District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter

Address: 315 Magazine St., New Orleans, LA 70130-2424
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#16 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#18 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#22 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £89 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Currently closed for renovation and expansion; due to reopen in late 2017. With its home-like decor and plentiful amenities, the Country Inn & Suites, New Orleans French Quarter offers comfort and convenience in the heart of downtown New Orleans. Our historic hotel is comprised of seven 19th century buildings, giving it a charming, boutique feel that artfully blends old world charm with modern comforts. Our prime location on Magazine Street near the French Quarter places our guests close to many nearby New Orleans activities and attractions, including Bourbon Street and the Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Country Inn And Suites New Orleans
Country Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing