We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter
Ranked #43 of 162 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Temple, Texas
Level Contributor
86 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Almost perfect...”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

When picking a hotel for a weekend New Orleans trip, we spent forever on Trip Advisor reading reviews. This hotel had such excellent reviews and was in our price range, so we chose it. It seemed like it was going to be perfect. It was close, but did have some issues.

Positives:
*Location. GREAT location. Not in the French Quarter, but a very short walk there. Just a couple blocks from Harrah's (and that walk is well-lit at night). Close enough to walk to the WW2 Museum as well.
*Friendly staff! Every single staff member we encountered was smiling, friendly, and greeted us. The concierge, Val, went above and beyond for us, giving us recommendations, answering lots of questions, and booking tours for us. There was a lady at the front desk who was continually helpful as well. I don't remember her name, but I do remember she was from Iran. She patiently put up with many questions and requests. We interacted with two of the valets and they were excellent and friendly as well.
*The included breakfast was much better than the continental breakfasts at most hotels. There was a large variety of items and constantly refreshed, even close to closing time! I was impressed with the taste and quality of all the food, and the hardworking staff.
*The room was small, but comfortable. Had everything we needed.

Negatives:
*The walls were thin. We heard our neighbors conversations very clearly.
*Our bathroom had some cleanliness issues. Nothing too bad to where we felt we needed to say anything, but I was a little grossed out.
*The water pressure wasn't too great.
*One night my husband discovered coffee available 24 hrs a day, so he got some, but it was cold. Kind of disappointing.

Overall, it is a good hotel and one of the cheapest in the location. We will return, but hope that we don't encounter some of the issues that we did this time.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heytayj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Glad to hear you had a good stay, though we always shoot to provide a GREAT one. Thanks for the feedback as it definitely helps make sure we are constantly giving our best. Hopefully you get to come back to New Orleans again soon so we can do even better than good and give that perfect 5 star service that you read about.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,518 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,903
    1,197
    256
    96
    66
See reviews for
883
1,395
131
337
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (643)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, VA
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

Common spaces pay great homage to traditional buildings. Very good service and nice breakfast options in the morning. Don't stay in rooms 08-09, they are right next to the elevator bay and housekeeping closet, which meant lots of noise. We were there one night so it wasn't a big deal but it would be if we stayed longer. Also, 509 has a tiny window.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank marcjwm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 November 2013

just stayed at this hotel after reading the reviews and was totally satisfied. the staff were excellent and very helpful. the free breakfast set you up for the day. Ask John the barman for dinner recommendations, I think he must have eaten everywhere and will tell you as it is. the position of the hotel is fantastic, just off the French quarter.
one negative though, I had booked directly with the hotel and went for the prepaid option, where I would commit to staying with them on certain dates and they would give me the lowest price with a 15% discount. But within a couple of weeks they dropped their price and would not allow me take advantage of the new tariff. So bare this in mind. I did receive an upgrade though on arrival.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Clive C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
118 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

My husband was here for a conference, but we didn't want to stay at one of the big conference hotels...too stuffy, both from the vantage of formality, and the stale air when you never get outside. A few years ago, some of his students had stayed here, and had glowing reports. They, of course, loved the free internet and breakfast, two things that the big fancy hotels charge you a ridiculous amount for. We have been pleasantly surprised by the friendliness of the staff, which feels more than cursory, and with the comfort of having a suite with a mini-fridge and a microwave. The hotel is extremely well-located, a short walk to Canal st and the French quarter. The rooms are spacious, the bed comfortable, and it is reasonably quiet. We will definitely stay here when we return.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank JudyZ167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 20 November 2013

This is the second time I've stayed at this hotel and I was equally impressed. Location is great and within walking distance to most anywhere you'd want to go in the French Quarter. In addition, there's easy access to the St. Charles Streetcar to the Garden District. Concierge was helpful and everyone was pleasant. Fresh cookies available in the lobby and happy hour specials at the bar. Breakfast was convenient and good. The building is older (re-purposed warehouse space) so it has lots of character, but the walls are plenty thin. We stayed here and at the W - New Orleans and there's a lot more value at the Country Inn. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mklein28650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

Great location friendly staff and valet parking near to Mothers cafe you have to go there. Give bourbon street a miss, it's not worth it. I would however recommend the Commanders restaurant. Excellent turtle soup.

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Byron999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We stayed here for our honeymoon and we loved it. On Expedia it said it was in the French Quarter but is it across the street of Canal so not really in the FQ but 15 min. walk to Bourbon and Canal. Nice and close to Harrah's, the Riverwalk and the St. Charles Trolley. The free breakfast is very convenient, good, changes up every day and we only ate out for breakfast one morning, there was a guy who was in the breakfast room (wish I could remember his name) he was super friendly and sang a lot. The staff at the hotel were awesome, greeting us every time when we came back and told us to have a good day when we left. The room was nice, very comfortable bed, great pillows. The only bad thing was they gave us a room right next to the elevator and it did wake me up some mornings. I had emailed them to tell them we were on our honeymoon and asked for a nice room with a view and we got a room with a view of a building and next to the elevator, oh well. We were on our honeymoon and nothing was going to ruin our vacation. The pool in the Courtyard is a dipping pool (small) but the area is very nice and we went down a couple of nights to dip in the pool and no one else was around, had it to ourselves. We walked everywhere even to the French Market which is on the other end of the French Quarter.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that isn't right next to the elevator
See more room tips
Green Features: They did have a recycle bin in the room, said that they would only take the towels that were on the floor, but they took them anyways if we hung them up or not, too bad because we really don't need a fresh towel each day.
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DixieChick65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Central Business District
Best Western Plus St. Christopher Hotel
Central Business District
St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arts District / Warehouse District
Hampton Inn & Suites Convention Center
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Central Business District
Q&C HotelBar New Orleans, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter
Address: 315 Magazine St., New Orleans, LA 70130
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#21 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#22 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Currently closed for renovation and expansion; due to reopen in late 2017. With its home-like decor and plentiful amenities, the Country Inn & Suites, New Orleans French Quarter offers comfort and convenience in the heart of downtown New Orleans. Our historic hotel is comprised of seven 19th century buildings, giving it a charming, boutique feel that artfully blends old world charm with modern comforts. Our prime location on Magazine Street near the French Quarter places our guests close to many nearby New Orleans activities and attractions, including Bourbon Street and the Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Country Inn And Suites New Orleans
Country Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing