We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best service in new orleans”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter
Ranked #43 of 166 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

This was our 2nd time staying at this hotel and we came back because of the service last time. We were not disappointed this time either. The staff was so helpful and nice. The rooms were clean and comfy. It's close enough to the French Quarter but away from the noise. I love this hotel. Everytime we go to New Orleans this hotel is our number 1 pick!!!!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank djacob13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

We are thrilled to hear you had such a great stay. Thank you for taking the time to let us, and everyone else know what a fantastic time you had staying with us. Hopefully that next trip isnt too far down the line!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,525)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,867 - 1,873 of 3,525 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2014

We spend 4 nights in NOLA before leaving on a cruise. Country Inn & Suites may our stay comfortable and affordable. Located only 2 short blocks off Canal Street made for an easy walk to the French Quarter, River Walk and Business district.

The character of the hotel was very charming, they kept some of the old world finishes. The staff was very friendly,, the cookies delicious and everything was nice and clean.

Breakfast was great, good variety but it did get monotonous after 3 days. Lots of places to eat close by, so you would never go hungry.

Room Tip: The rooms above the lobby can be noisy in the morning. If you want to sleep in let them know when yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank north-ok-bc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Glad to hear you had a good stay with us. We definitely try to keep breakfast fresh with a few rotating hot items each day and a wide variety of offerings every day, but the nearby restaurants certainly do offer some great options within walking distance in case you want to try something new. I hope you get to visit again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

From the minute we pulled up at the front door, my husband and I had a very courteous,welcoming guest friendly experience. The smiling valet helped with our luggage, the front desk personeel, (specifically Ms Fleming) greeted us and proactively helped resolve a snafu on my part in purchasing WW2 museum tickets as part of our reservation. She upgraded us to a larger front hotel suite, so we had 2 tvs, refrigerator, etc. A nice touch was a follow up call to ensure we were satisfied with our room. The hotel location was great, near many of the top 10 rated restaurants, the breakfast was adequate and was included, Overall, we had a very positive experience for us all around. I would highly recommend Country Inn and Suites New Orleans!

Room Tip: We were in room 212 - right in front on Magazine Street!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Terry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Thanks for staying with us! We really appreciate you taking the time to share your review. We definitely strive to provide consistent 5 star service and it great to hear that everything went perfect. Hopefully you get to come back and visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

After all the positive reviews, I was VERY surprised with our recent stay. Upon check-in, the room wasn't ready so they hurried up. When we got up there, we found trash and bobby pins on the floor so it had REALLY been hurried up...hurried up so much they didn't vacuum the floor!

Day 3 we discover a necklace was missing but thought maybe it just got pulled out of the clear zip lock back it was in with a hairbrush and got vacuumed up. That night, we came home to another missing item: a cell phone charger which was INSIDE a purse (my theory is that they thought something else of value may be in there but was only 2 books and the charger)...but...why steal a cell phone charger?!?! Like we aren't immediately going to come back and have dead phones and need to charge them!

Then we began to suspect the missing necklace wasn't actually missing but was taken. We then reported both items. The "in the moment" resolution was to no longer have our room cleaned so we could hope no more items came up missing and that they would investigate.

I came back at the time they said, told me they were still looking in to the matter and that in the meantime they would request that our room not be cleaned so we wouldn't have any more items taken. This continued each of the next 4 times I stopped in to check if there had been a resolution.

We checked out yesterday so I called this afternoon to find out if there had been a resolution. Yes there was: When they confronted the maid, she did not have the items on her (of course she didn't! It was several days later!!) and also claimed she did not take them (of course she did!!) so no, there was nothing they could do for us. They suggested next time we use the in-room safe. Yes, you read that correctly. Next time you stay at this hotel, please put anything above a $20 value into the in-room safe including your cell phone charger or it might be taken.

Had it not been for this, we had a nice time. There was a bachelorette party next door who had been out partying all night and I did get awoken at 4:30am to their continued partying in their room. The fire alarm went off about 6:15am one morning (we assumed it was from making breakfast) and woke us all up ready to make a run for it but then it went off rather quickly. Those things I can deal with. It's something that sometimes happens in hotels. But to have your trust violated and your belongings dug through?

I will NEVER recommend this hotel to anyone. Had they actually rectified the situation then I might have a different answer.

The location was really nice (3 blocks to Canal St) but there are other nice hotels in the area that are similar in price where maybe the maids won't take your belongings. Stay somewhere else!

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PaulaKaymn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

I am sorry that your experience did not live up to expectations. As you referenced with our other reviews, we definitely try to give everyone a perfect 5 star New Orleans experience. Any complaints, especially the very rare ones involving missing items, are taken seriously and thoroughly investigated. If you would like to discuss this matter any further, please do not hesitate to reach out to me directly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

This hotel is cute and romantic no complains and the breakfast was an A+ The cookies and coffe for free all day is a nice touch.
Parking is $28 and I don't like to pay for parking.
Is walking distance from the attractive areas and some business buildings.
The staff is very attentive and kind

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diamelaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Thanks for taking the time to share your review. We definitely do our best to think of all the things that can make stay perfect - breakfast, cookies and coffee are just a few of the things we do to try and make sure guests feel at home. Hopefully you get to come back and join us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

The hotel is located in a great location in downtown Nola, not too far away from the chaos of French Quarter. The hotel definitely speaks of old New Orleans with the older (but updated) rooms. My only small issue was parking. Valet is really the only way to park, which is almost 30 dollars. You do have the option to park in lots (which there is one a few yards away) but its not as convenient and it costs almost as much as valet. The Valet was extremely courteous and helpful. The front desk attendants are very nice and helpful as well. There is even concierge service for those not too familiar with the city which he was very cool too. Definitely going again and highly recommend them to anyone not wanting to spend too much money for downtown living.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlarose9, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Glad you enjoyed your trip. The location, just far enough from the noise to relax but close enough to stroll to the action, is one of our favorite qualities. Between that, and the restored buildings with modern amenities, you really get the best of the old New Orleans charm and all the perks you look for in a modern facility. Best of both worlds! Hopefully you get to return to stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Everyone that we have met that works here has been so kind, helpful and informative. We feel very comfortable and at home staying here. The king suite that we got at a very reasonable price is nice and spacious, clean, quiet and a very comfortable bed. The concierge that we talked to the most, Bre, is a sweetheart and recommended some really great tours to us, got them booked, and gave us directions and tips for everywhere we went. Bre is awesome! Check out her gator pics on her phone at the concierge desk :)...All the gentlemen that work the valet service are great to talk to. They know the local scene, recommend great restaurants, ask you how you're doing and if you're having a good time. They're great at flagging down the cabs. All around nice guys to talk to in front of the hotel.
Derrick and Brian at the front desk are a warm welcome when you check in. They are very nice gentlemen, and were more than accommodating when we decided to stay an extra night, due to the winter storm Leon passing through.
I really can't say enough wonderful things about this place and the great staff that they have. I would recommend it to anyone I know. The breakfast is good, coffee is always on, there's a small bar/restaurant that I didn't go down to, but my husband said was nice.
It's beyond a great value, considering the spectacular service, and great location.

Room Tip: W stayed in 412, which is a king suite and really enjoyed having the space, two televisions, a micro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
Central Business District
St. James Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Central Business District
Hampton Inn & Suites New Orleans Downtown (French Quarter Area)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Drury Inn & Suites New Orleans
Central Business District
Courtyard New Orleans French Quarter/Iberville
Arts District / Warehouse District
Courtyard New Orleans Downtown/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter

Address: 315 Magazine St., New Orleans, LA 70130-2424
Region: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in New Orleans
#16 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#18 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#22 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range: £89 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Currently closed for renovation and expansion; due to reopen in late 2017. With its home-like decor and plentiful amenities, the Country Inn & Suites, New Orleans French Quarter offers comfort and convenience in the heart of downtown New Orleans. Our historic hotel is comprised of seven 19th century buildings, giving it a charming, boutique feel that artfully blends old world charm with modern comforts. Our prime location on Magazine Street near the French Quarter places our guests close to many nearby New Orleans activities and attractions, including Bourbon Street and the Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, New Orleans French Quarter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites New Orleans Hotel New Orleans
Country Inn And Suites New Orleans
Country Inn New Orleans
New Orleans Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing