We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter
Ranked #45 of 167 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 January 2014

i have been meaning to write this review for a while. We stayed here for 7 nights in late October 2013. I booked it not knowing too much about the layout of New Orleans. It proved to be an excellent choice. It was so close to everything we wanted to see and do. We walked everywhere and had some great experiences. The staff were all extremely friendly and helpful. Breakfast had a different selection most days and although the breakfast area was always extremely busy and noisy it set us up for the day ahead. Our room was fine - although the lighting could have been better as it had no natural light. It was very quiet and comfortable.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dianne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback! As I often say, we definitely agree that the location is the perfect mix of downtown New Orleans - close enough to all the attractions that you dont have to think twice about walking, but on a block that is quiet enough to get a great night sleep. While judging by your location it would be a long trip, we hope your travels bring you to New Orleans again some day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,525)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,902 - 1,908 of 3,525 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2014

Country Inn and Suites is just your basic hotel BUT with amenities that other top notch hotels just can't seem to give for free: full breakfast and Wi-fi. This is the main reason for us choosing this hotel. Of course cleanliness and comfort should be standard as well. We got a room with 2 queen beds and one of the beds though seemed a bit too squeaky specially if you move around while sleeping.
Breakfast was pretty good and staff was helpful. Since the hotel was also in an old building, our room was pretty dark with no windows with just doors that open to the central courtyard. Parking fees were a bit steep but I suppose standard for New Orleans French Quarter area. Another plus was the location being close enough to Bourbon but not on it. I thought that area (Bourbon/Royal St.) can get really crazy busy and loud.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trvlcrzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Thanks for taking the time to share! We are glad you had a good stay! We definitely agree that the location, allowing for easy walks to all the attractions while still being just outside the noise, is the perfect home base for exploring the city. With all that the city has to offer, hopefully you get to return soon and explore even more of it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights for our pre and post cruise vacation. We were immediately welcomed by the Valet Manager Kentrell - he was very courteous and helpful. My whole family became friends with him and we looked forward to seeing him during the day. All of the staff were very friendly and made our stay very comfortable. We had a 1 bedroom suite with a sofabed as well, and the rooms were spacious and comfortable.The building itself is beautiful. It is made of converted warehouses from the 1800s. It is very charming, and they have kept a lot of the original work - there is exposed brick work and beams. The hotel is an easy walk to the attractions. We walked down Decatur, Bourbon, and Royal Streets many times...

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share - We will definitely pass the kind words along to the entire staff. We appreciate you choosing our hotel for your New Orleans stay, and are happy that we were able to give a 5 star experience. Hopefully you get to stay with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

What a great location...two blocks from Canal. The double room was big enough and daily housekeeping staff was really friendly. We were there 6 nights so we got a good feel of the place. The front desk staff is helpful and friendly. The male concierge is very friendly, but a lady concierge handed me a map and left on her smoke break rather than give us any additional information about taking the St. Charles trolley. The map indicated Lee Circle so we walked there, but closer stops to the hotel would have been helpful. Not a huge deal, but I was expecting more since everyone else there is very friendly and helpful. This hotel is quiet, but close enough to the action. We ate at some excellent restaurants closeby such as Luke, Capdeville, Mothers, and Ruby Slipper. We also ventured to Elizabeth via cab and had a fantastic meal. We also ate at Mr. B's and Antoine's in the Quarter and Commanders Palace in the Garden District. I think Luke was my favorite. We will return!

Stayed: December 2013
2  Thank liz141_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Glad to hear you had a great stay! Sounds like you hit a lot of great stops on the New Orleans food scene. We definitely pride ourselves on our service and are glad that so many staff members were able to shine in that department - and we will definitely follow up with anyone that disappointed. We appreciate you giving the feedback. Hopefully you get to return to New Orleans again soon and we can give you a 5 star experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

My daughter and I stayed here for 6 nights during the busy new year season. While our room was unavailable, we spent the first night in a king room rather than a double. The hotel gave us two drink tickets to make up for the inconvenience. The king room was tiny but overlooked the lovely courtyard. The breakfast has many offerings, but the waffles were pretty hard as they are not made on request as some chains who offer free breakfast do. The staff is very friendly at the front desk and certainly the male concierge wins the friendliest award among them. We asked a lady concierge about taking the trolley uptown and she literally opened up a map and walked off on her break. She might have told me where to pick up the St. Charles trolley since the map did not make it obvious. She was rather curt and obviously wanted to go smoke as she was outside doing that as we left. We were able to get to it, but walked to LeeCircle rather than finding a closer route from the hotel on St. Charles. Ah well. Not a huge deal,but she certainly kept me away from her desk as we planned other outings. The friendly housekeeping staff are tops and made us feel welcome. The location and comfortable double room made it a very good stay overall. I would stay here again. So close to great restaurants too like Luke, Capdeville, Mothers, and Ruby Slipper. Wanted to try Bon Ton but alas next time. Allez le Bon temps rouler.

Stayed: December 2013
1  Thank Elizabeth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Glad to hear you had a great stay! Sounds like you hit a lot of great stops on the New Orleans food scene. We definitely pride ourselves on our service and are glad that so many staff members were able to shine in that department - and we will definitely follow up with anyone that disappointed. We appreciate you giving the feedback. Hopefully you get to return to New Orleans again soon and we can give you a 5 star experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

Nice Hotel close enough to the French Quarter for an easy walk but far enough away to get away from the madness. Hotel had a very historic feel to it but clean, updated service was great. Would certainly stay there again next time in New Orleans.

Stayed: March 2013
1  Thank Jayhawks1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Glad to hear you had a great stay! We like to think we blend the best of both worlds in a few different ways. As you mention the location is right downtown, but by being just a couple steps outside of the party, you still get a quiet nights sleep. Its also a historic building with all the modern amenities, and 5 star service at a great price. Cant beat it! Thanks for the endorsement and we hope that next trip to New Orleans is soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

We loved our four night stay at the Country Inn and Suites New Orleans! We give the hotel and our stay a perfect score of 100%. Location was great (3 min walk to French Qtr, stone's throw to Canal St and Central Business District). Area was clean and safe. Hotel was charming, beautifully decorated, offered so many amenities (gym, heated pool, coffee and filtered water 24/7, free full breakfast daily -delicious-!, nice living areas in lobby). The most appreciated and impressive part of our stay was that 100% of the staff we encountered were friendly, welcoming, and attentative! I must also mention housekeeping and cleanliness of hotel were superb. Our family loved using this hotel as our home base in N.O. We will stay here again!

Stayed: January 2014
Thank beakbynen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Thanks for sharing the feedback! We definitely do everything we can to make "going the extra mile" our normal approach to every day, and we are thrilled to hear that it is creating great guest experiences. We look forward to your return to New Orleans!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Central Business District
The Whitney Hotel
The Whitney Hotel
#47 of 167 in New Orleans
1,346 reviews
Central Business District
Best Western Plus St. Christopher Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Q&C HotelBar New Orleans, Autograph Collection
Central Business District
Omni Royal Crescent Hotel
Omni Royal Crescent Hotel
#83 of 167 in New Orleans
1,333 reviews
Central Business District
International House Hotel
International House Hotel
#78 of 167 in New Orleans
1,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter

Address: 315 Magazine St., New Orleans, LA 70130
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#16 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#21 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#22 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £90 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Currently closed for renovation and expansion; due to reopen in late 2017. With its home-like decor and plentiful amenities, the Country Inn & Suites, New Orleans French Quarter offers comfort and convenience in the heart of downtown New Orleans. Our historic hotel is comprised of seven 19th century buildings, giving it a charming, boutique feel that artfully blends old world charm with modern comforts. Our prime location on Magazine Street near the French Quarter places our guests close to many nearby New Orleans activities and attractions, including Bourbon Street and the Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites New Orleans
Country Inn & Suites New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Country Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing